Ratings based on 1,368 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
71% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Will stay again if it's package rates.

Posted Dec 6, 2017
Pros: See what experienced.
Cons: Same as above. Furniture in lobby need to be replaced! Asle to the reception/lobby need to be improved too.
Location: all kinds of restaurants available. Whole foods n Publix n other smaller grocery stores are walking distance. The best location to ride bus n taxi!
We purchased air and hotel package on Expedia and got a nice rates after all, so we agreed to pay about $33/day resort fee at Congress as stated on Expedia site. we were also charged one time $15 top on the resort fee which was not stated on Expedia. They ask you to hand in your credit card for $50 refundable security fee (it will not be charged if you don't break any). EXPEDIA- Please add these info., so we wont get trouble. This hotel, actually "suite" rooms with nice stainless steel full sz fridg, stove tops, dishes, utensils, iron board, nice closet n drawers must be very nice for weekly stay travelers. We needed only 3 nights before our cruise n meeting some friends, so we felt waisting $115 (coz we didn't need many of those, such as safe, phone, wifi, beach towels, stove...). Pros- Nice location in south beach, ocean view pool, friendly front desk, nice kitchen n bath (nice to have a deep tub too), clean tile floor-fridg-bathroom (-: weekly cleaning would be just enough for long stay people, but I won't pay resort fee each day! Cons- $33/day/2 people was too much for short stay with no bed making, no vacuuming, no towel change. 2' long cracked glass door to balcony, old carpet around beds, super heavy, short leg n large glass top coffee table by bed can be dangerous...The final bill was not ready to print out- receptionist was supposed to email me, but nothing was received...
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Close to the beach.. but that’s it

Posted Dec 6, 2017
The location is perfect, the room is pretty and spacious. However we were promised sea view and they had a art show with a tant that was covering the beach. I understand that it’s out of their control but they did nothing to accomodate us. The doors to the bathroom were unhooked so we couldn’t close them properly. We requested towels had to call back because they forgot to bring them. We also had to request a new safe , the one in the room was broken... again location is perfect but the service wasn’t too good. Dissapointed
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Mass

Never again!

Posted Dec 5, 2017
I would never stay in this hotel again, it was very disappointing! It was a big group of us, we had total of 4 rooms. Not one room was good, everything was dirty. The comforter of my bed was dirty, there was water leaking from the bathroom celling,the porch glass door was broken. To make it worse the service sucks!!! It would take like 5 hours to get clean towels, or even toilet paper we would have to wait till the next day. The curtains from the room was falling out, the room AC wasn’t working.....I can go on and on! Every time we need management, she/he was always busy and not available.The amount I paid and the resort fee is not worth for the quality of service and what they have to offer. It’s sad to see such a nice place go down hill, because it’s on a perfect location and got beautiful view.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Mass

Never again!

Posted Dec 4, 2017
I would never stay in this hotel again,it was very disappointing! It was a big group of us, we had total of 4 rooms. Not one room was good, everything was dirty. The comforter of my bed was dirty, there was water leaking from the bathroom celling,the porch glass door was broken. To make it worse the service sucks!!! It would take like 5 hours to get clean towels, or even toilet paper we would have to wait till the next day. The curtains from the room was falling out, the room AC wasn’t working.....I can go on and on! Every time we need management, she/he was always busy and not available.The amount I paid and the resort fee is not worth for the quality of service and what they have to offer. It’s sad to see such a nice place go down hill, because it’s on a perfect location and got beautiful view.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 2, 2017
Good location across the street from the beach. Not as nice as it used to be.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Atlanta, Georgia

Worst hotel on the beach ever

Posted Nov 30, 2017
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Everything!
This is the first hotel where I've been to where they will charge you for any kind of service that any other hotels do for free on a daily basis. Need toilet paper, sheets changed, new towels, room cleaned or anything of the likes? It's $15! They don't tell you this on the site, but it's on a stand on a table in your room. It also states that if you stay 5 night or more (which we did), then you are entitled to 1 complimentary day of service for toilet papers, sheets changed, room cleaned, and etc on your mid day stay. So on the 3rd day, I went up to ask if they could come clean the room and their response was they would have to check and see. And that they will schedule the day when they will do it for us. So I said okay. They didn't clean it so I went to the front desk and asked them about it again the next day. They gave me the same answer again. I stayed there for 5 nights and didn't get my room cleaned once! DO NOT GO HERE! The bathtub was also very nasty and had dirt stains around the sides which I had to clean myself! And I almost forgot about the sofa... It had a big hole in it and very uncomfortable. That thing belongs in the trash!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Houston

Great location. Poor standard of accommodation

Posted Nov 24, 2017
Hotel needs an overhaul. Very basic amenities and nothing is provided outside of cheap bathroom soap etc and coffee bags. Desperately needs cleaning. Remember you have to pay for room service. Location spot on but is right in the middle of the not so cool tourist part of Ocean Drive.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 22, 2017
The staff at the Congress were fantastic! Very responsive, professional, polite and courteous. However the facility needs some serious upgrades. The sliding door to my patio did not lock, the glass on the sliding door was cracked, lights in the room were too dim (especially for women) or not working at all, and there were no complimentary bottles of water or anything in the room upon arrival. To top it off, I felt like a nice cool cocktail after my long afternoon out only to be told that the rooftop bar was closed.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from chicago

yes. everything is close by

Posted Nov 14, 2017
Pros: close to beach
Cons: house keeper
Location: food beach and stores
Different restaurants that had Mexican, Indian, Caribbean food etc. I looked the Parade on Veteran Day going down Ocean View on November 11, 2017. I loved the beach right across the street from the hotel. I loved the whole trip.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

No clean room daily unless you pay $25 a day.noisy

Posted Nov 13, 2017
Very noisy from whatever work being done inside. No daily cleaning unless ounpay $25 daily. Promised 2 drinks free per day and didn’t even have a bar.