Ratings based on 463 Verified Reviews

3.4 out of 5
71% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.1 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Winnipeg, Canada

Great location!

Posted Feb 20, 2017
Pros: The location couldn't b better. The staff were very helpful with providing suggestions, giving directions, arranging for tours etc.
Cons: Some updating of the rooms, especially the bedding.
Location: A number of major attractions of Mexico City. What isn't accessible by walking can easily be reached by bus or subway. Felt very safe.
This is a great location within walking distance of many major attractions. What isn't within walking distance is easily accessible by bus or subway from this location. The hotel rooms could use some updating especially the pillows! Overall, would choose to stay here again as the staff were great and the location was fantastic!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Pittsburgh, PA

Great location, poor facilities

Posted Jan 20, 2017
The location off the zócalo is perfect; however the street noise is too much. It is not traffic noise, it is the noise from the street performers and vendors. I had megaphones and drums outside my room until past 11 at night. Furthermore, the room has had minimal updates since 1937. The locks are poor, the wood floors creak so that you hear people walking in the rooms on both sides and above you, and the showers are very outdated. On the plus side, the staff were very nice and helpful, the public areas were great, and watching the sunrise over the Palacio Nacional from the rooftop restaurant was amazing. Just do not look for 21st century comforts or a good nights rest.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

You need better hotel front desk people

Posted Jan 17, 2017
Pros: The views
Cons: Front desk staff and better security for late night drunk guests who wake up the entire hotel
Location: Centrally located in the Zocalo!
There was a huge protest to take place the day after I checked in. I asked the front desk if I would be able to get a taxi at 11am so that I could make my business meeting. The man at the front desk looked at me with disgust and pretended not to hear me. I repeated my question clearly in both English and Spanish and he refused to acknowledge my question. A simple "I'm not sure" would have sufficed, instead of him pretending not to hear me.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Fantastic location on the Zocalo.

Posted Jan 15, 2017
Pros: The proximity to all the Historical sites,you're right in the middle of the city.
Cons: Some form of heating in the rooms.
Location: The location is great ,giving access to all the sights ,and tours can be quickly arranged by the Hotel staff.
Really old building,with ancient lift still manually operated.Restaurant was cold on the first morning with the Maitre de in his overcoat.The rooms were cold as there was no heating.All the staff were very helpful and pleasant.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from washington dc

Nice view from the balcony

Posted Jan 8, 2017
Great overall experience, room could have been a little cleaner but worth the location and helpfulness of the staff.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from los angeles

Nice, close to cathedral . shopping, tours buses

Posted Dec 15, 2016
Pros: Friendly staff, very helpful.
Cons: Better mattress , newer bed covers.
Location: Central Mexico, tours, cathedral , Castle near by, opera house
Felt safe walking around. Hop on busses very clean.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Las Vegas, NM

Not what was expected

Posted Dec 7, 2016
Pros: Very clean, great staff
Cons: BEDS! when you travel all you want is a good nights sleep.
Location: Lots of things to do nearby, but you are so sore from the beds you can hardly move.
Only a buffet for month of December which would be fine but at 2:00 I guess it has sat out for hours and was DRY. Host at door not nice. Our room was changed to "have a wonderful view of Zocolo" problem is the LOUD music until 10:00 pm, it does not help to close the doors. Nice king bed, too bad it was like sleeping on a rock along with rock pillows. Towels are also just as hard! Water pressure is ok, not great but ok.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Posted Nov 28, 2016
Pros: The location of this hotel is excellent as it is in the center of everything.
Cons: room accommodations, some of the rooms are a little run down.
Location: The location was excellent and there is plenty to do in Mexico City; I had a great time.
On my reservations, I requested a king bed, when I checked in, I got 2 twin beds. there was a lot of noise from top floor (chairs and tables dragging...). I request a room change and was given a room right in front of construction across the street. This room had 3 twin beds, mind you, my husband and are went to celebrate our 30th anniversary and were sleeping in separate beds. In the bathroom I found 2 cockroaches at different times. the TV remote control didn't work and went to the lobby 3 times to get it fixed. on the fourth, I asked my husband to handle it. A member of the staff came in to try to fix it, but no luck. At that point, I asked to be moved yet again from the room. I was finally moved to a nicer room.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Center of Zócalo

Posted Nov 24, 2016 on Hotels
Great hotel in the center of the historic district
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Texas

beautiful view of Cathedral

Posted Nov 20, 2016
Pros: very clean, friendly staff
Cons: bed was too firm for me
Location: great location for getting around town.
terrace restaurant had great food and available bar with smoking terrace