Ratings based on 61 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
72% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from D

Not as nice as others

Posted Jan 20, 2017
The staff was friendly and courteous, but the condition of the room left something to be desired. Carpet was dirty, tile grout dirty and some tiles cracked. No attention to detail, and just not at the same level as other locations of the same chain. Disappointing...
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Hotel need alittle care new carpeting

Posted Nov 19, 2016
It's showing it age needs carpet fix up landscape outside
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 19, 2016 by Vic M, Hotel Management
Dear Michael, Thank you for your candid review. We apologize that your recent stay did not meet expectations. We are preparing to undergo full scale renovations for the whole property very shortly. We do hope to welcome you back in the future, so that we can provide a better experience to you. Sincerely, Vic
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from s

Well worth the money.

Posted Sep 11, 2016
We chose this hotel over the cheaper ones in the area because they were totally non-smoking. The breakfast alone made up the difference. We have noticed most hotels have that lingering smoke odor to them, this did not.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 7, 2016
The room had a smell. Staff said all the rooms smelled that way. We got used to it.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 10, 2016 by Vic M, Hotel Management
Dear Anonymous, Thank you for commenting on your recent experience here with us in Metropolis, IL. I apologize sincerely for the inconvenience you faced due to the smell issue. It is not normal for our rooms to have any smell. Your feedback is very important to us, and I will make sure we correct the problem going forward. Thank you once again. Sincerely, Vic
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

long in the tooth

Posted Jul 31, 2016
Pros: The location was convenient
Cons: The property is badly in need of refreshing. The internet connection needs to be made usable.
Although it seemed clean, the room had a musty smell. The internet connection was so slow and intermittent as to be unusable. Until now I've considered Holiday Inn Express properties to be worth the price premium they command but my last two stays have not justified the 30 to 50% difference over competing hotels in the same locations.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 3, 2016 by Vic, Hotel Management
Dear Traveler, Thank your for reviewing your recent experience here with us in Metropolis, IL. I sincerely apologize for the dated condition of our property. I regret that the Internet connection was slow & intermittent. I have shared your comments with the rest of the staff, and we will make sure to improve our facilities & services. We are preparing to undergo full scale renovations to the whole property very shortly. I hope you will give us another chance after we have upgraded, to prove that this is not the usual experience here at the Holiday Inn Express in Metropolis, IL. Thank you. Sincerely, Vic
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Southern Illinois

Nice hotel

Posted Jul 25, 2016
Pros: The friendly staff and the well kept pool and spa. BIG towels at the pool. Not those tiny ones at other hotels.
Cons: Condition of the room needed some attention.
Location: Paducah, KY is very nearby. A casino is in Metropolis, but we aren't gamblers. Fort Massac is wonderful.
Facility was easy to find but not too close to the Interstate. Staff was excellent. Very friendly and helpful. Room had a few issues. Bathrooms are TINY. Spot on floor in bathroom that the door stuck on. Had to force past to open or shut door. Furniture in room needed some repairs. But the room was neat and clean. Noon checkout was nice. Several fellow guests remarked about the late checkout, as well. Pool and spa was well kept and indoors, which we note as a big plus. Staff is the biggest claim to fame here.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wisconsin

Room needs repair

Posted Mar 28, 2016
Pros: Location was great because we were dividing our 18 1/2 hour drive into manageable sections.
Cons: The smell and the missing parts of the room would be a nice start.
Checked into the hotel and found out that the fee for dogs is different based on size which was not disclosed on the site. Our room was missing the fan literally a hole where it should be and it smelled odd. We were not able to discern the actual smell in the brief time we were there. We also had a floor level room which was great for unloading all of our gear but not so much when trying to sleep. Guests upstairs were extremely loud.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 1, 2016 by Vic M, Hotel Management
Dear Dad, Thank you for your review of your experience here with us in Metropolis, IL. I sincerely apologize for the inconveniences you faced during your stay with us. I regret that you were dissatisfied with the room conditions, and also for being disturbed by people above your room. We take guest comments very seriously and use it as a tool to constantly improve our services & facilities. We are preparing to undergo full-scale renovations very soon, and would love to welcome you back to show you that this is not a normal occurrence here at our hotel. Hopefully you will give us another chance once our renovations are done. Thank you. Sincerely,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good hotel right off interstate

Posted Feb 26, 2016
Pros: Comfortable, well-appointed room.
Cons: They should have a more visible sign coming off the interstate.
Location: Nothing. Metropolis is pretty dead.
Spacious, well provisioned and comfortable room; staff very cooperative. We had a little trouble finding the hotel, as it is not right on 5th street: you have to take an access road and come back toward the interstate. Once we found it (with the aid of the staff) we were well satisfied.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Pool and hot tub

Posted Feb 7, 2016
Cons: Noises during the night. Not sure what it was.
Location: N/A
Good place to stop on our way home to southern Wisconsin. Nice accommodations!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from springfield tn

Roach motel

Posted Nov 23, 2015
First off I requested a smoking room. Was informed three weeks prior hotel was made all non smoking. Also the room had ladybugs crawling all over. Was offered a whirlpool suite and half off bill. Asked for corporate number but never got it. The hot tub was cold. Lamps didn't have switch. Was very disappointed
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 28, 2015 by Vic, Hotel Management
Dear kelly, Thank you for posting a candid review of your experience here with us in Metropolis, IL. I am sincerely sorry for the all the issues you experienced with us, starting from your room type request for smoking, to the rest of the issues, including the four ladybugs found in your room. I also regret that you did not take up our offer of moving to the jacuzzi suite. Please accept our sincerest apologies for the inconvenience you have experienced during your stay. Rest assured that these issues will be looked into. We value your comments and welcome the opportunity to serve you again. Sincerely,