Ratings based on 871 Verified Reviews

2.8 out of 5
54% of guests recommend
3.0 Room cleanliness
3.1 Service & staff
2.7 Room comfort
2.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Maryland

Close to beach & night life.

Posted Nov 14, 2017
The pictures, the location, everything was promising. The reality, however, was a bit less. The Room was OK. Decently appointed with 2 beds and ocean front. Right outside the front windows, however, was a very noisy main drag. This is fine if you're looking for nightlife. If you like to sleep, however, you may want to find a quieter place. The beach is very convenient. We did enjoy being able to go to it readily. The description promised in Room Starbucks Coffee. This was not so. We got some generic blend and only when we arrived. After that, the coffee cups weren't even washed and the coffee wasn't replenished. The breakfast that comes with the room is okay...eggs, pork bacon or sausage, home fries, and toast with juice or coffee. You must wait until 8:30a to eat and you must stand in line each morning to get your breakfast vouchers... time consuming if you get to the tiny front desk area and there is a line waiting. Overall, it's an ok place but I probably wouldn't return unless systems were improved. Having said all of this, I met a couple who were displaced into this hotel due to the recent hurricane. They love it! Maybe I'm just not a boutique hotel, South Beach sort of person. :)
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 16, 2017 by Hotel Manager, Hotel Management
Thanks for sharing your feedback from your stay on Expedia. We are sorry to read your comments regarding your stay and apologize for not meeting your expectations. Our records indicate that your reservations were made by Expedia. Expedia is a third party booking agency. I will reach out to our Market Manager regarding your concerns about the in-room coffee. We have never carried Starbucks Coffee at our property and this appears to be a website related issue with Expedia. I will follow-up with our Housekeeping Supervisor regarding your room service issues. Rooms are serviced daily from 10am-4pm. Our records indicate that your room was serviced during your stay. Additional amenity items and towels are available by calling our front desk. From your photos it was noticed that you had a coffee cup/saucer that belongs to the restaurant, On Ocean 7, whom is independently owned/operated. Best regards from The Majestic Hotel South Beach.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from PR

Close to everything

Posted Nov 13, 2017
Nice hotel, it wasn’t a 5 star but for 2 nights it was great. Closed to everything, have a shoppings close by and the beach right across the street
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 13, 2017 by Hotel Manager, Hotel Management
Thanks for your feedback. We are happy to see that you enjoyed your stay and our South Beach location has to offer. We hope you will be visiting again, we are looking forward to your return. Best wishes from The Majestic Hotel South Beach.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Longueuil, Québec

Fine for one night

Posted Nov 7, 2017
We had a superior queen bed room. The bed was clean, but hard. It was ok for 1 night. The bathroom was cramped, very tight. It was noisy in the hall at times. Overall, it was ok but we will not be going back, it was not worth the price.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 9, 2017 by Hotel Manager, Hotel Management
Thanks for sharing your feedback from your stay. We were sorry to read that you would not be returning and apologize for not meeting your expectations. We use the term "Superior Room" and not "Standard" because our guest rooms are "Superior" to our competing hotels and are priced much BETTER! Our records indicate that on the night you stayed, our price was by far, the best deal for similar accommodations. Our Art Deco Hotel rooms are cozy and the room you were in is one of our bigger Queen Rooms. Best regards from The Majestic Hotel South Beach.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Atlanta

Bad Service

Posted Oct 27, 2017
Pros: The Location
Cons: Everything
Location: Very good location
I had a very bad experience concerning the Restaurant in the Hotel. While you all state that you are not affiliated with them I still have to report the incident of very bad customer service. While waiting almost an hour to have my valet to bring my car around. One of the restaurant staff told me that I can not sit at their table and wait for my vehicle. I understand if it were crowded but they had barely opened and no one was waiting. I felt that was very disrespectful and rude. The next day upon checking out. I waited almost an hour and a half to get my car from Valet. Also my car had an additional 30 miles on it since my previous day driving it. While waiting on the car I had breakfast. My breakfast was finished and while I was waiting on the car again. The same woman asked me if I had planned on sitting there much longer. I had just completed my breakfast. After this second incident I decided that a gratuity should not be rewarded. I stated that i would not pay the gratuity of $3.68 cents for bad service. They took it as me saying that I would not pay the tab. The police were called and still my car had not arrived from Valet. After speaking with the police I knew that I did not have to pay a gratuity so I paid my bill while still waiting on my car to arrive. 1.5 hours for the valet
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 29, 2017 by Hotel Manager, Hotel Management
Thanks for sharing your feedback with us. The Majestic Hotel is proud to provide excellent service and an excellent location in South Beach! We were taken aback by your rating of the hotel based upon services offered by two separate companies neither owned, nor operated by the Majestic Hotel. In order to provide some of the amenities we offer, we sometimes have third parties provide their services. These companies do have management teams and a supervisory level member will come to assist guests with any service issues. As the restaurant "On Ocean 7" is not owned/operated by the hotel, and as you had indicated to our Front Desk Staff that you attempted (unsuccessfully) to speak with their Shift Manager,I will certainly share your concerns with their owner. Our records indicate that you came to the front desk to address and issue with the restaurant at departure and did not raise any issues regarding valet. As the valet service is provided by Associate Parking, I will certainly discuss your concerns with them as well. We apologize on both of their their behalf for any inconvenience. Please reconsider posting your review of The Majestic and post reviews accordingly for each business directly as these companies are separate businesses not owned or operated by the Majestic Hotel. Best regards from The Majestic Hotel South Beach.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 21, 2017
Mid leading advertising, all rooms are standard room. We paid for a superior room and was told there are no superior.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 23, 2017 by Hotel Manager, Hotel Management
Thanks for sharing your feedback from your stay. We apologize for any misunderstanding you may have had regarding the naming of our room types. Our rooms are as described and not all of our rooms are standard rooms as you have stated. We have three room types, Superior, Partial View and Ocean Front. Our most basic room type (which is what you booked), is the Superior room type. This is a "Standard" and most basic room. I believe you are applying the definition of the word "Superior: in this case to mean that this room type is "better" than another. However, how can a room that is "better than another" be the lowest in price? Superior is the starting point for our rooms and Ocean Front is the more pricier option. Best regards from The Majestic Hotel South Beach.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Baltimore, MD

RUN FAST......FASTER, FASTERRRR !!!!!!

Posted Sep 12, 2017
This hotel is and was a last resort hotel. Hurricane Irma was in her way and I was told at check in that if we were evacuated I would be refunded for the nights I didn't stay. After checking in I took the elevator up to my room and ended up getting stuck inside for 10 minutes. After I got off the elevator I went to take a shower and noticed mold in the shower and on the ceiling corners around the shower. I did not have a clear room window to look out of, just an opaque window. I got my room changed and it had a window that I could see through but more mold in the shower. No one at the hotel speaks good English. Second night out of six we got evacuated for the hurricane. When I asked for my refund I was told they weren't giving any refunds. They said they would remember me and I could use hotel credit for a future visit. The desk agent was extremely rude about the situation. Thank God I booked through Expedia because I was able to explain my situation to them and be refunded. Ultimately, with out a doubt I will NEVER give this south beach hotel a second glance.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 16, 2017 by Hotel Manager, Hotel Management
Thanks for your feedback. I’m sorry you had such a terrible experience. Unfortunately we’ve searched our records, and we have no evidence what you are claiming aside from the Mandatory Evacuation Order which was issued by the City of Miami Beach. All guests were refunded for any unused portion of their stay as a result of the evacuation. As you booked through and paid Expedia you would need to contact them to be refunded for the unused portion of your stay. Also, we have many people working in the hotel who speak English as their primary language. You spoke with me at the front desk and English is my only language. While we are sorry that you did not get to enjoy your vacation, we are glad to see that all guests were evacuated safely without issue.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Vero Bdach.FL

Old,noisy uncomfortable overpriced near beach.

Posted Sep 2, 2017
Pros: Nothing.
Cons: refurnish all rooms. Get rid of $150 room security deposit; fix stairwell exit door dampers. etc etc etc etc.
Location: right on Ocean Drive.
Very uncomfortable bed; 3 useless pillows; very noisy small room; ancient elevator right beside room ; exit stairs door in dampened slammed shut when used through night; check in and check out took ages.....I mean 40 minutes.; $19 "resort fee".........????? $150 security deposit......need I go on ?
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 4, 2017 by HOTEL MANAGER, Hotel Management
Thanks for sharing your concerns from your stay. We appreciate your feedback and will use it to make improvements! South Beach is well known as one of the top entertainment destinations in the world. The "resort fee" is imposed as South Beach is destination location. You will find that hotels in South Beach charge resort fees and take security deposits. We apologize for not meeting your expectations. Best regards from The Majestic Hotel South Beach.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Queens ny

Close to the beach but not worth it.

Posted Sep 1, 2017
The hotel needs alot of work done the beds are not comfortable. Carpets look like they been there for over 70 years its just really run down. The only update they have is there bathrooms.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 3, 2017 by HOTEL MANAGER, Hotel Management
Thanks for staying with us! We appreciate your feedback and will use it to make improvements! Best wishes from The Majestic Hotel South Beach.
2 out of 5
by NARIMAN

Posted Aug 14, 2017 on Hotels
very annoying that there was no wifi and when we complained we got shrugged shoulders
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 16, 2017
Thanks for sharing your feedback from your stay. We are sorry to read your comments regarding our WiFi access. We apologize for not meeting your expectations. Our WiFi is accessible throughout the hotel. A splash page will load and you will be asked for guest room information as well as the password which is printed on the outside of your key jacket. Best regards from The Majestic Hotel South Beach.
2 out of 5
by reynaldo

Posted Aug 3, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 9, 2017
Thanks for sharing your feedback from your stay. We apologize for not meeting your expectations. Unfortunately you have left a rating, but have not noted specific concerns so that we may follow-up. You may contact the hotel at anytime to share this information with us. We will follow-up. Best regards from The Majestic Hotel South Beach.