Ratings based on 31 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

comfortable bed ,nice room. good price good staff

Posted Oct 31, 2016
Pros: the rate and location
Cons: cont. breakfast could have been a little better the room could have been cleaner
Location: Paducah ky close fort massac near by other than that not much
small fridge, coffee maker it had what I needed in a room.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Nebraska

Self Help

Posted Jul 31, 2016
Pros: location
Cons: train hotel staff for plumbing or other maintenance emergencies - at least a number to call.
Location: giant Superman statue in town square a few mile away.
Came in on Friday evening. Used bathroom - toilet clogged, "it" would not go down and looked about ready to overflow. Called the desk clerk - she had no idea what to do. My wife suggested a plunger - she brought us one for US to use.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bedford Kentucky

Nice hotel, clean, quiet.

Posted Apr 25, 2016
We had a good expierence, helpful staff, overall the entire hotel inside and outside was very clean and well kept. The complimentary breakfast was way better than i expected. I would definitelt stay here again!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Rantoul, IL

Great Quality for Low Rate

Posted Oct 21, 2015
Pros: The quality of accommodations for the price and the location and proximity to local events.
Cons: The large flat screen TV in the bedroom was not working - and make sure the in suite coffee supplies are well stocked.
Location: The town of Metropolis is the home of Superman - there are museums & memorabilia stores. The Fort Massac Grand Encampment & historic re-enactment.
The room was surprisingly large and 'suite-like' - a combination living room/mini kitchen area with couch, fridge, sink and microwave and a corner table and chairs. There was a flat screen TV in this room and a larger flat screen in the separate, king bed room. Sliding doors separate the living areas (including the bathroom) from the sleeping area. This was one of the larger, nicer and better equipped hotel rooms we've stayed in. There was a good selection available for the free breakfast and the dining area was large, and clean with good lighting and plenty of coffee.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from st louis, mo

Nice for a small town

Posted Jul 13, 2015
i read several reviews of this and other local hotels. you are not going to get a 4 seasons hotel in metropolis, il. we stayed her while doing our scuba certification at Mermet Springs. The room was comfortable, showers were hot, and we enjoyed the indoor pool and hot tub. Staff was friendly. We did not eat breakfast there, because there was a Huddle House across the parking lot---our breakfast there was excellent. Hotel a little dated, but was a good value. I would stay again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 30, 2015
The room had an Oder about it but the receptionist was quick with a room freshener spray
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Easy to find

Posted Oct 20, 2014
Great service, nice staff, no issues at all, except breakfast could have been better, but that would make the price higher, so, overall, I'm fine with it.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Down the garden path

Posted Oct 11, 2014
I ended up not staying at the Super 8 in Metropolis. I had made the reservation with Expedia that was non-refundable nor changeable as I found out. It was not the hotel's fault at all, but I had asked for a handicapped accessable bathroom and I had two small dogs with me. Super 8 did not have that combination available in a room, it was either one or the other. This was not told to me until I was talking to the hotel. So I ended up staying somewhere else. This was neither a good deal nor was it something that I expected. I have learned to call the hotel first that I am wanting to book and ask questions before I lay my money out.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good for the price

Posted Aug 16, 2014
Hotel lobby, pool, and staff were excellent. Room was OK but for the price, I'd recommended this hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

It was a nice hotel for price

Posted May 16, 2014
Only complaint was hot tub was brokeStaff was very freindly v