Ratings based on 34 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
33% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Fantastic building in an exceptional position

Posted Jul 20, 2016
This property is a fabulous old building in an exceptional position. Unfortunately the management did not provide enough staff. We arroved at 8.30 and was told the kitchen closed at 9 so we dropped our cases in the room that had a bath but no shower and went immediately to the restaurant. The poor waiter was running around like a scene from fawlty towers and we eventually received 2 beers and a menu at 9,30. 20 minutes later our meal order was taken and miraculously 2 minutes later the food arrived !
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 3, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Steve from Bournemouth

A most amazing hotel

Posted Jun 28, 2013 on Hotels
This was one of our last stays on a combined anniversary and big birthday trip in France. Everything about the hotel was superb - service, style, comfort, location and cleanliness. I had requested in advance a room on the ground or first floor, as my wife is rather claustrophobic. At first the owner took us to a second floor room, which was beautiful but rather small and high up. When I mentioned my request, the owner explained that it had not been passed on to him, and immediately showed us to the most amazing room on the first floor. It would normally have been twice the price, but he allowed us to stay there at no extra cost. In the morning, the tables inside the restaurant were laid for breakfast, but when we asked if it was possible to eat outside by the river on their veranda (then laid for lunch, as we soon realised) as it was such a beautiful morning, he unhesitatingly cleared the lunch cutlery and relaid the table for our breakfast. When we left, he even came out to the car to see us off. It was all a magical, outstanding experience.
5 out of 5
by Yolande from Montréal

Very nice location

Posted May 25, 2013 on Hotels
Very nice stay and very good breakfast, the best croissants and eggs in long time.
5 out of 5
by W. Smith

Very good, comfortable stay

Posted Oct 30, 2012 on Hotels
Hotel has great location right on the river. Rooms are clean and comfortable. Very enjoyable stay.
5 out of 5
by S Rodwell

5* Comfort and Service.

Posted Jun 21, 2012 on Hotels
I was so impressed with this hotel. It was fantastic. The food was amazing, the bed so comfortable and the staff really friendly. Will definitely stay here again.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Belle Chasse, LA

Romantic get-away

Posted Oct 22, 2011 on Hotels
This hotel is very picturesque as well as comfortable. The rooms and public areas of the hotel are very attractive. The surrounding area is beautiful. I only regretted that we had not booked for several days rather than only one.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Portland, OR -- USA

Leave your home now and go to Meung-sur-Loire, Fr

Posted Apr 11, 2011 on Hotels
You'll need to do so to stay at the tres charmante Relais Louis XI Hotel, an experience you won't want to miss. This historic hotel offers the best of French comfort, cuisine, and service in a setting that takes you back to the time of Joan of Arc. In fact, she led the battle that freed the town of Meung-sur-Loire in June 1429; the commemorative sign hangs on the front of the hotel. From the heavy wooden carriage door and entry archway to the tower, and from the walled garden to the whitewashed stone walls and wooden staircase, this is a place that makes history come alive. We were enchanted to have our breakfast in a bright and ancient room overlooking both the river and the courtyard. We stayed in the Le Lys room, which is tastefully furnished and has a charming view of the river; the bed was as comfortable as we've ever felt. The only reason we did not rate the room's comfort at 5 is that the window screens had not yet been put up for the season, so bugs prevented us from leaving the window open all night. Otherwise, we would have fallen asleep to the sounds of the river tumbling over rocks just below our window. As it was, we spent the early morning watching birds on the water and a determined beaver swimming upstream as we sat by our open window. (And in fairness to the hotel, we stayed on an unseasonably warm night in early April, so the windows are probably screened in typical warm weather.) The staff was attentive and helpful: a cleaning woman graciously insisted on carrying one of our bags downstairs when we were leaving, then disappeared before we could tip her, and a gardener who did not speak English still managed to show us around the grounds, even leaving the main garden to come around on the side street to show us where to pose for pictures, which he took for us. There is a river walk just outside the hotel grounds. Be sure to take a walk at night to see the stars. And leave time to stroll around the medieval town of Meung-sur-Loire during the day. The only negatives about Relais Louis XI are that dinner is not served 7 nights a week and that the drives on the street below can be noisier than you might expect for a small town. But these are small issues when compared to the many pluses of this jewel of a hotel.
5 out of 5
by Roberto

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 19, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hôtel de charme sur les bords de Loire

Posted Apr 7, 2017 on Hotels
Endroit très calme, accueil prévenant. Les horaires de réception sont limités et il n'est pas possible d'arriver après 22h. Bon petit déjeuner complet avec des produits maison et locaux.