Ratings based on 1,074 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
75% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel cant beat location

Posted Dec 11, 2017
This is a great hotel right across the street from the miami sign ive stayed here 3 times great place free breakfast is something that needs to be worked on it was horrible but who cares great hotel
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from WPB, FL

Art Deco hotel with today's charm.

Posted Dec 5, 2017
Pros: Great atmosphere, restaurant and exciting entertainment al fresco next to the hotel!
Cons: Minor repairs in the bathroom.
Location: Located within easy walking to day activities, museums, and night life.
Had a great stay for 4 days with all activities and attractions right in the area, beach is across the street with beach accessories provided by the hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Trinidad and Tobago

Nice hotel close to the beach.

Posted Nov 27, 2017
Breakwater is always an excellent choice. Great, convenient location with friendly helpful staff.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Perfectly located on the Ocean Drive strip!

Posted Oct 10, 2017
Great stay and proximity to restaurants, clubs, shopping, and the beach!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from SW Florida

Nice Hotel across from park

Posted Oct 2, 2017
Pros: The will keep your luggage prior to check in if your room is not ready yet so you can go to the bar or the beach and not have to drag it along!
Cons: The staff works so hard and do such a great job - I'm sure they don't get paid enough! Just sayin....
Location: Beach, clubs, restaurants, foodies, people watching is the BEST!
The Breakwater staff was very friendly and accommodating. They have valet parking which in South Beach is a huge plus! The hotel had a small pool on the second floor that was different and a nice change from the norm. Being located across from Lummus Park is a MUST for my husband and myself when we stay in SB; this hotel was able to meet that requirement, and the room we stayed in on the third floor overlooked the park so that was a huge bonus! The room was clean and comfortable and the only real complaint would be the drink (alcoholic) prices; however, that is everywhere nowadays in SB. Overall, a great stay and I would say that the Breakwater would definitely rival the Avalon or the Beacon which are our usual MUST stay locations.
5 out of 5
by jason

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 1, 2017 on Hotels
1 out of 5
by Lashaun

Broken down Hotel Breakwater South Beach Miami

Posted Aug 26, 2017 on Hotels
Had to ask 3 times for room to be cleaned, when it was finally cleaned 5pm, there were no towels, called several times, finally got towels after 11:52pm, the phone in room didn't work Freddie was friendly & provided great service upon arrival, I will never stay here or recommend Hotel Breakwater, and the $100. Deposit is for what? Nothing in the room is operable
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 18, 2017
Thank you for your recent feedback. We will direct these issues to the manager in charge of the department. We apologize for any inconvenience.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from san francisco

Penthouse upgrade

Posted Aug 24, 2017
I called a few days before my arrival date to advise the staff it was my birthday and to please ensure I had a nice room. I selected an above standard room during my online reservation. When my husband and I arrived we were pleasantly surprised to find we were given a penthouse! Score! It was a lovely room. The rooftop outside lounge area however.. left a bit to be desired.. The what would have been a fun and a good time jacuzzi was out of order and old milkshake cups from I assume the previous guests were left outside. We did not have the best view but it was not a deal breaker. If I had to stay here again, I certainly would. The free bike access was a nice touch. We rode 6 miles round trip on the best bike path directly across the street from the hotel. The staff were super friendly and polite.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from kansas city

Long walk to room.

Posted Aug 22, 2017
Evidentially there have two areas. Ours was ocean front but we had to walk with luggage out the side door down stairs over a dance floor in front of the band thr another bar thru an ice cream stir then up the elevator. Carpet in the halls were stained terrisbly. Staying at the Tides again next time. Oh when you get there they will charge an additional 23$ for the band pool and amenities. Breakfast was minimal. No fruit.
5 out of 5
by Lynn C Perez

Perfect location on South Beach for fun

Posted Aug 11, 2017 on Hotels
Hotel offers it all! Great location, views, music and food. Free bike rentals and beach towels was a bonus.