Ratings based on 65 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 21, 2016 on Hotels
Hotel Aurora is a great budget hotel. Located in Mestre district it is about a 25 min tram ride to the centre, but it is very easy. Around the hotel are plenty of shops and restaurants which are cheaper than the centre. I felt safe in the local area being a solo female traveller. The reception were also very helpful and informative.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Maintenance Issues, Grumpy Staff

Posted Oct 31, 2016
Switched rooms after a couple of days. In the first room: someone else's hair in the sheets, many bugs, quite worn and dirty, the shower was too small to shower with the curtain closed so had to wet the whole floor. The second room was much better and more spacious. It was cleaner, but the shower drain was clogged and water would back up. They tried to fix it but it didn't work. I was told I was "unlucky", which really wasn't an appropriate response. The place is older and simply has maintenance issues. The staff was somewhat grumpy and inflexible, but we kept it cordial, despite a few inappropriate comments on their part. It's fine to stay in if you get a good price and don't mind a place that's a bit dingy, but it wouldn't be my first choice. Breakfast was alright - some items were fresh, some were stale. The hotel is near a large plaza with lots of shops and restaurants and is just behind a bus station.
5 out of 5
by Vivian from Miami

Bus Ride

Posted Jun 8, 2016 on Hotels
Right by the bus stop, able to get there with bus 2 from the train station and us the same bus stop to get to Marco polo.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Comfortable hotel, with easy access to Venice

Posted Jun 3, 2016
We really enjoyed our stay at Hotel Aurora. Located in quiet neighborhood with good restaurants and shopping, the hotel is a short walk (about 3 blocks) to tram that goes to Venice. Hotel also had wonderful breakfast spread. The only hitch for us was that we did not realize that the hotel ta--due upon check out--had to be paid in cash (not credit card). It was the end of our trip and we had few euros left, not wanting to take them back to U.S.
4 out of 5
by robert from Yakima, Washington

Three dark days in Venice.

Posted Dec 12, 2015 on Hotels
We stayed 3 nights mostly to visit Venice. The breakfast was good. The staff very helpful. The room was cold and the hotel dark to go with the foggy weather for all 3 three days. Price to stay a good ratio.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Solid 3 star, good value.

Posted Sep 21, 2015
A bit drab but rooms are spotless and reasonably comfortable. Friendly, helpful staff, all speak English. Conveniently located less than 5 minutes from the pedestrian centre of Mestre with a good range of restaurants and bars. Bus stop to Venice (20 mins) is 2 blocks away. Wifi is variable (overloads when everyone logs in). Overall pleasant stay and good value.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hotel very close to the bus station for Venice

Posted Jul 26, 2015
Pros: Location and staff were excellent
Cons: Updates would help as it needs some TLC
Location: Safe, and many interesting shops not far from the hotel if you have time to explore
The hotel does not look appealing from outside, once you are in it is a little better but overall needs to be more updated. Room was small but we knew that. It smelled of moth-balls. The location is convenient as the bus stop is across the street. The staff was very nice, kind and helpful.
5 out of 5
by Kamal

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 22, 2015 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by MICHAEL from Texas

Perfect location

Posted Jun 15, 2015 on Hotels
Overnight stay to visit Venice. The hotel is in a perfect location. Bus stop is across the street and it is only 6 or 7 stops to Venice. You can get bus tickets from the hotel to get you to Venice. A good variety for breakfast the fresh cherries were awesome. We were able to park the car at the hotel for 8 Euro per day. We would recommend this hotel for anyone who is visiting Vencie.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Decent Basic Hotel

Posted Oct 19, 2014 on Hotels
Easy to locate from train station, about 20 minute walk from train station, 2km. Several sources signs along the way. Nearby restaurants and plaza. Bus to Venice right outside hotel. Hotel has bus tickets or can get all day ticket for bus or boats elsewhere. Our room was facing the front the hotel so experienced much street noise including recycling boxes being used. Good breakfast with hot drinks to order. Main reception person was helpful. Assistant reception person provided erroneous information on two occasions. Decent sized shower for 3 star hotel. Would stay again.