Ratings based on 94 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Charming oasis in Centro Historico

Posted Oct 17, 2016 on Hotels
This place is clean and charming. The neighborhood is also really great. The staff is friendly and the rooms have character with high ceilings and doors that open up to a balcony overlooking the street below. The only downside to staying at Hostal Regina is that it's on the second and third floors of the building its in and there are no elevators so you have to carry all your luggage up and down at least 2 flights of stairs. The free breakfast is toast and coffee (nothing special) but there's access to a kitchen and a few different common areas. The wifi is spotty however there are a few desktop computers available to use as well.
4 out of 5
by Benjamin from Hayward, California

Cheap hostel in historic downtown Mexico City

Posted Apr 3, 2016 on Hotels
Centrally located hostel in historic downtown Mexico City.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Ilusion Moctezuma

Experience trip

Posted Sep 11, 2015 on Orbitz
Loved the stay , never stayed in a Hostal and I picked the right one to stay in.
4 out of 5
by Jason

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 13, 2015 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 8, 2015 on Hotels
Found several long hairs in my bed after checking in for my first night. Clean-up in bathroom(mens) is not done often, thus bathrooms smell badly all day. Wifi does not work well in the rooms, only works best in registration area which is also the hallway area and thus people are always walking around. Expect lots of noise through the night, as there is a restaurant/bar on the lower level and the rooftop and the noise moves through the building interior and it easily reaches the rooms around it. Breakfast consists of just coffee/tea and toast with butter/jelly.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Guatemala

Posted May 19, 2015
Great location, great staff.... as it is in the center the car noises wake you up.. I strongly recommend it :)
3 out of 5
by Ixchel

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 13, 2015 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from aussie

hostel living after all

Posted Jan 22, 2015
If sharing, is better to get double or triple more privacy and lounge. Private balcony over the street. Fabulous place.
4 out of 5
by Kamron from Arizona

Hostel Regina

Posted Oct 6, 2014 on Hotels
It was a good hostel in a cool location, but it is very noisy. I mean, very noisy, granted I was there for the Mexican Independence Day, so there were fireworks going off at 1:30 am. Overall, good place for 3 or 4 days, 5 max. I'd do it again.
3 out of 5
by Aaron B from Seattle

Fine as a hotel w/ a private room, not as a hostel

Posted Sep 8, 2014 on Hotels
If you are looking for an inexpensive room to stay in Mexico City, this place is fine. The staff are very nice, everything is clean, I felt safe, and the location is good. However, if you are looking for a social hostel to meet people and form a group to explore Mexico City, I would not recommend this one. The bars are full of locals at night and the common couches were always empty. They have a few organized tours available from other companies at the front desk, but not the quantity and discounted price I was hoping for at a hostel. Note breakfast is simply a croissant and coffee, and you can find the same croissant one block away for almost nothing. Overall, I wouldn't recommend this place. For just a little bit more you can stay at a much nicer hotel if you are looking for a private room, and if you are looking for a hostel you are better off finding a bigger one with more of a social scene. If you do stay here, though, try the steak tacos in the adjoining restaurant -- they're delicious!