Ratings based on 974 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
76% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Tel Aviv

Average hotel in city center

Posted Jul 11, 2017
Pros: Location
Average hotel with reasonable price. There was a strong cigarette smell in my room and the staff refused to give me another one. The hotel is in the city center and very close to metro (about 2 minutes). The breakfast was poor.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Vancouver, Canada

Old hotel in old industrial area

Posted Jul 7, 2017
Pros: Gorgeous view from the rooftop
Cons: Attention to detail was not there. Rooftop bar has great potential but cheap plastic chairs and scattered tables, and plastic cups.
Location: It is within walking distance to Monostiraki and the Acropolis.
I was quite disappointed overall. Looked shabby with blankets thrown over furniture in lobby. Shower had no water at all and had to wait an hour before they fixed it. Area was ok but was told by locals to keep purse and camera hidden when at a coffee shop close by. Breakfast was standard. They should train staff better as she scooped ice into my drink with her hand in the rooftop bar.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from new york

Horrible

Posted May 22, 2017
This was horrrrrrible we checked out the same day. You know its bad wen the cab driver says not to leave the hotel after 9pm. We got there and it was someone out side the hotel doing #2 . across the street to the right the cab driver told us it was nothing but drug dealers and prostites..the room look like a scene from a horror story, it had a bad smell all around. ..this was the worst experience of my life ..checked out the same day!! DO NOT STAY AT THE APOLLO
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nothing fits the price

Posted May 17, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: Room cleanless
Location: Near to the metro and the hop on hop off bus stops,
Near to the metro and the hop on hop off bus stops, But hotel is old and the room was noisy. All the night car noise was inside. Room wasn't clean and there were ants even in the beds.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from England

Easy life

Posted Apr 15, 2017
Pros: Just a nice little clean hotel with really powerful showers!! hell yes
Cons: I would like coffee makers in the room
Location: Forget the cabs, the Metro is the best and easiest and cheapest way to travel plus all location are like 3 to 4 short stops away from hotel
Nice and easy, my 2nd trip to the Apollo Hotel the metro is the best & easiest way to travel and very cheap
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very noisy

Posted Mar 24, 2017
Pros: Breakfast was great. Yogurt, fruit, bread, meat, cheese, hard boiled eggs,cereal, jams, coffee, orange juice.
Cons: Curfew, or make guests respect others sleeping time.
All floors (lobby, stairs, and rooms) are tile. Thus, all noise echoes and guests returning late at night and into the morning are heard EVERYWHERE ! However, very close to metro station and only about a 10 minutes ride.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice location, comfortable budget hotel

Posted Nov 23, 2016 on Hotels
Stayed for three nights at Hotel Apollo which is less than 200 metres from Metaxourgeiou metro station in Line 2. This budget hotel is very close to tourist areas, breakfast was good and room was very clean. Considering the amount I paid for my stay, I feel it was great value to money. Though I didn't use Hop-On-Off bus during my stay in Athens, however want to mention that the Hop-On-Off stop for two major services are very close to the hotel. The reception staff were helpful.However, I was a bit disappointed during my stay as Roof Top bar was closed (it opens only during May to October). Will definitely recommend all and will stay again when I am next time in Athens.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Double booked. This review is not about Apollo

Posted Nov 22, 2016
Apollo Hotel is a good hotel. We were double booked to moved to isonius hotel. This hotel is in serious need of some investment. Rooms are shabby as is the bathroom. Un kept and feels dirty. Paint falling off cracks in wall. Better to stay at a hostel. Not impressed at all.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Convenient and clean hotel. Room for improvement

Posted Oct 26, 2016 on Hotels
the hotel is so and so in the sense that some of the receptionists were rude and one of them was not responsive. When I encountered a problem with the printer he barely spoke to me to tell me what is written (in Greek) on the screen. The room was a bit run down, wires were exposed or taped, the phone did not work, plugs are scarce and WIFI in the room was extremely bad. On the plus side, breakfast was acceptable, the room service was excellent, the staff were generally pleasant and the area was central
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 18, 2016 on Hotels
Amazing night time rooftop restaurant/bar with a view of the Acropolis.