Ratings based on 63 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Atlanta, GA, USA

Affordable, Near Train Station

Posted Dec 2, 2017
Pros: Location, attractive lobby area. We did not eat the breakfast, but it looked fine.
Cons: Cleanliness
Location: Across the street from the train station, walking distance from Cathedral and Christmas market.
Most things were fine, but we had some concerns about the cleanliness of the room. The sheets had hair on them, and the towels on the heated rack had that stiff feel of wet fabric that has hung to dry. Paired with the sheet issue, we wondered whether the towels had been replaced after the previous guest. Both of these could be otherwise explained, but they did make us wonder.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 9, 2017 by Francis, Hotel Management
Monsieur bonjour nous sommes désolés de n'avoir pas pu vous satisfaire pleinement nous nous efforcerons à l'avenir de corriger nos erreurs et nous vous proposons de faire un geste commercial pour un prochain voyage à votre disposition Francis
4 out of 5
by Richard

Posted May 13, 2017 on Hotels
Well, the hotel was nice and close enough to everything. The only thing was when I checked in, the owner (or manager) was pleasant and helpful. He showed me on the map where to go and where to eat. He mentioned that his daughter went to the USA and noticed how different we are. I said 'but we both like Jerry Lewis'..........then we laughed. In the morning, he was reading the paper and I said good morning. He looked up like I was bothering him. I thought we had a good rapport. I asked about some places to take pictures. He scribbled on a map and then returned to his paper. I don't know if he remembered when the USA rescued France from both WWII and Vietnam or that his country is going into a civil war from all their mistake letting muslims into their country but, he should be more concerned with running a business rather than giving me the cold shoulder all because I interrupted him morning schedule of news paper reading.
3 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NZ

perfectly adequate for a short stay.

Posted Oct 25, 2016
Close to the station, easy to find. Bit of a walk in to town, and no map provided. Room was fine, nothing special, but nothing wrong with it. Couldn't get the metal shutter on the window to open.
4 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from MN

Good One Nighter

Posted Oct 2, 2016
On the older side, but the beds were comfortable. The bathroom was tiny, so was the tv. But the wifi worked well, even on the 3rd floor. The hotel is in a good area, a lot of restaurants close by, the train station a block or so away. The owner/manager has some english, enough so that we could get by, and was very helpful with the garage and a walking map. Seems like a lot of the clientele are business travelers. It is within walking distance of the historic center, however we got lost multiple times and it took well more than 15 minutes to walk. We were able to park in a secured garage a block away from the hotel for 9 euros. We also paid for breakfast at the hotel, it was average, I wouldn't pay for it again. A mini crossant and juice and coffee/tea. Not worth the money. We ate a late night dinner at the bar next to the hotel, my mother and I left as we were not interested in the soccer game. The bar manager immediate asked my father and brother where we were going and how far we were walking, he was concerned about us walking alone at night. So possibly not a great area at night, not an issue for us since we were literally next to our hotel.
5 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Wonderful basic accommodation

Posted Sep 27, 2016
This Hotel is wonderful for being exactly what it is. Very nice basic accommodation. It is well located within walking distance of the City Center. The staff were lovely and very helpful even though we speak only English. Parking was provided about 1/2 block from the hotel. We had a very nice stay.
4 out of 5
by linda

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 4, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sechelt, Canada

All you need if you overnight in Metz like we did.

Posted May 12, 2016
Pros: Location
Cons: brighter colours in rooms and hallways, but it is of course subjective.
Nothing too fancy, but very clean room and bathroom, good WIFI, our room was a decent size for a French hotel, reception was OK, polite, no more. Parking in the next block for Euro 9.00. The room was quiet thanks to double windows, centrally located, next to beautiful heritage buildings, we could walk almost everywhere.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good budget hotel

Posted Mar 21, 2016 on Hotels
Spur of the moment booking made in a hurry. The Hotel Moderne Metz is an OK budget hotel, room was a good size bathroom was clean and fresh with a good shower. We had booked a room with a bath but that was denied at check in. Didn't really like the decor but that is personal taste and we did see other more attractive rooms as we left in the morning. A very reasonable hotel for a short stay and quite centrally located
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Enjoyable stay at a convenient location.

Posted Nov 15, 2015 on Hotels
Overall an enjoyable experience. We were able to keep our luggage there after checkout. It was right across from the train station.
3 out of 5
by Larisa from San Francisco, CA, USA

Close to train station but average service

Posted Jul 8, 2015 on Hotels
It was Ok, we booked the room with balcony but didn't get it, because they said that the hotel is "fully booked", however it was plenty off rooms...