Ratings based on 122 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Montreal

Feels like a medieval fortress, amazing.

Posted Mar 8, 2017
Pros: See above
Cons: Get rid of cockroaches
Location: Manicured grounds for a 15-20 minute stroll, otherwise only fields around.
Stay is quite an experience, though pricey. The hotel styled after a medieval fortress, built with old stones. Great attention to detail, even cricket chirping from behind doors. Rooms are excellent and stulish. First time I saw a two-storey bathroom! And an in-room sauna!!! The room looks very clean, except for a cockroach my wife found and killed. We told reception and they freaked out. Food is excellent and german-themed. Restaurant bill for 4 with just 1 glass of wine and 3 beers was 450€ euros, but this was a family reunion, so who's counting... Excellent themed getaway, but a 45€ taxi ride to town, or airport. A great one-time experience.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 19, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel, with a great resturant for dinner

Posted Oct 19, 2016 on Hotels
Very nice property amidst lush fields. Close to the highway, not far (10-15 mins) from the Dusseldorf airport.. Excellent breakfast spread, with a much improved internet connection
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 6, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Relax

Posted Sep 23, 2016 on Hotels
2 Nights , quiet, Great Food , free Breakfast Buffet Great walks in the park area
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice and comfortable hotel

Posted Sep 19, 2016 on Hotels
Just a quick overnight stay to visit friends , a lovely place in the countryside of Germany , is a fair distance from the center of Mettmann
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Medellin

Beautiful hotel near Düsseldorf

Posted Jun 15, 2016
The hotel is lovely hotel. All the amenities are great. The room is ugly compared to the beauty of the place. Will come back if I'm around the area.
5 out of 5
by Bongil

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 7, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Roger from Weaverville, NC

Just perfect!

Posted Jan 11, 2016 on Hotels
Our stay at Gut Hohne was fantastic. The breakfast buffet was phenomenal, as well as the spa facilities. Rooms were spacious and very comfortable. Service was impeccable.
4 out of 5
by Ian from Surrey

A comfortable hotel in a quiet location

Posted Nov 22, 2015 on Hotels
The hotel is a wellness hotel, and the swimming pool was very good as was the fitness centre. It's quirky and unlike anything I have stayed in before. Our room had a sauna in it, but we did not use it. The bathroom was great, the bath was very big and took a lot of time to fill. the bathrobes were fluffy and a decent size, and we liked the way they were in a good sized bag with towels, which could be taken down to the swimming/fitness area. The room was very quiet, although I do not recall seeing black out blinds. The food in the restaurant was very good with the option of a buffet or a la carte, and there was plenty and very tasty. it's all locally sourced, I believe. Breakfast was ample too, although I was not able to see any croissants. Lots of juices, all freshly pressed, cold meats and cheese, and a variety of breads, including gluten free. There is a cooking area for hot food, some cooked as you stand there (although it was unmanned when we were in the area). Around the reception area there is plenty of seating for formal or informal chattering. As you approach the hotel there are a few shops in archways, a jewelers and artist, I recall along with a coffee shop.