Ratings based on 854 Verified Reviews

2.8 out of 5
54% of guests recommend
3.0 Room cleanliness
3.1 Service & staff
2.7 Room comfort
2.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Baltimore, MD

RUN FAST......FASTER, FASTERRRR !!!!!!

Posted Sep 12, 2017
This hotel is and was a last resort hotel. Hurricane Irma was in her way and I was told at check in that if we were evacuated I would be refunded for the nights I didn't stay. After checking in I took the elevator up to my room and ended up getting stuck inside for 10 minutes. After I got off the elevator I went to take a shower and noticed mold in the shower and on the ceiling corners around the shower. I did not have a clear room window to look out of, just an opaque window. I got my room changed and it had a window that I could see through but more mold in the shower. No one at the hotel speaks good English. Second night out of six we got evacuated for the hurricane. When I asked for my refund I was told they weren't giving any refunds. They said they would remember me and I could use hotel credit for a future visit. The desk agent was extremely rude about the situation. Thank God I booked through Expedia because I was able to explain my situation to them and be refunded. Ultimately, with out a doubt I will NEVER give this south beach hotel a second glance.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 16, 2017 by Hotel Manager, Hotel Management
Thanks for your feedback. I’m sorry you had such a terrible experience. Unfortunately we’ve searched our records, and we have no evidence what you are claiming aside from the Mandatory Evacuation Order which was issued by the City of Miami Beach. All guests were refunded for any unused portion of their stay as a result of the evacuation. As you booked through and paid Expedia you would need to contact them to be refunded for the unused portion of your stay. Also, we have many people working in the hotel who speak English as their primary language. You spoke with me at the front desk and English is my only language. While we are sorry that you did not get to enjoy your vacation, we are glad to see that all guests were evacuated safely without issue.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Vero Bdach.FL

Old,noisy uncomfortable overpriced near beach.

Posted Sep 2, 2017
Pros: Nothing.
Cons: refurnish all rooms. Get rid of $150 room security deposit; fix stairwell exit door dampers. etc etc etc etc.
Location: right on Ocean Drive.
Very uncomfortable bed; 3 useless pillows; very noisy small room; ancient elevator right beside room ; exit stairs door in dampened slammed shut when used through night; check in and check out took ages.....I mean 40 minutes.; $19 "resort fee".........????? $150 security deposit......need I go on ?
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 4, 2017 by HOTEL MANAGER, Hotel Management
Thanks for sharing your concerns from your stay. We appreciate your feedback and will use it to make improvements! South Beach is well known as one of the top entertainment destinations in the world. The "resort fee" is imposed as South Beach is destination location. You will find that hotels in South Beach charge resort fees and take security deposits. We apologize for not meeting your expectations. Best regards from The Majestic Hotel South Beach.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Queens ny

Close to the beach but not worth it.

Posted Sep 1, 2017
The hotel needs alot of work done the beds are not comfortable. Carpets look like they been there for over 70 years its just really run down. The only update they have is there bathrooms.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 3, 2017 by HOTEL MANAGER, Hotel Management
Thanks for staying with us! We appreciate your feedback and will use it to make improvements! Best wishes from The Majestic Hotel South Beach.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Just OK

Posted Jul 26, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: They definitely need training in customer service and updating.
Location: Everything is conveniently located.
Room and hotel is dated. Service provided was like if you didn't pay for it and was free. Towel service is horrible. There is no security, anyone can walk in up to your room in this hotel. Fights at night in hallways. No Class at all in this hotel. Does not belong on Ocean Drive.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 9, 2017 by Hotel Manager, Hotel Management
Thanks for staying with us! We work hard to make our guests happy and are saddened to see that your experience was not as expected. We apologize for not meeting your expectations. Best regards from The Majestic Hotel South Beach.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Detroit

right across from the beach

Posted Jul 10, 2017
Pros: the location
Cons: breakfast included
Location: it was right on the strip an across from the beach
everything was good until the power went out for almost 24 hrs. it was 90 degrees outside so didn't know weather to stay in or out. but I got a refund for that day so I'm happy
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 16, 2017 by HOTEL MANAGER, Hotel Management
Thanks for sharing your feedback from your stay. Your concerns mean a lot to us and we would like to apologize on behalf of FPL. Regrettably, the power outage affected not only our hotel, but 10 other businesses on our block and was a result of two transformers owned by the power company, failing one after another. This outage was outside of our control and we did everything we could to provide as much information as possible to our guests as we were updated by FPL (Florida Power & Light). This was a terrible situation for everyone affected. Every guest was given a full refund for the night due to the power outage, although it was 100% outside the control of the hotel. Again, we apologize for any inconvenience this has caused. Best regards from The Majestic Hotel South Beach.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from miami airport

Posted Jul 9, 2017
The rooms are outdated carpets have a weird smell not good for asthmatics or people with allergens
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 14, 2017 by HOTEL MANAGER, Hotel Management
Thanks for sharing your feedback from your stay. We are sorry to read your comments regarding your room. We apologize for not meeting your expectations and will use your feedback to make improvements! Best regards from The Majestic Hotel South Beach.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from florida

again location, location, and location

Posted Jul 8, 2017
If you are looking for a lot to do things at. This is not it. If you are looking for somewhere to sleep in the middle of south beach. This is it. The breakfast upgrade is a good deal. There is no parking. So keep that in mind
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 14, 2017 by HOTEL MANAGER, Hotel Management
Thanks for staying with us! We work hard to make our guests happy and appreciate your feedback!! We offer Valet Parking with in/out service. Other parking options are available as well. We hope you will be visiting again, we are looking forward to your return. Best regards from The Majestic Hotel South Beach.
2 out of 5
by Fabianne

Bed and shower only!

Posted Jun 19, 2017 on Hotels
Beside the location the Majestic hotel is nothing great! Customer serivce is not good, the only thing you get at this hotel is a bed and a shower! The TV only had one channel, they did not change the sheets during our stay, room service took the towels and never replaced them. Anytime you asked for anything service related the staff seemed annoyed with you.... the restaurant customers received better service than the hotel guest! Never again
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 30, 2017
Thanks for sharing your feedback from your stay. We are sorry to read your comments regarding your room. We apologize for not meeting your expectations. Best regards from The Majestic Hotel South Beach.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NY

Not a 5 star hotel, but enough to rest your head.

Posted Jun 8, 2017
The hotel rooms are very small for 4 persons. There are no microwave or refrigerator in the room we stayed. The restaurant in the lobby area was relaxing, good menu items, but a bit pricy. Overall, its not a bad hotel. Great location. 2 mins walk from Wet Willies and many other restaurant. Easy access to the bus.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 16, 2017 by Hotel Manager, Hotel Management
Thanks for your feedback. We are happy to see that you enjoyed your stay and everything South Beach has to offer. We hope you will be visiting again, we are looking forward to your return. Mini-Refrigerators are available upon request from the front desk. Best wishes from The Majestic Hotel South Beach.
3 out of 5
by Tommy

Posted Jun 7, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 16, 2017
Thanks for sharing your feedback from your stay. Best regards from The Majestic Hotel South Beach.