Ratings based on 4,475 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from israel, jerusalem

nice hotel, doesnt recognize expedia VIP+ members

Posted Dec 12, 2017
Cons: stronger water pressure in the shower. Improve VIP+ service.
The hotel was really nice, the tranquil pool was excellent. rooms were spacious and having two bathrooms was amazing! only shame was that there was not a very strong water pressure. also, if you are considering going here only because its listed as a VIP+ hotel on expedia...Don't expect the hotel to offer you anything. THEY WILL NOT. after an hour and a half on the phone with expedia, the hotel refused to offer anything after expedia called them to sort out the issue. the stay was still a very pleasurable one nonetheless.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 14, 2017 by Grand Beach Hotel Representative , Hotel Management
Dear Benjamin, thank you for your kind review. For us it is of great pleasure to learn that you have spent a joyful and satisfying experience, while our guest. We appreciate you commenting so positively of our nice hotel facilities, excellent tranquility pool, and spacious and comfortable guest room accommodations. While we apologize for failing to provide you with any extra amenities due to your Expedia membership status, we are glad to learn this did not prevent you from enjoying a great experience on property. Your feedback helps us look for new ways to enhance the guest experience we therefore would like to thank you again for your review of the hotel and for sharing your experience.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Maryland

Posted Dec 12, 2017
This hotel was beautiful and clean! The staff was amazing! Very pleased!
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 13, 2017 by Grand Beach Hotel Representative , Hotel Management
Dear Joel, thank you for posting a superb review of your recent stay at the Grand Beach Hotel. It is delightful to hear of your enthusiasm about different aspects of the hotel, such as our beautiful and clean hotel environment. We are further heartened that you enjoyed the friendly and helpful service we provide, as this is very important for us to pass on to the hard working teams at the Grand Beach Hotel. It certainly sounds like you enjoyed your stay, and we hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you on many more occasions to come.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Nice hotel with average customer service

Posted Dec 11, 2017
We stayed for the night in a partial ocean view room. Pros - Clean room and washrooms - Balcony - Great location - friendly parking attendants Cons - washroom flush wasn't working for us - bad front desk customer service; the guy was there at the desk but wouldn't answer our call (I went downstairs and asked my wife to call and he simply ignored it) - washroom tech came 25mins after I called for the washroom not working and he was rude - $44 for parking (ugh) Note that this place feels upscale and definitely caters to the non family crowd.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 14, 2017 by Grand Beach Hotel Representative , Hotel Management
Dear Zee, we would like to start off by thanking you for staying with us during your recent one-night stay on Miami Beach. It is pleasing for us to learn that you were positively impressed with your partial ocean view room, excellent level of cleanliness throughout the hotel, pleasant private room balcony and great beachfront hotel location. With this being said, we wish to apologize for the lack of response you have encountered, when dialing guest services from your room; our front desk agents, who you see at reception, are not directly responsible for answering these phone calls; we do have operators assigned to handle these calls and we will be sure to address your concern in this regard directly with them. In addition, we are sorry to learn of your disappointment with the valet parking fee, we charge onsite. Unfortunately, valet parking is a standard on Miami Beach due to the limitation in space. We hope you would be happy to learn that our property provides this service at one of the lowest rates in the area. In the end, we proud ourselves on being a hotel property, which caters successfully to both families travelling with children and couples on vacation; we are glad to offer both family-friendly hotel amenities, as well as facilities, such as our rooftop pool area, which caters towards adults above the age of 21. We are thankful for your review and hope to be able to welcome you back for a longer visit in the future, so we may have the chance to exceed your expectations. Thank you.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from MD

Gorgeous view

Posted Dec 11, 2017
Coming straight from a cruise ship at 0900 and thankfully, our room was ready early! Gorgeous view and great service. Poops are fantastic. We’ll be back!
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 14, 2017 by Grand Beach Hotel Representative , Hotel Management
Dear Rachel, we are pleased that you chose to join us at the Grand Beach Hotel following a cruise. It is indeed wonderful that we had your guest room ready and available for an early check-in of 9AM on your arrival date; we are certain this has set the perfect start to your vacation on property. It is delightful to read through your compliments of our guest rooms’ gorgeous views, our property’s fantastic pool areas and most importantly great staff service. We are pleased to learn of your intention to join us again next time you travel to the are and look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back on your return.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from miami, fl

Would not recommend

Posted Dec 5, 2017
Our door wouldn’t stay latched when we’d leave.They fixed it the day before we left.lies about hidden fees.can hear anything and everything from room
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 7, 2017 by Grand Beach Hotel Representative , Hotel Management
Dear Felisha, we want to thank you for your feedback. While we wish you had a better experience, it is feedback such as the one you have extended that we learn from and use to improve. We would like to take advantage of the opportunity to apologize for the issue with your door; we will certainly follow up with the engineering team onsite to determine what caused the delay of eliminating this problem. When it comes to the add-on fees onsite, please accept our apologies if you felt disappointed with their pricing. We can assure you that these are standard for the Miami area and as such have been priced compatibly with surrounding properties. In addition, we have listed information pertaining to these fees on our website and in the confirmation emails we sent out to guests, who have booked directly with us; however, we see that you reserved your stay through a third party website and would thus suggest you reach out to that source directly to inquire further about this matter. In the end, we really do hope that you will consider trying us again as we are very confident that we can provide you with the same experience and level of comfort that a majority of our guests are very willing to attest to.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York

Staff all around is not professional.

Posted Dec 4, 2017
Pros: Room was clean.
Cons: Staff needs improvement . Training on courtesy and hospitality. Not one did anyone say good morning, good afternoon. The atmosphere is not welcoming.
Hotel is nice. The issue is the staff Concierge desk was mostly empty at times. The one time we did see him there was a long line and it was held up by customers complaining .The manager Hernan was brought out 2x . When you go to the front desk and ask for recommedations no one knows anything. We went to the restaurant and the server at ther restaurant actually sat us down and ask what do you want to eat? That is how we were greeted! food was ok not the best. She never came back for a 2nd drink after waiting 35 minutes for our food which was breakfast. We also had to go in and get our bill after 45 minutes. The water in the pool is so hot! its like dipping into a hot bath. The drinks at the bar are also pricey. The Valet is $42.00 a day plus taxes and all other charges so you looking at $45 to $46 a day. There is also a $25.00 resort fee. Non of this makes difference if you had good Hospitality. with Good food, drinks and service. THIS IS NOT THE PLACE. The night before leaving I asked for a late check out and the gentleman the night before said yes no problem. Key did not work at noon when to the front desk they knew nothing about the late check out. She informed me we had to check out. I asked her to give me at least a half hour for 3 of us to change since we were all at the beach and wanted to change. We asked for the Manager Hernan came out said ok he gave us until 1pm or it was $169.00 extra I stay in Miami a few times a year very dissapointed.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 8, 2017 by Grand Beach Hotel Representative , Hotel Management
Dear Michelle, we would like to thank you for your feedback. While we truly wish you had a better experience, it is feedback such as the one you have extended in your review that we learn from and use to improve. We have been honored to receive many comments from guests about the friendliness and genuine warmth of every member of our team and we are sorry to note you did not have this same impression during your recent stay. We like our guests to feel they have value for money and don’t like the idea of our visitors leaving dissatisfied with something they have paid for. Thus, please rest assured that your comments will be reviewed by the according management teams onsite and corrective actions will be taken, where necessary. Furthermore, please accept our apologies if you felt disappointed with the pricing of add-on services at the hotel. We can assure you that these are standard for the Miami area and as such have been priced compatibly with surrounding properties. We value your constructive feedback and really do hope that you will consider trying us again as we are very confident that we can provide you with the same experience and level of comfort that a majority of our guests are very willing to attest to.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Nice on the outside

Posted Nov 29, 2017
Pros: Lobby, pool and beach were amazing!!!
Cons: Update furniture in rooms. Or, at least the ones that look pretty rough.
Location: Awesome location!! Not far from South Beach
Booked this hotel based on the pictures from their website. I was disappointed right from check-in. Sophie, the front desk attendent thought that enforcing hotel policies were more important than giving even decent customer service. I booked the hotel through Expedia not knowing I was doing so while under my wife's profile page.I was alone and when I checked in the reservation was hence under her name.OMG the hard time she gave me.She actually said that I couldn't check in even though I pre paid the room with my credit card. Her attidude didn't stop there...Upon check out I requested to be allowed a later check in tim to which I was more than happy to pay a reasonable fee.Even though the room was not needed she said it was strict accounting procedure to charge $116.00 for a couple hours extra. I told her that I didn't complain when I saw my room with dirty and stained furniture, mold in the bathtub and ink stained bed sheets. I figured the least she could do was to allow a couple extra hours to make up for that.Wrong!!! Sophie (or Sophia) didn't even attempt to ask her manager my request. Companies spend millions on advertising their properties what this hotel should do is to spend money on training their staff to give world class service. Instead they bought negative advertising for a mere $116.00. Sad
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 1, 2017 by Grand Beach Hotel Representative , Hotel Management
Dear Simon, we would like to thank you for not only choosing to stay with us, but also for your precious time giving your feedback. Please allow us to deeply apologize for the troubles you encountered during your stay with us. While we do require that your name is listed on the reservation in our system, in order for us to be able to process your check-in, it is unfortunate to learn that our front desk agent approached this standard matter in a way, which was translated as unfriendly. We are furthermore sorry to learn of the shortcomings you have noticed in your room accommodation; we truly wish you had alerted our onsite team about these prior to your departure, as this would have allowed us to address the matter by accommodating a room move or suggesting a solution of some sort to allow you to better enjoy the rest of your stay on property. We strive to create a comfortable atmosphere with a strong attention to detail and follow up, and to hear that this was not the case during your arrival and departure is extremely disappointing. We would like to thank you for bringing these flaws to our attention, as it is only through such constructive feedback that we are able to continually improve the service that we offer our guests. We hope that we can have the opportunity to show you what our property is known for, should your travels bring you back to the Miami area.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from miami

Great hotel horrible staff! Dont go!

Posted Nov 29, 2017
Well first of all they dont tell you but they dont have parking and theres only valet parking for 40 $ extra ... well, thats fine anyways they should put it on their info, second the staff daniel and laura were so rude and mean, it wasnt only with us, but a lot of people were complaining. If you get early there they will tell you if you want an early check in there is 40$ extra charge LOL , the one in surfside is way better, they are so nice, and is the same price! , it said that they were going to give us 2 welcome drinks and they forgot to give us the voucher, and the air of the room wasnt working! So hot!
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 1, 2017 by Grand Beach Hotel Representative , Hotel Management
Dear Mike, we appreciate you staying with us and sharing your valued feedback on the Expedia website. We wish to start off by noting that valet parking is a standard on Miami Beach and as such it has been priced compatibly with surrounding properties. In addition, we find it important to mention that information about our valet parking service is listed on our hotel website for guest reference. Furthermore, while we only offer valet parking on hotel premises, the use of this service at the hotel is not mandatory, as they are other parking alternatives available in the area. When it comes to a guest's request for an early check-in, we do accommodate such requests based on room availability at the time of your arrival to the hotel. If you arrive at the hotel any time prior to the guaranteed check-in time of 4pm and your suite is available, our front desk will be able to assist with your check in. If you would like to guarantee an early check-in, you can only do so by purchasing an additional night (the night before arrival). At that point, the suite will be held for you from the previous night. With this being said, we do wish to apologize, if any of our front desk agents appeared to be unfriendly, when conveying this standard hotel policy to your attention. We truly hope that you will find this information to be helpful and that you would be willing to consider our establishment as your accommodation again next time you travel to the area.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 29, 2017
We had a great time at the hotel, the food and drinks were fantastic. Would definitely return!
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 30, 2017 by Grand Beach Hotel Representative , Hotel Management
Dear Valued guest, it means so much to us that you enjoyed your stay with us at the Grand Beach Hotel. We always strive to go the extra mile to exceed every guest's expectations. Your satisfying experience is, thus, one that we hope all our guests receive when visiting us. We appreciate your loyalty and look forward to your next stay at the Grand Beach Hotel
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from new york

Service charge for everything

Posted Nov 28, 2017
Very nice and quiet hotel on the beach for the family. But you get charged for everything,even going to a counter and buying a soda,you have to pay for a service fee.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 29, 2017 by Grand Beach Hotel Representative , Hotel Management
Dear Gill, we appreciate you choosing to stay with us at the Grand Beach Hotel during your recent family vacation to Miami. While we are pleased to hear that you found the hotel to be very nice and quiet, we were sorry to learn of your disappointment with the included gratuity; however, guests from many foreign countries visit our property and they are not necessarily accustomed to and aware of the gratuity standards in the US. We hope this has not managed to take away from your otherwise pleasant experience and that you will choose to stay with us again next time you travel to the area.