Ratings based on 240 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
71% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from woodbury, MN

Expedia didn't tell me the room had been cancelled

Posted Jun 13, 2017
I arrived in a hot summer day and found out that the room had been cancelled due to overbooking (I was not told of this by Expedia). It took part of the day to get a room in another hotel which was in convenient since the hotel I had originally reserved was right by my customer's location (added lots of taxi costs).
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Laguna Hills, CA

Try to awoid it

Posted Sep 13, 2016 on Hotels
I have used this hotel 4 times before. It is old overused,and bad room design. It is in US standard like a rundown Motel 6, but I might be unfair to the Motel 6 here.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Not Novotel standard

Posted Sep 4, 2016
Pros: very comfortable beds my children were really pleased with the soft toys they received at checkin to add to their Novotel collection.
Cons: air-conditioning and ventilation renovate the rooms (e.g. toilets with was basins for hygiene sake!) dining options
Location: This is not in Metz, so if you want to see the city this is not the place to stay. Hypermarket across the road, but was closed when we arrived.
Stayed overnight as part of trip to central Europe. To be fair, this is not a hotel you would choose for holiday, and it serves its purpose for being reasonably close to the motorways. But, even taking this into consideration, the facility did not meet our experience and expectations with the Novotel chain. The room was far too small for a family of 4 (two children), and the odour left by the air conditioning was unpleasant and not welcoming at all. We ended up leaving the window open all night, but this left us exposed to the noise of several tour coaches revving up at 7am the following morning trying to collect their late passengers. Generally, the room was dated, with a separate toilet that lacked ventilation (and no window) and had no basin for washing your hands. We opted to eat dinner in the hotel, but the menu was scarce on choices. Being allergic to gluten, my wife went for a salad as the safe option, but it was soaked in vinegar and left much to the imagination to be called a salad. The breakfast buffet was reasonable, I can't really complain, but my kids were left disappointed to find the hot-chocolate option was unavailable on the coffee machine. Not sure whether the tab-water is safe to drink in this region (apologies for being so ignorant), so we bought a few bottles of Evian water to take to the room after dinner. This took half an hour after none of the staff were available at the bar.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Poor Condition and Uncomfortable

Posted Aug 23, 2016
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Everything
Location: Quite good location near the main routes
The hotel looks old and is in urgent need of refurbishment. The carpets were stained, the toilet was leaking, wallpaper was peeling and our "non smoking" room smelt of cigarettes. The main bed was okay at best and the sofa bed for the children was impossible to sleep on. The staff were not approachable and it took repeated attempts to get offered an alternative room, which was just as bad.
3 out of 5
by Carran from London

Unhelpful staff

Posted Aug 18, 2016 on Hotels
The hotel itself is ok, a typical Novotel hotel. The breakfast was very basic but ok as well. The hotel staff, however, were very unhelpful. Our room had a safe that wasn't working. The lady at the reception came, played with the safe a bit and said to me that it was not working (as if I didn't know that myself). She said there is nothing she can do about it and if I wanted I could leave stuff at the reception. I wasn't happy about it and told her that this isn't good but anyway 'never mind'. Then she went back to the reception and called me from the reception. The purpose of the call was to tell me that apparently I booked a room without a safe so I had no right to expect one and if I wanted one I should have booked it specifically. Apart from the obvious that nobody books a safe separately of the room (at least I never did before and never had an problem with that) I found the whole fact that she felt necessary to call me and tell me that, even though she had done nothing at all to help to resolve the problem which should be her focus rather than teach me what I should or shouldn't do rather rude.
4 out of 5
by Graham

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 7, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from England

Excellent second stay

Posted Feb 23, 2016
Our second trip to this hotel as a night stop on the way to Switzerland. Our first was last summer so the pool was open to entertain the children, but this February it clearly was not going to be! However, still very child friendly allowing the girls to play in the large open reception area with some of the other guests whilst we had a drink. Food as before, excellent with helpful and polite staff. Breakfast good as per our previous stay. Comfortable and clean family room with pull out beds for the children. Would stay again and definitely recommend it to others. location just of the motorway is excellent.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canada

Good hotel convenient to major highways.

Posted Oct 14, 2015
Just an overnight stop but good overall experience. Hypermarket just across the street. Convenient but no excessive traffic noise in our room.
5 out of 5
by Dawn

Excellent

Posted Sep 26, 2015 on Hotels
Excellent hotel and prime location
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 31, 2015
There is small pool and playground for children. I believe it's good Hotel for Family with children.