Ratings based on 504 Verified Reviews

3.4 out of 5
72% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent location, terrible hard mattress.

Posted Jun 8, 2017
Pros: Above all, the place was very clean. I love that the room had hardwood floors, not carpet. I checked the bed thoroughly and found no signs of bed bugs
Cons: BETTER MATTRESSES, SOFTER NICER BEDS. Why are the beds so hard???
Location: Zocalo, templo mayor, palacio nacional, calle Maderos with all it's shops, great food on the next street over, Cinco de Mayo.
We stayed 7 nights at this hotel and I loved the location and cleanliness of the facility. The staff were very courteous. I absolutely hated how hard the mattress was, but then again, hotels in Mexico for some reason tend to have cheap, hard mattresses. I'm 5 months pregnant, so this was my only complaint but a very important aspect of my stay, as I was on vacation, walking a lot every day and on more than one ocasion, I woke up with hip pain caused by the mattress. Yes, some of the things people stated in other reviews are correct, but they weren't too much of an issue for us -- i.e. the elevator was broken for most of our stay, we had the option to ask the bell boy for a ride on the other one, but most times we took the stairs to the 4th floor. The main elevator did get fixed at the end of our stay. The plumbing is not the best, but then again this is a centuries-old building. The toilet worked fine, but the sink and shower were slow in draining and it's pretty gross when you're brushing your teeth and getting splash back from the sink puddle or your standing in 2 inches of water in the shower. The comments about the noise are true, but that's the hustle and bustle of el zocalo, if you don't like it, stay elsewhere. On most nights, the activity outside tended to die down by about 10:30pm and I didn't mind the noise.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 27, 2017 by Ventas, Hotel Management
Many thanks for your comments, as the mattresses are being changed along with the remodeling of the rooms, we hope to have it again with us.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chicago

LOOKS ARE DECEIVING

Posted Jun 7, 2017
Pros: The restaurant was very nice, although it only played English music. I would've preferred to have a cultural experience with Spanish or guitar music.
Cons: The reception staff was very quiet and to themselves. Also, the hotel mostly employed men and the few women visible were the cleaning service.
Location: Walking distance from transportation: bus, hop on/off bus, taxis, metro. Close to shopping and feet away from the historic district.
The hotel's decor is pleasing and the foyer, patio, and restaurant are beautiful. However, the bedrooms had no air conditioning, the room was dusty and not well swept, the bed mattresses were hard and the beds had wheels making it hard to sleep without having the bed move. Also, I reserved two rooms with king size beds and had to settle for twin size beds. The bedrooms had no fridge or microwave so I couldn't save milk or water for my child to have. This hotel is o.k. for a one night stay but not for an extended stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Winnipeg Canada

Historical hotel in a fantastic location

Posted Apr 24, 2017
Pros: The view and location was perfect.
Cons: The rooms could use an update.
Location: There are many museums, shops and historical buildings within walking distance. The Metro is also a short walk from the hotel.
The Best Western Majestic, is a nice historical hotel. The lobby and main areas show the craftsmanship of the period the hotel was built. Upon entering the rooms, one must remember the hotel is old, and although the rooms are clean, it smells of age...slightly musty. We had a room facing the historical site and the view was fantastic!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from san diego, ca

Hotel Centraly located

Posted Apr 4, 2017
Pros: Walking distance to many attractions
Cons: Hot water in the AM
Location: Visit all historical sites .
This is our second visit to Magestic hotel. We enjoyed the comfort, overall cleaningness, helpful staff, and convince of location,. Walking distance to many attractions.
5 out of 5
by Gerardo

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 16, 2017 on Hotels
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dallas

Ok hotel close to the center of town.

Posted Mar 16, 2017
Pros: Location, close to tour buses and metro
Cons: The beds need to be more comfortable, the bathrooms need an update
Location: The location was phenomenal, except when they totally closed the Zocalo on Thursday for a car rally. That day I had to walk 12 blocks or so to a taxi
Since I was travelling alone, the hotel was not a major concern. It was close to the metro, the tour buses and right on the center square of town. The restaurant was nice and overlooked the Zocalo. The shower and bathroom needs an update. The bed was very hard. I woke up many times during the night to turn over. The Zocalo is busy all the time, so bring ear plugs to drown out the noise of any overnight set up going on.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Nice hotel close to everything.

Posted Mar 16, 2017
Excelent location to go everywhere. You have almost everything around.
5 out of 5
by Johnny Chegne from New York City

Weekend in Mexico City.

Posted Mar 15, 2017 on Hotels
Fantastic experience. Every person in the hotel was amazing. Kudos for an unforgettable time. Can't wait to come back!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 11, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Sergio

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 27, 2017 on Hotels