Ratings based on 179 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Elegant, historical hotel

Posted Jan 8, 2017
The San Domenico Palace Hotel has a unique atmosphere. It is an elegant, beautiful, historical building exuding great charm. It sits in a prime position, offering magnificent views. The staff were all very courteous, helpful and friendly. The food was divine. I will certainly be returning.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from COWBRIDGE UK

SUPERB HOTEL - ATMOSPHERIC

Posted Jan 3, 2017
Pros: IT IS TOTALLY DIFFERENT - A CONVERTED MONASTERY - MAINTAINING THE GRAND FEATURES OF A BYGONE AGE THROUGHOUT THE ENTIRE BUILDING
Cons: WE STAYED IN THE WINTER - THEY ARE IMPROVING THEIR OUTDOOR POOL FACILITIES FOR SPRING 2017
Location: GREAT WALKS - A HOST OF SHOPS & RESTAURANTS - AN ABUNDANCE OF HISTORICAL BUILDINGS
HOTEL LOCATION IS PERFECT - THE HOTEL IS TOTALLY ATMOSPHERIC - STAFF SUPERB - A REAL TREAT
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NY

Elegant hotel in ideal location

Posted Dec 16, 2016
Elegant hotel in an ideal location. Staff was so helpful and patient Breakfast was elegant and delicious Room was spacious and well appointed. Lovely
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from los angeles

Great hotel in taormina

Posted Dec 5, 2016
Very good stay. True 5 star hotel. I have been in the are for few weeks and couldnt find good food in any of the restaurants...so i tried this hotel and finally i had awesome meal...thank you
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 31, 2016 on Hotels
beautiful view but could not open french doors to balcony because of tiny biting bugs very fancy place and expensive
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 13, 2016
Pros: location, the uniquness of the hotel
Cons: nothing
great hotel, I wonder which country will be fortunate to stay at the San Domenico for the G7 meeting next year
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Exquisite historic property~1st class in every way

Posted Oct 11, 2016 on Hotels
We've travelled all over the world and this hotel rates extremely high in our book. An unusual historic property, it is first class in every way.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Stunning historic hotel

Posted Oct 10, 2016 on Hotels
Amazingly beautiful
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from U, Canterbury

Quiet, relaxing, luxury hotel in an ideal position

Posted Oct 6, 2016
Location: San Domenico Palace is in probably the best position in Taormina with wonderful views over the bay, yet only 2 mins walk from the centre.
The room was exactly as advertised. We had booked a deluxe room with a sea view and we're really pleased to find we had a balcony too. San Domenico Palace hotel lives up to its name in that it is like a grand, rambling palace. The gardens are beautiful, tranquil with lots of different places to sit. The pool area, although not large, was lovely and the staff there were very attentive. Breakfast was always good.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

The best hotel in Taormina

Posted Sep 22, 2016
An old convent reformed to become the best hotel in Taormina. A must!