Ratings based on 897 Verified Reviews

2.8 out of 5
53% of guests recommend
3.0 Room cleanliness
3.1 Service & staff
2.7 Room comfort
2.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

What a huge disappointment

Posted Feb 7, 2018
Check in was at 4, so after waiting all day to do so, we ended up waiting on the line for another hour for a process that should have taken no more than 5mins per person. Mind you, there were only 4 other people ahead of us. The person who checked us in was incredibly rude and condescending, and there were a bunch of hidden taxes and fees that were not previously mentioned. When we got to the room, it looked NOTHING at all like the pictures on the site. Also, on the day we checked out, housekeeping just barged right in without knocking first, and apologized saying they thought we had already left. It wasn’t check out time yet, and I was in my underwear still getting ready to leave. None of this was a good experience. I will certainly NEVER stay here again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 9, 2018 by Hotel Manager, Hotel Management
Thanks for sharing your feedback from your stay. We regret that you were unhappy and are always disappointed when a guest does not enjoy their stay at the Majestic Hotel. I will share your feedback with my Supervisors and staff in order to make improvements. Our records indicate that you had booked through Expedia. Expedia does list the hotels resort fees and security deposit information in our listing of the hotel prior to the booking process. Our photos on Expedia are accurate, but will review their website to see how they show in the gallery. Some decor items and amenities will change from time to time, but furnishings are accurate. Some rooms such as the Ocean Front will have more windows than the Superior One Bed. Again we apologize for not meeting your expectation and thank you for taking the time to let us know where we need to improve. Best Wishes, Majestic Hotel South Beach.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 18, 2018
Cons: EVERYTHING
The hotel pictures didn't match at all to what was actually in the hotel. We were very disappointed. We arrived early because of our flight but was not allowed an early check in. The room was very old, not updated as the website displays and very small especially the bathroom. The bathroom was so small that anyone over 225lbs and 5'11 you definitely will not be able to fit in. We literally had to sit sideways on the toilet to use it. The only positive comment I can give is that the beach is located directly across the street.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 20, 2018 by Hotel Manager, Hotel Management
I’m sorry you had such a terrible experience. Unfortunately as you have posted anonymously we are unable to search our records to follow-up on your claim. In regards to our photos, they are exactly as pictured. Sometimes guests mistake other room types (Such as the Ocean Front Rooms) as representation of their room. If you’re willing, will you please contact us privately so we can get to the bottom of this?
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Too cramped.

Posted Jan 17, 2018
But you can’t beat the price and location! Right on ocean drive!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 19, 2018 by Hotel Manager, Hotel Management
Thanks for staying with us! We appreciate your feedback and will use it to make improvements! Best wishes from The Majestic Hotel South Beach.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Westchester, NY

Disappointing stay

Posted Jan 3, 2018
Pros: It was clean and the location was excellent.
Cons: Eliminate back rooms overlooking garbage.. Upgrade public restrooms. Add staff to check-in when busy. Create appealing lobby area.
Location: It was right in the middle of all the actions. Loads of restaurants, music, across the street from the beach.
First we had to wait an hour to check in. There was only 1 person at the desk and a very long line. There was no lobby to sit in, just a small counter in a dismal area. We were given a 1st floor room in the back of the hotel. The windows were frosted and we could not see out. When we opened the windows we were over the garbage cans. It was very noisy in the morning. The bed was situated right across from the air conditioner and every time it went on, it was freezing. To be fair, the room was very clean. We ate at the restaurant there and the food was excellent. However, the public restrooms off the lobby were not nice, so I would not eat there unless I had my own room in the hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 4, 2018 by Hotel Manager, Hotel Management
Ms. Hale, We appreciate your feedback and will use it to make improvements! The restaurant On Ocean 7, is not owned/operated by the hotel, I will certainly share your concerns regarding their downstairs restrooms to their management team. Thanks for letting us know! Best wishes from The Majestic Hotel South Beach.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 18, 2017
Pros: food
Cons: service and price
Location: good location
The beds are uncomfortable. I couldn't sleep all night. I woke up at least 4 times. Very noisy
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 20, 2017 by Hotel Manager, Hotel Management
I’m sorry you had such a terrible experience. Unfortunately as you have posted anonymously, we are unable to locate your stay, in our records. If you’re willing, will you please contact us privately so we may speak further regarding your reservation?
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not Majestic!!!

Posted Dec 16, 2017
Pros: We did appreciate that they waived the hotel fee due to the hotel cleanliness. Bathroom seemed renovated.
Cons: New, cleaner carpet. Furniture could be cleaner, walls cleaned or painted. They would provide a parking voucher.
Location: South beach is a nice place for going to the beach.
Upon arrival to our room, we found that the carpet was old, dirty, with particles, hair, receipts, and garbage from previous occupants. Our bed sheets, had cigarette burns in which I submitted a picture to the front desk, to then, them telling me that "No cigarette burns were found on the sheets" which I thought was the most insulting comment to say after I submitted a clear picture of the sheet with the burn marks on the sheet. Even though the carpet may have been recently vacuumed, the job was not done too well, to the point that we did not feel comfortable putting our feet on. Overall, the bathroom had the cleanest atmosphere of the entire hotel, even though it had been renovated, there were unfinished patches underneath the sink. That would have been fine, but the holes allowed you to see a gross amount of built up grime on the pipes behind the wall. I just wasn't a "majestic" stay!
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 19, 2017 by Hotel Manager, Hotel Management
Mr. Cabreja, Thanks for sharing your feedback from your stay. Our records indicate that you contacted the front desk via our I-concierge app. after you checked-out. There was no email, nor pictures sent to our front desk email regarding the issues. I am happy that you noted being happy with the refund of your resort fees and we apologize for not meeting your expectations. However, I am troubled by some of what you have claimed as it is not consistent with the inspection of your guest room. The Housekeeping Supervisor as well as myself (Hotel Manager) inspected your room. No Cigarette burn(s) were discovered. I am highly consistent with charging guests who violate our no-smoking policy and my staff is diligent when it comes to inspecting for damages in the room prior to any servicing. We do not put damaged nor stained linens in our rooms. I purchase new linens regularly to keep the level of quality in regards to our linens at a level our guests expect. Your sheet appears to have been stained, not burned. You can clearly see that there is a water mark around the dark brown area in your photo. It appears consistent with the color of the in-room coffee (which was noted as being consumed in your room). In regards to the water shut-off access panel behind the toilet tank, the cover was found to have been removed and was found in the room. These do not just come off easily, and would not have fallen off. No work was done in your guest room recently that would have required removal of this panel for the water to be shut off. We like our guests to be happy and my staff works very hard to ensure this. Best regards from The Majestic Hotel South Beach.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from miami

Terrible hotel

Posted Nov 29, 2017
Everything was bad, everything! The customer service were terrible. They couldn’t answer anything.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 1, 2017 by Hotel Manager, Hotel Management
I’m sorry you had such a terrible experience. Unfortunately we’ve searched our records, and we have no evidence of your stay. If you’re willing, will you please contact us privately so we can get to the bottom of this?
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from south beach

I Would not stay here again

Posted Nov 28, 2017
Majestic look good on internet, but in person everything was bad. Bad customer service , random charges, book for 2 queens got 1 queen. Rooms are very small. I paid everything online but when i came in they charged me additional fees.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 1, 2017 by Hotel Manager, Hotel Management
Thanks for sharing your feedback from your stay. We are sorry to have read your comments regarding your billing. We apologize for not meeting your expectations. Expedia and it's affiliated companies clearly outlines hotel policies in the "About the Hotel" section of our listing under the heading "Fees". This can be found below where room and rates are displayed. It is clearly displayed that the Majestic Hotel charges a nightly resort fee of $19 plus tax and a deposit of $150 USD per stay. Best regards from The Majestic Hotel South Beach.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very dirty place ,food not good don't get foul by

Posted Nov 26, 2017
Very dirty place ,food is no good ,only the representation, they have frozen seafood, with no flavor, we pay $140 for a paella, the we couldn't eat ,the lobster was nasty. You can find better food at Collin ave.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 30, 2017 by Hotel Manager, Hotel Management
I’m sorry you had such a terrible experience. Unfortunately as you have posted anonymously, we have no way to review if you were a guest of the hotel or just the restaurant. The restaurant, On Ocean 7 is not owned nor operated by the hotel. If you’re willing, will you please contact us privately so we can get to the bottom of this?
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NJ

My birthday

Posted Nov 25, 2017
This is my second year celebrating my bday here. All I can say is I had a great time, location is great. Love this hotel!
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 25, 2017 by Hotel Manager, Hotel Management
Thanks for your feedback! We are happy to see that you enjoyed your stay and hope you had a Happy Birthday!!!. We hope you will be visiting again, we are looking forward to your return. Best wishes from The Majestic Hotel South Beach.