Ratings based on 907 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Houston

Posted Sep 15, 2017
Close to hotel but nothing like the photos lobby very small, no pool,everything not included in the package,room very small,nothing in the room,is not what we expected....
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 22, 2017
Pros: Great location, great breakfast, very helpful staff, great vibes staying there
Cons: Beds are too hard
Location: Great great location, walking distance to great restaurants
First visit to Miami Beach...very enjoyable. Will go back
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Rochester, NY

Nice hotel. Great location. Good value.

Posted Aug 21, 2017
Pros: Location, bar, staff, value.
Cons: The elevator could be a but quicker.
Location: Check out Mangos which has a show with dinner. Food was good & entertainment was fun.
We enjoyed our stay at the Pelican. We booked a twin bed room which was small but comfortable and nicely decorated. Even though the South Beach strip is very loud outside we did not hear any street noise and the beds were very comfortable. Breakfast and Happy Hour (2 drinks per person) were included which we totally appreciated. The bartender (Christian) at the Pelican is fantastic! The hotel is directly across from the beach and the beach (lounge) chairs the hotel provides access to were really nice. They will hold them for you for the entire day so if you leave for lunch or whatever, you can return and get your same spot. We really enjoyed our stay here.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Queens, New York

Great location

Posted Aug 21, 2017
Great location to the beach. In the middle of everything!!! Would def go back!!!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Fined for suspicion of smoking

Posted Jul 26, 2017
Pros: Central location to everything on Ocean ave
Cons: Customer service
We were fined $150 because the maid thought she smelled smoke in our room. She reported it to her superior with no proof. This after we gave her a $20 tip.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Art Deco with updates

Posted Jul 20, 2017
Interesting rooms that have been updated. My room was clean. There were not a lot of guests so it was quiet except for the ceiling fan which I didn't use since I used the air conditioner. Great location in South Beach. Valet parking was ok except it takes 30 minutes to retrieve your car. One drawback is the restaurant in front. The hostesses and waitresses were bombarding people to eat there and it was a little harassing.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Pelican

Posted Jul 18, 2017
The stay was nice with regards to the Hotel and staff within the hotel excluding the restaurant wait staff. They seemed somewhat unwelcoming. The hotel is older and very Art Deco, keep that in mind. I realized I was out of the age group where that holds that as an attraction. That one is on me though.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Denver, Colorado

Prime location

Posted Jul 10, 2017
This was a prime location for the beach and being in the middle of everything. The free breakfast made to order and the 2 free drinks each night was great too. The two pool towels and beach chairs for free were a nice perk as well. The staff was great and the overall cleanliness of the whole place, including our room was above standard. Room service cleaned everyday and sometimes twice per day, which was over the top and nice to see.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Houston

Excellent hotel and super friendly stuff!!!!!

Posted Jul 5, 2017
This is an excellent hotel at a reasonable price in premium location. Rafael the bartender, Laura and Noel the waitresses among with all the employees there were awesome !!!!!!!!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Definite recommend

Posted Jul 2, 2017
I have been to the south beach area quite a few times and have stayed at different hotels between 5th and 8th st...for some reason my usual hotels were very pricey for my one day trip down. But then I saw pelican and decided why not! You can't always go by Reviews! I will honestly say this hotel has now moved up to the top spot and I will always want to stay here!!! The appearance in the front is gorgeous, clean, welcoming! You can tell they mop their floors! Often! Spic and Span! They provide 2 complimentary drinks on them per person between certain hours. The bar is fully equipped and strong! You usually don't get this. They usually just say it's 20% off but you end up paying it back with taxes/gratuity. Overall I do not want to stay anywhere else and plan to keep it that way. Thank you so much for your services pelican! ❤️