Ratings based on 2,271 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Washington DC

Great place but lack some beach amenities

Posted Aug 17, 2017
Pros: Location perfect right off the ocean drive so not over crowded and you have place to drive your car. Rooms are amazing, very clean, very big, good de
Cons: Need to have a laundry service and not recommend guests to go 4 blocks away and use a laundromat.
Location: Great location on south beach, very close to beach so you can just walk by by away from busy street such as ocean drive. tons to do around
Everything about Essex House is just great. Pros: Location perfect right off the ocean drive so not over crowded and you have place to drive your car. Rooms are amazing, very clean, very big, good decor. Accessories with the rooms were great. Cons: Complimentary breakfast isn't good at all. Poor food quality. Checkout time is not flexible No free parking, ballet parking is highly over priced Don't have a laundry service or even drier machines to dry wet beach clothes. Have seen these in lot if hotels around the sea/oceans/lakes through out the country. Would love to definitely stay again.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from new york

Not good at all

Posted Aug 17, 2017
It was bad terrible I would never recommend no way there
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Nice hotel close to beach.

Posted Jul 13, 2017
I enjoyed my stay and the amenities offered. This is a great place to stay if you are focused on going to the beach and enjoying the nightlife. Only complaint was that the housekeeping took my beach towel while organizing the room. I could not get my towel card without it and it ended up costing me a $15 fee.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Love it

Posted Jul 11, 2017
This hotel was great to us we loved our stay the staff was very accomadating and very nice
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Easton, Pa

Perfect Location!

Posted Jul 6, 2017
Pros: What I liked about this hotel was the location the cleanliness and the history behind the hotel itself.
Cons: I feel like the continental breakfast should have provided or hot choices such as waffles or pancakes.
Location: perfect location next to Ocean Drive and Collins Avenue and one block away from the actual South Beach.
The Essex House was a perfect location to both Ocean Drive and Collins Avenue. The hotel was quite yet chic and supply list nice quiet sleep any large king suite. As a bonus you had access to the Clevelander in the pool and Terrace roof deck access.
5 out of 5
by Andrey

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 10, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Jeffrey

Posted Apr 22, 2017 on Hotels
Left for a cruise one day early and booked a room at the Essex House. Had a great time and would definitely go back. The room was large and clean and right in the heart of South Beach.
4 out of 5
by David

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 18, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel.

Posted Apr 16, 2017
Pros: Very close to the beach, clean, friendly staff.
Cons: There was a big closet but a bureau would have been helpful for our clothes.
Location: One block from the beach and Ocean Drive.
The Essex House by Clevelander is a great hotel in Miami Beach. It's one block from the beach and Ocean Drive. The staff was very friendly and attentive. There was a big closet but a bureau would have been helpful for our clothes. We would definitely go back and also recommend this hotel to friends.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 21, 2017
Gotta great deal on this hotel.... - great location - access to clevelander facilities - rooms were good - comp breakfast and happy hour Will stay again