Ratings based on 266 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from toronto

Noisy neighbours

Posted Jan 8, 2018
The hotel is cute and a nice Art Deco vibe, very boutique. the room was very comfortable - small but a good value for your money and very close to the beach. I would have loved it more if our room was better sound proofed (I realize maybe not possible since it’s a refurbished original building) BUT it felt like the family next door was in our room - and they woke up at 4am fighting and didn’t stop until about 6am - I guess I should have reported it to front desk but I was too tired and hoped they would realize how rude they were being.... anyway wouldn’t book again based on this alone.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from tampa, florida

Posted Dec 26, 2017
Clean and good but staff are not wearing smile . We asked local informations , they're not willingly answered.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 30, 2017 by claudia , Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We a[preciate your feedback as we are always willing to improve in any way we can. Im sorry you felt tnot up that our staff was not up to par as we believe in offering the best service to our guests. Its upsetting that you felt this way and we will address this accordingly and make the proper correction. if you wish to offer further details on your stay do not hesitate to email the General Manager.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 25, 2017
The Cavalier has the greatest staff! It’s a blast from the past with a taste of modern design. John, Shay and Reneir simply made our staff great!
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 28, 2017 by claudia , Hotel Management
Thank you so much for the positive words used in describing your stay. We believe we have the best staff, always willing to assist and make your stay as memorable as possible. We appreciate you enjoyed our friendly staff and hotel and we hope to have the pleasure of you choosing us on your next visit back to South Beach
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bay Area, CA

Pleasant surprise!

Posted Dec 7, 2017
Pros: Much of it.
Cons: Alter the breakfast a little. It's either very European of some other. Cereal would go a long way.
Location: Close to everything. The beach is literally across the street.
Excellent location, nice room, pleasant staff... So many times in this part of town you don't get much for your money. The Cavalier turns that on it's head. Excellent value!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Austin, TX

Nice hotel close to the beach, shopping, dining

Posted Dec 1, 2017
Pros: Great location near everything we wanted to do. Staff was polite and efficient. Beautifully restored art deco hotel.
Cons: The AC ran continuously and was a bit noisy (we were on the top floor). The room was chilly.
Location: Great location on Ocean Dr. Walking distance to everything you want to do.
I decided to take my gf to Miami Beach for her birthday and ended up selecting this hotel based on reviews, location, price, and posted photos. We were pleased on all measures.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Calgary, AB

Watch out for Cockroaches

Posted Nov 30, 2017
Stayed here on November 10th and had the pleasure of removing a Large Cockroach from my bathroom immediately after my wife attempted to brush her teeth and take out contacts before bed. I was able to take a picture and show the front desk staff who agreed to refund 20% of our room bill through Expedia or offer us late checkout. We opted for the refund but all attempts to contact the hotel have been ignored. Expedia is attempting to solve the refund problem, but so far no refund. Just thought I'd warn any guests looking for a hotel in South Beach. Location was Great. Staff we talked to were great. Hotel built in 1936 so rooms super small but updated. Management needs a refresher on Customer Service.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 29, 2017
Excellent location. Great service & attention. Great bed. Definitely recommend
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Loved it!

Posted Nov 19, 2017
Amazing little hotel right on the beach in South beach - a gorgeous art deco building in the middle of all the action of Ocean drive. Great service and friendly staff. Would stay again in a heartbeat.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vero Beach

Location

Posted Nov 12, 2017
Location is great. Hotel needs some updating but it's not the worse place to stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 18, 2017 by claudia , Hotel Management
Hello and thank you for taking the time to write a review on your stay. We appreciate your feedback and would like to know a little bit in detail to what you are referring to when you mention we need to update. I would like to know, because we underwent a massive renovation and were closed for two years. Everything from the rooms, bathrooms, lobby, decor, etc was updated. Please contact us so that we can know if there is anything we can add in addition to what we already have done
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Washington DC metro area

Eclectic hotel in South Beach

Posted Oct 27, 2017
Pros: Style and interior of the hotel, nice decorations, and good breakfast buffet.
Cons: They need more space for people to sit for breakfast
Location: Across the street from a nice park and the beach, plenty of restaurants within walking distance.
Cavalier hotels approach is a little different, the room was very tastefully decorated, and the location is excellent for exploring South Beach.