Ratings based on 102 Verified Reviews

4.7 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Next to the meteora

Posted Oct 18, 2017
Nice small hotel, a little bit dated but it gives this place an old charm. The place was very clean and calm. Almost the last building on the road to the meteora so really quiet. There's a few restaurant nearby but not at walking distance to kalambaka downtown where most of the action is. We stayed there for one night only and the place was perfect for our needs.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Calgary, Canada

Great hotel close to Meteora

Posted Oct 12, 2017
Pros: The location and the owners.
Cons: The bedding.
Location: The hotel is as close as you can get to the Monasteries of Meteora and the area is very quiet.
The hotel was lovely and the owners very friendly and helpful even though language was a bit difficult. The breakfast was good and with safe parking for rental cars. The rooms were good although the bedding could be slightly better.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Atlanta, GA. USA

Great Location

Posted Sep 21, 2017
The owners were so welcoming when we arrived. They gave us suggestions so we could maximize our time seeing the monasteries. The entire loffing was very clean. Breakfast was good. Highly recommend staying here.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Delightful

Posted Sep 15, 2017
The room is quite comfortable. We paid for a room with the view of the monasteries. We had a door that opened to a private porch. We spent the evening admiring the view and watching the stars come out. There were double doors to the exterior. The inside door was louvered, which allows for a nice air flow when the weather is nice. The room also has air conditioning and heat available, if the weather is not nice. The owners were solicitous of our comfort. I made an off-hand comment about Greek coffee. The next morning, they had Greek coffee available for me. Breakfast is simple but good. Let the owners know if you want a hard-boiled egg with your breakfast. We couldn't have asked for a nicer room.
5 out of 5
by Timothy A.

Good location, great property.

Posted Sep 12, 2017 on Hotels
Excellent location in Kastraki, the last Hotel before the road leads to the monasteries. Walk to the closest monastery within about 200 metres, another 200 metres and there is a beautiful hiking path (takes maybe about 45 minutes at an average pace) up to the largest Meteora monastery and then another monastery within 10 minute walk. The hotel itself is meticulously maintained, top quality woodwork, floor and wall tiles, etc. We stayed in room 23 with a balcony facing two directions with fantastic views of the rocks and two of the monasteries. Very quiet. Room was a good size, bathroom small but this seems to be the norm in Greece. Five Euro breakfast was typical, boiled egg, bread, cake, coffee, juice, yogurt with honey, but also had toasted ham and cheese sandwich. (A day later I paid 3.5 euro just for a single cup of coffee!) There was rarely anyone at the front desk but if you press the buzzer on the wall they were there within 30 seconds to assist you. Restaurants in Kastraki within a two to ten minute walk. I would recommend this hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful view of Meteora

Posted Sep 6, 2017
Pros: view
Nice room, great location with beautiful view of the Meteora rocks from the private balcony and even from the bed (booked the "Meteora view" room).
5 out of 5
by Zoe

Really lovely

Posted Aug 31, 2017 on Hotels
Guesthouse Papastathis is a lovely hotel with the best view of the meteoras (more panoramic of the actual mountains than some of the ones nearby claiming to be the best.) The owners are friendly and make a nice breakfast.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Perfect Place to Stay in Meteora

Posted May 25, 2017
Such a lovely guesthouse with very accommodating & friendly hosts. Great views of the rock formations from the hotel. Perfect location from which to visit the monasteries.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 16, 2017 on Hotels
Breakfast was great. Hosts were very friendly. Location was at the base of the road for all the monasteries so it was very convenient
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 2, 2016 on Hotels