Ratings based on 130 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Atlanta, GA

Extremely disappointed in accommodations and staff

Posted Jun 20, 2017
Pros: convenience to the funeral home in Metter
Cons: cleanliness, odor, spots in carpet, staff being more courteous and listening to customer's issues and offering a better solution
Location: directly off the interstate
This hotel was booked in order for us to attend a family funeral out of town. Upon check in, we needed to change clothes and leave for the visitation. When we walked into our "non-smoking" room, it REEKED of smoke - so much so that we didn't want to leave our clothes in the room for fear they would smell of smoke the next day at the funeral. The staff replied "that's a non-smoking room" and then "I'll go smell it myself". She also told us we wouldn't be able to switch rooms (even though there were only about 3 other cars in the lot). When we returned from the visitation at 10:00 pm, she told us "all of our rooms smell like that. I sprayed it with air freshener." Needless to say, it was uncomfortable at best. The bathroom also smelled of mildew/mold - just general uncleanness. The carpet was very soiled, with noticeable spots all around the carpet. Honestly, I have never stayed in such an unclean environment, but was stuck in the situation because I had already paid through Expedia and the hotel "couldn't refund us our money".
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 23, 2017 by sm, Hotel Management
I am so sorry to hear about the problems that you experienced during your stay at our property. I was not aware of this until now, but i can assure you that the front desk clerk will be dealt with as she should have moved you to another room, which I assure you that all of our rooms don't smell like smoke. I am also looking into the housekeeping problem and assure you that the proper corrections will be made. Again, I am very sorry, but very much appreciate your feedback, as we use all guest feedback to make the proper improvements.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Atlanta

Posted May 27, 2017
Okay interstate hotel. Decent price, great shower. I got there at ten pm after a long day in the road so it worked okay for me. Get breakfast somewhere else though.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 29, 2017 by sm, Hotel Management
We are happy that you chose to stay at our property and we appreciate your feedback about your stay, as we use all guest feedback to make the necessary improvements where needed. We will look forward to having you as a guest again in the future.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Business

Posted May 16, 2017
I was very impressed with this hotel. The room was clean and spacious. The staff was very accommodating and a pleasure to speak with.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 17, 2017 by sm, Hotel Management
Thank you for choosing to stay at our property. We appreciate your kind words about your stay and we look forward to having you as a guest again in the future.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Business Trip

Posted May 11, 2017
We stayed at this Hotel for 3 nights during a recent business trip. The room was very comfortable and clean. The breakfast in the morning was much better than expected. Would definitely stay here in the future.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 16, 2017 by sm, Hotel Management
Thank you for choosing to stay at our property. We appreciate your kind feedback and are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at our property. We look forward to your next visit.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Business Trip

Posted May 4, 2017
Staff was very accommodating and polite. Room was clean. Would recommend it to anyone looking for a clean comfortable room at great price.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 16, 2017 by sm, Hotel Management
Thank your for your kind feedback about your stay at our property. We appreciate all of our guest and use all feedback to make improvements where necessary. We look forward to having you as a guest again in the future.
5 out of 5
by Steven

Very clean

Posted May 1, 2017 on Hotels
Motel was very clean, staff very friendly and courteous. The only thing we didn't like was the poor quality of pillow on the bed. We will bring our own next time.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 16, 2017 by Sonya, Hotel Management
Thank you for choosing to stay at our property. We appreciate your feedback as we use all guest feedback to make improvements where necessary. We were sorry to hear that you were not satisfied with the pillows, as those are a requirement by our brand. However, we look forward to having you as a guest again in he future.
4 out of 5
by Maxine

Posted Apr 30, 2017 on Hotels
The staff/housekeeping was great. Everyone was friendly. My only concern is the condition of the outside stairs and the black stains on the bathtub.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 16, 2017 by Sonya, Hotel Management
Thank you for choosing to stay at our property and we appreciate your feedback as we use all guest feedback to make improvements to our property and our service. I assure you that we will look into the issues that you were concerned about with the stairs and the tub and make the necessary improvements. Again, thank you and we look forward to having you as a guest again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Mediocre

Posted Apr 29, 2017
Pros: It was very quiet and peaceful
Cons: Take the picture of the pool off of the website.....THERE IS NO POOL! The bathrooms could be scrubbed for better clean look in tub/shower
Location: Good selection of places to eat, buy gas, very close to downtown Metter.
The staff were super nice and helpful. I was expecting a pool as advertised on the hotel website photos; however, a staff stated that the pool wasn't ready. What seemed factual is that they no longer have a pool just a space that was formerly a pool. I had my 6-year old great nephew with me on the trip and he was totally disappointed; he was so looking forward to getting into the pool. I was also disappointed for him.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 16, 2017 by sm, Hotel Management
Thank you for choosing to stay at our property and we appreciate your feedback as we use all guest feedback to make the needed improvements. I assure you that the pool was under maintenance and it will be open in next couple of weeks. As for the cleanliness of the bathrooms, I will look into that and make sure that it is corrected. I sincerely apologize for any problems that you had at our property. We will look forward to having you as a guest again in the future.
5 out of 5
by Larry

Metter

Posted Apr 28, 2017 on Hotels
Best Days Inn I have stayed. Room was clean, renovated and the service great.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 16, 2017 by Sonya, Hotel Management
Thank you for your kind feedback. We were happy to have you as a guest and look forward to your next visit.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from b

Clean but no fridge was a bummer

Posted Apr 22, 2017
It was ok but not great. We would stay somewhere else if we visited Metter again
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 25, 2017 by sm, Hotel Management
We are happy that you chose to stay with us but are saddened to hear that you were not pleased with your stay. We are in the process of doing renovations and all rooms have not been done yet and not all rooms have refrigerators yet. We apologize for any problems that you experienced during your stay and we hope that you will change your mind and give us another chance and stay with us again in the future.