Ratings based on 382 Verified Reviews

3.4 out of 5
67% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Princeton

Toliet flush handle broke

Posted Jun 26, 2017
The flush handle on toliet was broke when we arrived, called front desk and told them we would be gone all day the next day and could fix it then. Got back in late still broke. I told them to give me parts and I would fix.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

great hotel great price

Posted May 21, 2017
Pros: price location
Cons: breakfast
Location: location was great
hotel was good, room nice, pool and hot tub was clean. the only thing that needs changed is the breakfast. the breakfast could have been better
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 3, 2017 by Tracy, Hotel Management
vicky, Thank you for taking the time to give us a 4 out of 5. I agree about our breakfast I am working on adding some hot items to our breakfast. I have many ideas I just have to see what works best for us.Thank you again for the review we look forward to your next visit with a better breakfast selection at the Baymont Inns and Suites, Metropolis.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from WI

Posted May 1, 2017
was quite and clean room. Easy check in and out. Close to the Quilt show.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

No next time.

Posted May 1, 2017
Hotel seems dated. I couldn't see any elevators, so handicap accessible may be difficult. On a back alley behind the casino. The view is really poor. Continental breakfast was by far the worst I have ever seen in any hotel. Guests fill up their coolers from the ice machine, leaving them high and dry for most guests.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Wonderful staff

Posted Apr 29, 2017
Very friendly, helpful & accommodating staff. Rooms OK but need updating.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Murfreesboro, TN

Hotel Close to Casino.

Posted Apr 20, 2017
Location: Metropolis, IL. Nice casino.
I reserved this stay for 1 night and leaving the next day. We arrived at the hotel early but, the manager/staff said our room was ready. So, we carried our personal items and went to the room and unpacked. We left our room and went to the casino. Returned to room around 8:00pm, relaxed and watched tv. I was laying on one bed and my husband was on other bed. He looked on his sheet and found a bedbug. I looked around my bed and I found a bedbug on my bed. We started looking around and we were seeing them on our beds, the wall and floor. I called front desk and the staff brought us a plastic bag to put all our clothes in. We changed clothes and placed all our clothing except what we had on in plastic bag and placed plastic bag in our car. The hotel gave us another room and we went there. We took a shower and went to bed. I couldn't sleep because I really was freaking out because I have never seen bedbugs. We got up early and left the room and went and talked to the manager about the terrible experience.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 6, 2017 by Tracy, Hotel Management
gwen, I would like to apologize about the issue you had during your stay with us. We have and exterminator who comes every 3 weeks he has been taking care of our hotel for several years and he does a very good job. I have been the general manager for several years and I left the hotel last October and I returned in Match. Unfortunately while I was gone from the property the hotel was not taken care of. We now have new owners and with a lot of hard work we have corrected your problem as well as many others. I want to apologize again and I hope you will give us another chance and visit us again in the future.
4 out of 5
by Michael

Convenient location when visiting Superman Museum

Posted Apr 10, 2017 on Hotels
Inexpensive hotel conveniently near Superman statue and museum. Pool looked nice, though we didn't use. A little busy at breakfast. Basic hotel, inexpensive, clean enough. Just right for our needs.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 6, 2017 by Tracy, Hotel Management
Michael, Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts with us. We are pleased to read that you found us to be just right for your needs. We want to thank you for the great review. We look forward to seeing you again on your next visit with us at the Baymont Inns and Suites, Metropolis
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Meets the needs of a one night stay

Posted Apr 7, 2017 on Hotels
The room was perfectly fine for a one night stay. I would not stay more than one evening. The pool water was ice cold which wouldn't have been too terrible if there had been hot water in the shower! Pressure and temperature left a lot to be desired. In addition non smoking rooms in the same hall as smoking rooms defeat the purpose. The entire floor smelled terrible. The "amenities" left in our room included a tiny bar of soap and two bottles of conditioner but no shampoo. Fine when you're only staying overnight and the shower is too cold to stay in long but this hotel could use better attention to detail. The staff was very friendly.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 10, 2017 by Tracy, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts during your recent stay. I hate to hear that your stay was not as good as it should have been. The problems you experienced have either been fixed or we are in the process of fixing them. I had been the manager here for three years and I left in October 2016 but as of March I have returned with new owners. I apologize about the hot water we had one tank go down but all guest were supposed to be put in the rooms that were not affected by the hot water. We did get it fixed on Sunday. As for the smoke smell in the hallways I had a very good smoke eliminator that was being used but after I left they did not continue to use it. I have it ordered and that problem will be corrected. I want to let you know we are working hard to correct the problems and the new owners are going to upgrade our hotel. Thank you again I want to assure you that we are trying very hard to make this a great hotel. I hope you will return and see how good we will be after some hard work.
3 out of 5
by Nicole

Great pool, ok rooms!

Posted Apr 3, 2017 on Hotels
Decent for the price. The room could have been a bit cleaner...there was a large stain on the mattress that was visible...mattress covers would be good! Also the toilet bowl had not been cleaned! The bed was very comfortable and the pool area was great!
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 7, 2017 by Tracy, Hotel Management
Nicole, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback during your recent stay. I am pleased to read that the bed was comfortable and the pool area was great well on 4/6/2017 our new pool furniture arrived and it looks great. I apologize the rooms were not as clean as they should be I am just returning to the hotel after being gone for 6 months and I am working on improving the cleanliness in the rooms. Thank you again We look forward to your next visit with us at the Baymont Inns ans Suites-Metropolis.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Loved the staff

Posted Apr 2, 2017 on Hotels
The staff was very nice and helpful. But the hallways didn't smell very good. They smelled of smoke and would draft into the rooms. But the rooms were fine for a couple nights.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 7, 2017 by Tracy, Hotel Management
Thank you for the 4 star review. I am pleased to read that you found the staff to be nice and helpful. I realize the smoke smell is a problem we are working on that issue to find a way to eliminate the smell. Thank you again for the great review we look forward to seeing you on your next visit at the Baymont Inns and Suites-Metropolis.