Ratings based on 4,971 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from chicago

We have a wedding there that why we chose it

Posted Feb 6, 2018
It is less than what I expected,I feel the room not clean enough and the towels look old and our room was a suit there is a kitchen so that kitchen didn’t put anything to clean dish and the coffee machine very old and u could not drink that coffee
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Miami

Iconic Hotel

Posted Feb 5, 2018
Pros: History of the Hotel.
Cons: Friendliness of staff , put a coffee maker in the room , car pick up far from check out counter
Location: Nice Restaurants , nice Bar in the Lobby area.
Staff not friendly at all , very cold , we did not feel welcome .
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NY, NY

Average hotel - Not worth $$

Posted Feb 5, 2018
The rooms are small and in need of upgrading. Toilet and sink not working well. Staff was ok and tried to be helpful but it’s not a service geared hotel like some of the major chains. With so many new hotels in Miami, I’d try something new next trip.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from new jersey

Best hotel in south beach!

Posted Feb 5, 2018
I love staying here. The hotel is beautiful. The staff is friendly. The rooms are huge with comfortable beds and beautiful balconies. The pool is great. The club and food in the hotel are amazing. Definitely recommended.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from new york

Posted Feb 3, 2018
Really loved this hotel. Best clubs , best resturants ! Didnt even have to leave. The spa waa great too!!!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Parry Sound, Ontario

Forced to accept a room that was not reserved.

Posted Feb 2, 2018
I arrived at the Fontainebleau to be told they would not be able to honour my reservation for a room with two queen beds. I was told the only room they had was a room with a king bed and pullout couch. The mattress in the pullout was terrible and there was no bedding provided. When I complained about paying for two good beds, they showed no sign of concern or care. They were happy to take our money for a room with two good beds. However, once we arrived and had nowhere else to go put us in whatever room they pleased, providing unacceptable and uncomfortable sleeping accommodations. Not a good experience.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very nice and nice time

Posted Jan 27, 2018
My son and I enjoyed a lot I’m going to come back when they offer me a good rate :) Grazie Maria
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York

Noisy, not a hotel, it's a disco!

Posted Jan 26, 2018
Pros: It's architecture.
Cons: The noise! Cleanliness of the rooms. The terrible pounding of the bass all day long from giant speakers.
Location: You can't walk anywhere, it's on a spot in Collins Avenue where there are only hotels, not even a place to buy anything.
They blast disco and rap music all day, you can hear it in your room, in the restaurants. There's no peace. There are giant speakers around the pool, you can't sit and read or enjoy the sun. Even on Saturday night they turned the main lobby into a disco for kids too young to get into the nightclub. This is not the elegant hotel I expected. The worst part was how filthy the room was, with a substance on the wall behind the bed that was beyond disgusting. It seems that many people have already complained about the noise, but being a disco is how they make their money. Coffee is $5.40. A burger is $28. A drink by the pool is $22. Never again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

a hotel for young people

Posted Jan 22, 2018
i did not like that the fact that tip was auto charged at the restaurant
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NWNJ/MI

Historic and Iconic Hotel in Miami

Posted Jan 22, 2018
Pros: The old, thick walls for quiet. The history and mix of people. The responsive staff.
Cons: I don't like to have to pack toiletries like shampoos, rinses and body lotions,so what a hotel provides is important.
Location: The beach and Oceanwalk are always the best part of the hotels on Collins in Miami. There's a Starbucks next door at the Eden Roc.
We've stayed in Miami many times in the past 20 years, at many styles of hotel. This was our first stay at The Fountainebleu. It was everything you'd expect a hotel of its class to be, with the benefit of the old thick walls to keep noise down, which was lovely. The events were ongoing with constant action in the lobby bar area, so was great for people-watching...from old to young, from rappers to old money, Americans and Europeans, South Americans, Asians....it was all happening, almost all the time.... good energy. The hotel has been a favorite of celebrities over the years, and they play this up, keeping relevant while nodding to history. I will say that I had an issue with the toiletries provided by the hotel, which were heavily perfumed and caused much irritation to my sensitive skin, eyes, etc. However, not only did they address this problem by tracking me down at the gym and hand-delivering spa products to get me through the last part of our trip, I got my requested conversation with the manager who actually admitted that changing products to account for these kinds of sensitivities may be a change they will make sooner than later. Oh, and they also have an unusual bird problem at the pool. Most beach hotels find ways to keep them out of the people areas with wires etc. Whatever strategies they're using here are not working. Nothing at this hotel is inexpensive, but it's only a few blocks to Walgreens, Starbucks, etc.