Ratings based on 879 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
69% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 5, 2017
Pros: Liked that the rooms had double sinks that were separate from the shower. We also liked the spacious lobby.
Cons: The pool bar was never open during our stay because it had rained at some point during the day.
We stayed at this hotel for a weekend in Miami Beach for my Bachelorette Party. The beachfront location and reasonable price is what drew us to the hotel. It is a short drive away from many fun South Beach activities. Liked that the rooms had double sinks that were separate from the shower. One thing we didn't like is that the pool bar was never open during our stay because it had rained at some point during the day. The pool bar is covered, so I think it should have opened when there was no rain. Also, the hotel restaurant stops serving breakfast at 10am even on the weekends and is then closed until noon for lunch, so we had to walk to another hotel that served food between 10am and noon to eat. All of the staff was very friendly and helpful. Overall, we had a great weekend stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ohio

Great Hotel to wind down after a Cruise

Posted Apr 6, 2017 on Orbitz
Pros: Pool area was excellent. Had very nice open air bar / restaurant near pool.
Cons: We had a reservation for 4, but only had 3 towels in our room. Need to improve communication with housekeeping staff.
Location: Had dinner at BeachCraft. Excellent Tom Colicchio restaurant ! Only a short walk from the Hotel.
We stayed at the RIU after returning from a cruise. Hotel and Pool area was very nice. Beach front near hotel was not suitable for children to play.
4 out of 5
by Hillary

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 3, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Stacey

Hotel stay

Posted Mar 12, 2017 on Hotels
Our location was okay, however their wasn't alot of places to shop or eat that were in walking distance. The beach is the dirtiest beach we've ever been on, we had to be careful to not step on a screw or a piece of glass. The water was gorgeous. The room was nice however it needed bigger trash cans and more pillows.
5 out of 5
by Donna from Maryland

Great Location/ Amazing Staff

Posted Mar 4, 2017 on Hotels
It was my second stay in 2 weeks. The first time was amazing. This time was okay. On our second night there we were in room 710. The room had a strong wet, salty, sea smell. I discovered it was coming from the drawers so we didn't put our clothes in there and sprayed Febreeze and Lysol constantly .Unfortunately the pool was closed for repairs so we had to go next door to another hotels pool. The front desk employee Michelle was amazing on both visits. She went the extra mile for us. Rafael the bellman was very informative, polite and courteous.
2 out of 5
by Kimberly

Posted Mar 1, 2017 on Hotels
Our stay was okay. The front desk got us into a room early since we arrived at 5am. The room was for handicap but didn't bother us. We called down for extra pillows and they didn't have any. When the maids cleaned our room they took our wash cloths and didn't give us any back. We asked for wash cloths the next morning and they said they were out. A lot of the staff did not speak great English so it was hard to understand them. The last day of our stay they were doing repairs on the pool a day early so we went to the palms next door. We won't be staying at any riu resorts in the future.
3 out of 5
by Marlon Jay

Posted Mar 1, 2017 on Hotels
Front desk placed us in a wheel chair access room where the bathrooms are different. They knew that none of my party needed wheelchairs, yet they still placed us there.
4 out of 5
by Donna

Lobby Looks And Smells Amazing All The Time

Posted Feb 28, 2017 on Hotels
I was a little disappointed that I couldn't get the room type I requested on my first night. I had to check out the next day and check back in the following day to a neq room. When booking with Hotel.com I requested an ocean view room. During check in on the second night, I was told I was booked for an ocean side room. This room is on the side of the hotel. You can still see the ocean but the rest of the view is a little obstructed with rooftops etc. Michelle at the front desk has been amazing on both my stays at The RIU
5 out of 5
by Katherine

Fantastic stay

Posted Feb 26, 2017 on Hotels
RIU was beautiful, right on the beach, room was wonderful, food was great, and had great entertainment. the upgrade to oceanview was unexpected but thankful for it, the view was fantastic
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from nyc

Great hotel on boardwalk

Posted Feb 23, 2017
I think the hotel was exactly what I expected but definitely could add some things to make the hotel feel more high class- felt a little cheap in the entrance area and the hotel hallways but the price and location was unbeatable ! The shower does flood a LOT and got really steamy in room after. The staff was super accommodating and the poolside service was so great! Would definitely stay again despite the fact I feel the hotel isn't fulfilling its full potential !