Ratings based on 180 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from CA, HI, MX

Might as well be home

Posted Apr 19, 2015
During my two month stay in Mexico City, I had planned to move about different hotels and hostels to get a feel for different neighborhoods. After staying at two far-more expensive hotels, I found Hotel La Selva and was blown away by its price. I read some older bad reviews, but decided to risk it (when a review is so ridiculously negative, I figure it's more the reviewers fault than the hotel's). After only four days at Hotel La Selva, I extended me stay indefinitely. I ended up staying over 7 more weeks! The staff is absolutely amazing. They are friendly, and exceptionally caring. The food service is worth the room price alone; especially because la Señora Ana is an amazing cook. The hotel is aged, but Javier, the manager is working hard to renovate all the rooms. I decided my un-renovated room was fine though. Javier is especially friendly, as is the night manager. When the internet was down Javier let me use his cell phone data to check my flight. One night, I wanted to walk to a near by OXXO convenience store, and manager Patti's son accompanied me for safety sake. When I got a kidney infection the staff helped me figure out a solution, and even offered to drive me to the hospital if I got worse. If you're a student, a seasoned traveler, or someone who doesn't need frills stay at Hotel La Selva. It's inexpensive, in a safe neighborhood, and at the crossroads of three major Metro lines.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Awesome hotel with lots of character

Posted Jan 2, 2015
Location: The hotel is right next to Chapultepec park, so you can visit the anthropology museum easily. By cab you can easily get to the city center too.
I stayed at Hotel Park Villa for 5 nights. The location is calm and quiet, but also close to everything. The staff are very friendly and knowledgeable. It was wonderful experience and a great value for the money.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great value for money

Posted Nov 23, 2014
Very comfortable, great value, well located. Breakfast with the lions is something to remember
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from El Paso TX USA

DATED AND GLOOMY

Posted Oct 26, 2014
First, let me start by saying I'm a prod easing business person and my room is my "home office and escape." My expectations are not overly high but I need a minimum support to make it through a long week. The hotel staff was E X C E L L E N T! Very professional and helpful. The resaurant has good Food but is pricy. The restaurant is a little pricey but the outside patio and glass enclosed dining area helped make it a more pleasant experience. I dined here for all three meals. Rooms: Standard rooms are small and dark. The most requested rooms, are supposed to be a little better but...... each electric socket only had one charge connection. I use lots of electronics and this made it difficult to connect my CPAP and cell phone next to bed. Including the TV plug, there were only 3 plugs. Bathroom, bedside and tv. (Not one near desk) room lighting was very poor with old lamps. De per ate need of updated lighting to eliminate the gloomy room feel. Rooms are NOT sound limited. It was loud in our room every night, from the wash room -sheets and towel area, to people outside the window, to the growling line at night. Location was not bad. Taxi stand close, Soriana within 8 blocks, convenient e store within a block. ATM within 5 blocks. Take time to cross the Avenue and walk in the park Chipultepec. The castle was an unbelievable visit and the park is specifically spectacular.
5 out of 5
by L D J from USA

Posted Oct 7, 2014 on Hotels
The hotel is charming and staff friendly and helpful. Th food is excellent. The hotel is on the edge of historic center, which is great because we could escape the clouds.street side, ground floor rooms get am traffic noise. The wifi reception in some rooms is NOT, but the reception area and sitting areas outside rooms get excellent reception. There is so much beauty in the surrounding areas! Since you can park here, and walk to center, it is a perfect location. I will recommend to friends.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Southern California

Staff is Excellent!

Posted Sep 29, 2014
Pros: The staff was above and beyond being great with their service.
Cons: Put single air conditioning and heating in each room.
Location: Great location - 20 minutes from everything. Beautiful park right across the street for walking, running, enjoying the day.
The area is great ... right across the street from a beautiful park, with a castle in it. The room itself, was beautiful, very clean. Everything was great except one thing - no air conditioning. I had to open the window to get any air in the room, then the noise kept me awake. Other than that, if you don't mind not having air conditioning - great place to stay. Also, plan on eating somewhere else - the restaurant was very expensive!
5 out of 5
by stacey from california

homeaway from home

Posted Sep 12, 2014 on Hotels
this hotel has a very friendly staff, clean rooms, great room service and a couple of caged lions in he court yard. the only complaint I have is the pillows. hard as rocks...but don't let that stop you. this hotel is centrally located. the surrounding neighborhood is safe. great place to stay!!
5 out of 5
by Rod Cummings from Portland, OR

Stay with the lions!

Posted Jul 17, 2014 on Hotels
I decided to stay at the Park Villa for two reasons. First, the price was incredible. Second, it was not a hotel chain. The purpose of my travel was to experience Mexico and the Hotel Park Villa gave me that experience and more. In addition to the very pleasant and accommodating staff, they actually have two lions in their courtyard area! It provided me the most up close and personal interaction with BIG CATS in my life. AWESOME! I will stay at the Park Villa Hotel on my next trip to Mexico City.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Phoenix

It is a good hotel close to ABC hospital

Posted Jul 6, 2014
Pros: It is a Colonial type
It is good experience you can expend you free time at National Park which is In front of the hotel.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great Place to Stay

Posted Jun 17, 2014 on Hotels
This place was great! Very clean, the staff were friendly, helpful, and the hotel is in a great location!