Ratings based on 716 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Has potential...

Posted Sep 22, 2017
The hotel itself has potential to be beautiful, BUT it’s clear that the staff simply does not care. When initially booked, I called and asked for a simple message to be on our bed upon check in for my girlfriends birthday. The message was not there, but what was there was a clogged sink, a broken lamp and a door that would not open until a hotel staff member walked by and opened it For us. I don’t want to get into all of the little nuances that made our experience subpar, but what was good was that with each mistake they found a way to make it better. On our last morning, there was CONSTRUCTION THREE ROOMS DOWN WITH A JACKHAMMER!!! From 8AM until 12:30pm, it wouldn’t stop. I called the front desk and instead of them stopping the construction, they simply removed my hotel fees and extended our check out time until 3pm. Oh and the bartender at the pool gave us a small discount. Again, Sagamore has the potential to be amazing but it simply is not. And that is why I simply cannot recommend this to my friends until they make the necessary improvements.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

It's very old looking, smelly and not art deco

Posted Sep 18, 2017
Pros: Nothing.
Cons: Everything. Don't call it Ar Deco and you have horrible artwork. You need an interior designer to clean up this place, even the lobby is undesirable
Location: It's near everything outside. Store right across the street. Busy area. I did like that.
I was REALLY disappointed with our room. I hadn't stayed in a room like this since I was in college with no money. I felt like I was in a third world country. OLD, just OLD. There was no style to the hotel or the rooms. the decor was awful. I had room 717.. with the balcony. The advertisement is not true. The layout is horrible, everything is OLD and smells like sewage. The downstairs tv only had streaming on it, I couldn't get regular channels. The bathroom is upstairs. I thought I was getting 1000sq ft. I swear it looked more like 500 sq ft. I feel like I got ripped off. I was so excited to stay here because of the size of the rooms... Not Good.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NV

Posted Sep 12, 2017
Still love the Sagamore but needs some maintenance, they are in the process. Great location, great staff, great room.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great staff but awful penthouse.

Posted Sep 8, 2017
We stayed in penthouse and the only wonderful thing was the amazing view of ocean from this penthouse. The penthouse is in immediate need of refurbishment. Oh where to start from those disgusting sliding doors? Who installs them these days its such 80's era! The carpet in living room was filthy.Bathroom forget it!! Lets not even go there!! Nevertheless the staff was amazing and helpful!! The garden view was exotic and well kept. Hotel should seriously consider remodeling their rooms as those are awful. The less items the better. Too much going on the penthouse and the lights to sofa everything was dated.One last thing that annoyed us real bad was the creepy noise of Air conditioning, not sure if that was a bug noise? The reason everytime we would spot mobile light with all other lights shut off,the Ac vent noise would go away and as soon as we removed the light it resurfaced. Terrible!!!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Bad experience

Posted Sep 1, 2017
I want to redound my money the hotel is terrible and the atención is more terrible, the doors not close, the doors not open , the bathroom is terrible the Beds is so bad.....
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Houston, TX

Spacious rooms

Posted Aug 3, 2017
Not my first time staying at the Sagamore I loved it. Except for the weird humid smell in the lobby. Other than that it still is my favorite hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Montreal, QC, Canada

Great experience

Posted Jul 25, 2017
Pros: Sagamore has the best location, on the best place of South beach, close to the Lincoln road, and Art Deco Historic District. Cheaper than close hotels
Cons: Rooms on the main street are noisy. next year will reserve beach, and swimming pool view room. Remove extra charges on the beach for the "Umbrella"
The whole family had a great experience with Sagamore Hotel, it was our first visit to south beach, and we enjoyed each day of our stay. Big rooms, very convenient, with sleeping, and living areas separated, plus a kitchenette.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Concord, NC

DO NOT STAY HERE.....

Posted Jul 17, 2017
Pros: Location, pool, and beach access.
Cons: Everything, ESPECIALLY the service.
Location: Location is the ONLY draw of the hotel right on the beach and near Lincoln Road.
We stayed here in the Bungalow rooms from July 9-16. We had two rooms. The location is fabulous if you like Lincoln Road shopping and being on the water. The pool and courtyard are very nice and that is where the good stops. The terrible begins with the service. Our room was cleaned, and not very well, only three times in six days. Any request to the front desk was met with open hostility or by being completely lied to or ignored. We wanted a roll away bed. Never happened. We would have to ask repeatedly for extra towels. The bottom floor flooded in a heavy rain, and we were on our own. I am not a picky customer and I do not expect to be pampered, but trust me the service is TERRIBLE! Next is the condition. The lobby and common areas are nice but smell AWFUL. It smells moldy and nasty and why they do not invest in simple air freshener is beyond me. The rooms are 'used' but adequate as long as you need nothing else such as clean towels, sheets, and the like. I am serious when I say that I will NEVER stay here. There is a reason this place is cheaper that the other places around it. This in short is a VERY poorly managed hotel.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Dubai

Disappointed

Posted Jul 13, 2017
Pros: The bed was comfortable.
Cons: Everything!
Location: The hotel was in a great location for walking around. Lots of restaurants, shopping, and nightlife nearby.
The hotel was a disappointment, to say the least. Very short on staff and felt as if the hotel was struggling. Paid close to $400 for "ocean view" and could only see a silver due to being stuck in a corner and palm trees in the way. No bedsheets for the pull out bed or enough towels for 2 people. The room was a bit outdated and damaged. Valet $42/night...ridiculous! Called room service on two occasions and let the phone ring at least 20 times and no answer. Called maid service and no answer. We were there for less than 24hrs so would have changed hotels if there for longer. Not that the hotel could do anything about it, but the beach and oceans were quite dirty. Was not impressed with the location and would not recommend. Upon check out, they gave me a $38 credit????
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from detroit mi

Posted Jul 7, 2017
Room was great just need new furniture it's old and need bigger tv in room but it's great overall I'll go back