Ratings based on 103 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
77% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Old grand dame resort hotel.

Posted Oct 6, 2016 on Hotels
The hotel was a good value and the rooms were comfortable. We knew that we were not in Taormina itself, but still, the location is pretty bad - you cannot walk anywhere. Driving to Taormina and parking there is easy, though. The hotel caters to large groups and the restaurant has the feel of a cruise ship. They sit non-group members off to one side, but you still can't avoid the groups, which on more than one occasion were making speeches and toasts. You cannot eat at the bar. It's a huge place so it's hard to understand why they don't set aside a room for diners who are not part of the groups. There is a nice pool and lovely gardens. The buffet breakfast was good.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 21, 2016 on Hotels
Great value, great quality, excellent consistent service, especially in the dining room. WIFI was quite fragile and could do with strengthening. A kettle in the rooms would also be a great addition. Would definitely recommend.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Beautiful family owned hotel

Posted Sep 29, 2015
Pros: Location to Taormina and style of hotel. Many weddings held here.
Cons: Improve the comfort of their beds and pillows.
Location: Restaurants, grocery store, town of Giardini Naxos, Lido beach and public transportation were all within walking distance.
My family and I were visiting Sicily on a tour. This was the best hotel of all that we stayed in. Great location. Family owned. The owner walked around meeting guests and making sure they were enjoying their stay. Balconies had view of either mountain, water and or pool. Grounds were beautiful. Many gardens. Well maintained. We definitely would go back to Sicily and stay at this hotel.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice

Posted Sep 15, 2015
It was not really what i was expecting from a four star hotel in Sicily, insofar that who on earth pays for wifi any more? It's a little bit tight to charge 3 euros an hour for wifi. Especially as we were there for 2 weeks. Also the decor of the room was quite dated, especially the tiny square TV with 17 channels. But nevertheless, the pool was quite nice, as was the 3 minute walking distance from the beach. The breakfast was ok, but I was particularly impressed with the cleanliness of the room. It was very clean, and I was particularly impressed with our cleaner Roxana, who was not only efficient, but extremely polite. This was also the case with Mohammed at the front desk. All in all, it was okay. Again, not what you would expect from a four star hotel, but not a bad trip by all means.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from uk

Posted Aug 18, 2015
Pros: food was good, good service from polite waiters.
Cons: welcoming staff on arrival and being able to deal with any issues competently to avoid unnecessary stress
Location: good location easy access to transport and shop.
No welcoming staff on arrival, no information about hotel facilities offered and reception staff not very helpful to contact agent on a small hiccup we encountered with booking. Hotel room had no facilities as per a 4 star (very small and old fashioned TV, no facilities for tea and coffee). No area for games for e.g, football, badminton etc
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from cheshire

Expensive for average hotel with poor service

Posted Aug 13, 2015
Pros: Outdoor pool is nice, public areas pleasant.
Cons: Remove unreasonable extra charges. Wi-fi cost x 4 for a family is unacceptable when it costs nothing extra to hotel. improve customer service receptio
Location: Quieter part of Giardini Naxos. Near beach and restaurants within walking distance. Short drive to Taormina but single road clogged with traffic
This hotel is ok but no better than ok. Facilities appear good in publicity, including photos scrolling on reception. The problem is that almost everything incurs an extra charge. No parking on site, have to risk parking in no parking zone with threatened tow penalty or quite a walk away in a not very pleasant or safe looking location. Wi-fi extra cost per day per device. Indoor pool, nice facility when it's raining - 32 euro extra charge! No hot water 2 evenings of the 4 we stayed. Reception staff unhelpful. All unacceptable considering high room rate we had paid. On the positive, location is quite good, public areas of hotel are nicely presented. It's an expensive part of the island, but I expect better for the cost. We would not return.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 18, 2015 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cymru/Wales

Nice hotel, not the best location

Posted Apr 6, 2015
This nice, comfortable hotel, is not set in the nicest part of town, or near the best beach. The staff are all courteous and helpful, and considering Italians don't do breakfast, that was also OK. Bus stop for service bus to Taormina and excursions, conveniently close. Unwelcome charge of €8 for use of Spa.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 28, 2014 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Charming hotel in 80ties style... Very family orie

Posted Aug 10, 2014
Great location. Clean and charming hotel with excellent staff for European standards. Bathroom tiny but normal for Sicilian standards. Short walks everywhere. Lovely beach. Super family orientated and quite. They even have chapel for inner self time. Charming owner who used to leave inNY. Lovely and friendly staff. Remember that Europeans charge for everything separetly and nothing is inclusive as in US.