Ratings based on 669 Verified Reviews

3.4 out of 5
74% of guests recommend
3.4 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
2.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not the place I expected. Expedia lied to me.

Posted Jun 29, 2017
Expedia lied to me when I made this reservation ON THE PHONE WITH ONE OF YOUR AGENTS. I asked for reservation at Delano Hotel. He told me that Island House South Beach and Delano were one and the same place. Very first time I've used Expedia. Gues what I'll do the next time I travel and make reservations!
5 out of 5
by sir

Posted Apr 11, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
May 22, 2017
Thank you for your great rating. We look forward to see you again on your next visit to South Beach. Richard
1 out of 5
by Nathan

I didn't enjoy my stay

Posted Apr 2, 2017 on Hotels
Never again! Dirty! Terrible feel! Raggedy
Comment from Hotel Management
May 6, 2017
ALTHOUGH WE TRY TO PLEASE EVERYONE IT IS SOMETIMES NOT POSSIBLE WHAT ROOM WERE YOU IN? DID YOU ADDRESS ANY CONCERNS TO THE DESK STAFF?
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 31, 2017 on Hotels
Room smell molding. Hardwood floor is sticky in all the room.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 22, 2017
Sorry to hear that you were not pleased. Would you contact us in and let us know what room you were in so that I can make sure issue is resolved. Had you told us while you were in house we would have addressed it immediately. Richard
3 out of 5
by Andrew

Sugar Shack!

Posted Mar 13, 2017 on Hotels
Our room on the first floor was plain but large, as was the bathroom. Shower was okay, rather elderly. The air conditioner was old and very noisy, so we only ran it when we were out of the room. The staff were fine and rather entertaining, as well as helpful. They let us check out at noon instead of 11 am, so we could walk down to the beach for a visit. The breakfast, although plentiful in choices, revolves around sugar. Prepackaged Danish, pop-tarts, sugar cereals, everything was sweetened to the max. Not going to get any All-Bran here.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 13, 2017 on Hotels
Rooms were clean, hotel is visibly very old, carpet in hallway needs a change. Staff was extremely friendly and sufficient. littlebreakfast room was cute. Alley view not my fave, heard homeless people all night. Location was great. walking distance was sweet and short. Overall pleasant experience.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 6, 2017
GLAD YOU ENJOYED OUR STAFF AND YOUR STAY THE CITY AND POLICE WILL NOT DO ANYTHING ABOUT THE HOMELESS THIS SITUATION EXISTS ALL THROUGH SOUTH BEACH COME BACK SOON RICHARD
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 13, 2017 on Hotels
Hotel manager and workers were very sufficient and friendly. View to alley was not so pleasant. Overall stay was pleasant.
5 out of 5
by Antonio

Spring Break 2K17

Posted Mar 12, 2017 on Hotels
When for spring break anothe hotel messed up my reservations but island help Ken out and the price was good thanks
Comment from Hotel Management
May 6, 2017
HELLO ANTONIO WERE GLAD THAT YOU ENJOYED YOUR STAY AT THE ISLAND HOUSE COME BACK AND SEE US NET SPRING BREAK RICHARD
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 22, 2017
Staff not rude, but don't care what happened. The condition is ok. You got what you paid for. Fair choice for low budget traveller
5 out of 5
by SYLVIA L FLORES

Convenient !! Affordable

Posted Feb 15, 2017 on Hotels
That night I stayed everything was quiet