Ratings based on 4,247 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Seattle, Wa

Amazing

Posted Jul 25, 2017
Pros: The pools were clean and comfortable. The beach side made it easy to go relax on the water without having to find transportation.
Cons: All was up to par
Location: They have good shops in the near vicinity and amazing restaurants are just a short drive away.
The Suite was absolutely breath taking! The view of the ocean was everything I wanted and more for my stay. I had enough room with some to spare and the staff was super friendly. Getting our room was as simple as checking out which was a bit to early for us but the concierge desk held our bags for hours until we had to head to the airport. They allowed us to use the the hotel pool, beach side and lobby to relax while we waited. I love everything about this place from the clean and beautiful lobby and bar to the amazing view at the pool. The beach is less than a minute walk from the pools and high end restaurants are close by.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 26, 2017 by Grand Beach Hotel Representative , Hotel Management
Dear Valued guest, we would like to thank you for not only choosing to stay with us at Grand Beach Hotel, but also for your precious time giving your feedback. We are delighted to read that you found the amenities and comforts offered onsite to be excellent, the rooms to be comfortable and well-appointed and that you felt we supplied everything that is expected from a hotel of our class. We are further heartened that you enjoyed the friendly and helpful service we provide, as this is very important for us to pass on to the hard working teams at the Grand Beach Hotel. It certainly sounds like you enjoyed your stay, and we hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you on many more occasions to come.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Customer Satisfaction Linked to Details

Posted Jul 19, 2017
Pros: Room views were spectacular. Suite was well appointed with two bathrooms and two distinct living spaces. Hallways and common areas were very nice.
Cons: Travel partners should be made aware of construction so that travelers can make informed choices. Staff should be able to offer ugrades in real time.
Location: Quick Uber/ Lyft down to South Beach offers all that SB has. Short walk over 41st Street Bridge has Walgreen's and Latin Cafe - gems.
Stay from July 9- July 14, 2017 - Romantic Getaway Please note I booked this trip in June two days after cancelling a trip to Dubai due to Qatar airlines flight restrictions to the United Emirates. I chose this hotel because it was located in the USA and because there was an adult only rooftop pool and I am familiar enough with Miami Beach to get around town. Upon check-in we were told that one of the ground floor pools was under construction and as a result the adult only pool would be open to all hotel guests including children. I told the gentleman checking us in that one of the main reasons I chose this hotel was in order to enjoy the adult only pool. He apologized and made no offer to upgrade room to balcony room. After three days of kids in this pool from 8AM to 12PM Midnight I contacted the front desk and asked for an upgrade for the remainder of my stay.I was told that an upgrade would be available at a minimal cost. I asked if the upgrade could be complimentary and I was told that it could not be now for me this is a matter of principle - you have a guest that told you at check-in this was an issue. The same guest is now complaining about the situation and no solution or sense of responsibility is offered. I sent a couple of tweets and received some generic response about coming back at a later time so that they could exceed my expectation - an upgrade would have corrected this inconvenience and produced a more satisfied customer. Last day pool trashed.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 21, 2017 by Grand Beach Hotel Representative , Hotel Management
Dear Valued guest, we appreciate you taking the time to review this recent experience with us. Thank you for sharing both your good and not so good impressions from our property. We are pleased to learn of your satisfaction with our well-appointed and -laid out room accommodations, the spectacular views they have to offer, in addition to the hotel’s convenient beachfront location and it easy accessibility to different points of interest in the Miami area. With this being said, we wish to take advantage of the opportunity to apologize, if you were inconvenienced by the temporary renovation works taking place during your visit to property. We understand that the 7th floor adults only pool area was an important factor for your decision of where to stay and apologize, if you were disappointed due to the temporary change in policy at this hotel area as a result of the renovation works taking place at the first level pool onsite. At this point, the poolside renovation works have ended and all pool areas onsite are open and available to hotel guests; the 7th floor pool is also back to its standard policy of being adults only. In the end, we are grateful for your honest feedback and are terribly sorry we could not more fully fulfill your request for a complimentary room upgrade. It is our hope that you would be willing to give us another chance in the future, as we would welcome the opportunity to deliver the satisfying experience you expect and deserve as our guest. Thank you
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from ny

Posted Jul 18, 2017
Very accommodating staff and friendly. Would highly recommend
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 23, 2017 by Grand Beach Hotel Representative , Hotel Management
Dear Valued guest, thank you for posting a superb review of your stay at the Grand Beach Hotel. We are thrilled to hear that your onsite experience was everything you had hoped for. What means the most to us is knowing that you felt well cared for by our team of service professionals who helped create an outstanding experience during your time with us. We're honored that you chose to stay with us during your vacation and we hope to host you in the future for more great memories.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Mississippi

Very nice close to the beach

Posted Jul 15, 2017
First time in Miami and the hotel was amazing it was close to the beach and the hotel staff was helpful and very polite. The only negative was the sofa bed smelled like urine but we we told one of the house keepers and she took care of it and i didnt like the $100 per day hold on my credit card. We stayed 3 nights so that was $300 held!! Overall I would definitely stay there again and recommend it to EVERYONE heading to Miami Beach!!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 17, 2017 by Grand Beach Hotel Representative , Hotel Management
Dear Valued guest, it has been a pleasure to serve you during your time with us at the Grand Beach Hotel. We are pleased to read that you truly enjoyed your onsite experience and consider our location to be very convenient with its direct beach access from hotel premises. We are further heartened that you enjoyed the friendly and attentive service we provide to our guests, as this is very important for us to pass on to the hard working teams at the Grand Beach Hotel. We are excited to mention your fabulous comment and kind recommendation of our property with the entire team and are very much looking forward to having you with us again in the future.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 14, 2017
My family love it and would recommend it to everyone
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 17, 2017 by Grand Beach Hotel Representative , Hotel Management
Dear Valued guest, thank you for posting a superb review of your stay at the Grand Beach Hotel. We are pleased that we could make your time with us as relaxing as possible and we could offer the comfort you deserve in all aspects of your recent visit. Your recommendation of the Grand Beach Hotel to other travelers, who are looking to visit the area, means a lot to us, and we hope to welcome you and your family back in the future.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Don't even bother

Posted Jul 13, 2017
We arrived and checked in to be told that the pool was under construction and that level 7 was open to everyone so there was no adults only area. We tried speaking to the manager Edgar about it to ask why we are paying resort fees if the pool is under construction. He told us there was nothing he could do and that we could check out and find somewhere else. He was the rudest person I have ever come across and the hotel should be ashamed to call him a manager. He was disgusting. This hotel is false advertising at its best. Even if the pool was operational it looks nothing like the pictures. The resort only has valet parking at $49 a night and is miles away from anywhere. So we did what he suggested. Received a refund and checked ourselves out and into the Fontainebleau. What a difference it was like we had stopped off at hell before arriving at heaven
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 17, 2017 by Grand Beach Hotel Representative , Hotel Management
Dear Kim & Steve, thank you for reviewing your stay with us. We apologize for any inconvenience you might have experienced during your short visit to our property. We appreciate your feedback, as it helps us look for new ways to enhance the guest experience and services. We are happy to advise you that at this time, the majority of the renovation works onsite are already done and currently all of the pool areas on premises are opened and updated. The 7th floor tranquility pool is back to being adults only as well. On another note, we are sorry to read of your disappointment with our valet parking service fee. Unfortunately, valet parking is a standard on Miami Beach due to the limitation in space. We hope you would be happy to learn that our property provides this service at one of the lowest rates in the area. With this being said, we really do hope that you will consider trying us again as we are very confident that we can provide you with the same experience and level of comfort that a majority of our guests are very willing to attest to.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Washington, D.C.

Beautiful Hotel well worth a visit

Posted Jul 13, 2017
Pros: Beautiful views, nice pools and whirlpools, great beach, great service on the beach - chairs, umbrellas, towels - great beach employees, maid service.
Cons: Some of the front desk staff should step up their game a bit. Too many (unsupervised by parents) kids screaming, jumping, diving in pools.
Location: Very nice location - free trolley up and down Collins Avenue. Sea and Bay views, not noisy. Inexpensive to get around with Trolley or Uber.
We love the location, close to everything but away from the noise. After being up from 3AM in the morning to make an early flight we arrived in Miami and headed to the hotel around 2pm. Check in is at 4pm. When we got to the hotel I went to the front desk. I gave my name and said "We requested an early check-in. Could you please tell me what the status of the room is?" The agent ignored my question and went on to run her mouth and tell me that nothing is guaranteed or promised. I was extremely annoyed at the rude and uncalled for unprofessionalism. I went to go leave my bags and a moment later she called me over to tell me the room was ready. We went up to our room and it was just as described online. We had booked the Bay View King Suite. Very nice, very clean with two bathrooms and a balcony.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 17, 2017 by Grand Beach Hotel Representative , Hotel Management
Dear Sophia, we appreciate your review of the Grand Beach Hotel. We are pleased to read you have spent a joyful vacation on property and have been satisfied with most aspects of your stay, such as the beautiful views, nice pool areas, great beach, overall good staff service attitude, nice and convenient beachfront hotel location and clean King Bay View Suite. You may rest assured that our front desk team will be looking into the constructive feedback you have extended in your review, so we may further improve our product and services. Now that you have experienced and enjoyed what Grand Beach Hotel has to offer, we hope you would choose us again on your return to Miami Beach.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Houston Tx

Decent hotel

Posted Jul 11, 2017
Our experience was decent. The main issue we had is that it says on the website that there is an adult-only tranquility pool on the 7th floor etc... well due to the major construction that was going on at the hotel they had to close one of the 3 pools down so there were several kids at the 7th floor pool, at the supposedly adult pool. I totally understood why they opened the pool up to the kids also, but there was still one other pool that was a family pool. By opening up the adult-only pool to kids eliminated the pool for adults only therefore there was no adult-only pool when we stayed there, which is one of the reasons we picked that hotel in the first place. Our whole argument was we could have picked a different Hotel had we known but they still advertise it as if they have an adult-only pool on the 7th floor when they really don't at the time. That's all we were trying to explain to the lady at the front desk is that it's false advertisement but she argued with us that it wasn't... the more she talked the more ignorant she seem to be so I walked away. In the future I just say do a better job at informing people of what's going on. Also every morning we were awakened by the loudness of the construction going on around us... total inconvenience. I feel that customers should have been made aware of this before they booked.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 13, 2017 by Grand Beach Hotel Representative , Hotel Management
Dear Tab, we appreciate you taking the time to write a review following your most recent stay with us. We are terribly sorry to learn of the disappointment you were caused as a result of the 7th floor pool area being temporarily open to both adults and children, while the renovation works last at the first level pool area. We do understand that this was an important part of your decision making of where to stay and wish to assure you that this change in policy is only temporary and expected to last until the renovation at the first level pool is over, which is currently scheduled to end in the next week. With this being said, it is very much our hope that you would be willing to give us another chance in the future, when we would love for your to not only experience the newly updated hotel grounds, but the 7th floor adults only tranquility pool as well. Thank you and please accept our apologies for any inconvenience you may have been caused in the duration of your recent visit.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York

Mediocre Hotel with beautiful ocean view

Posted Jul 11, 2017
Pros: Ocean view
Had an ocean front room, the view of the beach is spectacular. However, everything else in the hotel is mediocre. There was construction in the hotel during my stay which was disturbing to us with the noise generated from it. Also, more than half of the pool area at grade level was off limits due to the construction. I wish if they announced that prior to my reservations. I was offered no apologies for that inconvenience from the hotel I find the espresso bar is little expensive, it is more expensive than the one at nearby Fountain Blue Hotel (more luxury hotel).Suggested gratuity is added to your order automatically even though there are no waiting service, standing in line to make an order. Coffee with ham and cheese sandwich cost about $20
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 13, 2017 by Grand Beach Hotel Representative , Hotel Management
Dear Valued guest, thank you for choosing to stay with us and for taking the time to share both your good and not so good impressions from our property. While we are glad to learn of your satisfaction with the king oceanfront room and the beautiful beach views it has to offer, it has been to our regret to hear that you were let down in other aspects of your recent stay. It is truly unfortunate that you were dissatisfied with the included gratuity on food & beverage checks throughout the hotel. We will be sure to bring your concern to the attention of our Food & Beverage management team and meanwhile, wish to take the opportunity to advise you that hotel guests have the right to remove the tip or increase it at their own desire. We, furthermore, appreciate you sharing your disappointment with the renovation works currently taking place at one out of the three pools available at the hotel. We hope you would be happy to learn that these are only temporary and are expected to end poolside in the next week; meanwhile the beach area, the second first level pool, as well as the 7th floor pool are open and available to hotel guests; we are even allowing both adults and children at the 7th floor pool for the duration of the renovation. Thank you dearly for your review and we will look forward to welcoming you back, once the renovation works are over, so you can experience the newly updated hotel grounds and so we may have the chance to exceed your expectations in the hotel areas, where we left something to be desired during this recent stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Renovation

Posted Jul 10, 2017
It's very nice hotel, however I wish we were told before booking that pool renovation is going on. Big plus, there was one extra pool on the seventh floor.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 12, 2017 by Grand Beach Hotel Representative , Hotel Management
Dear Valued guest, thank you for your review and valued feedback. We appreciate you sharing your disappointment with the renovation works currently taking place at one out of the three pools available at the hotel. We hope you would be happy to learn that these are only temporary and that as you have mentioned the beach area, the second first level pool, as well as the 7th floor pool are open and available to hotel guests; we are even allowing both adults and children at the 7th floor pool for the duration of the renovation. Thank you dearly for your review and we will look forward to welcoming you back, once the renovation works are over, so you can experience the newly updated hotel grounds.