Ratings based on 931 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
66% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Maryland

Quick Stay at the Beach

Posted Aug 13, 2017
Pros: Spacious room. Beautiful view of ocean. Really nifty shower head, in the ceiling, not the wall. Has the sensation of showering under a waterfall.
Cons: Can't think of anything of substance, but if I wanted to be really nitpicky, the driveway is a bit constricted, but not a big deal.
Location: A lot of ethnic restaurants: Cuban, Columbian, Japanese and Uzbek cuisine to mention a few. Campania Coal Fired Pizza has great pizza and A+ service
We were in the Miami area to pick up our daughter from the Miami Music Festival and wanted a relaxing place on the beach for a couple of days without all of the insanity that goes on further down the shore. Sole on the Ocean exceeded our expectations. The staff was friendly and professional and the accommodations were well appointed and more than comfortable. There was a minor issue with one of the bathroom faucets but it was fixed within minutes of being reported. Just as important, there were no surprises. Can't praise this place enough. It is just up the beach from Haulover Beach Park where you can find all sorts of beach and boating recreational activities. Also just up the beach from the high dollar shopping of Bal Harbor. High enough up the coast so that you can easily use the Fort Lauderdale airport and avoid the insanity of MIA, but easy enough to get to downtown Miami. Also close to one of the best coffee shops and bakeries you will ever find, no exaggeration - Alaska Coffee Roasting of Miami - just a mile down Biscayne Blvd - don't let the strip center fool you. And of course, the ocean.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel, close to the beach

Posted Aug 8, 2017
Facility was great, no complaints. Check in process was slow, elevators slow, dinning staff needs work. Waitress didnt know we were waiting to be served once, another time we went 30 minutes without being attended to
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Denver CO

Nice Hotel with beach view

Posted Aug 7, 2017
Pros: Free upgrade due to room not being available. Beach view. quietness
Cons: maintenance, our shower kept flooding - one out of 3 elevators was also out of service
Location: the location is in Sunny Isles beach which is an amazing quiet place. Local pharmacies and stores are within walking distance as well as restaurants
We stayed here for 5 days . The room was clean and comfortable also very spacious. Hotel has valet parking and does include a fee per day. It is right next to the beach and a daily resort fee gives you access to gym, beach beds beach towels pool etc. Check-in is at 4:00 PM but if you are early they hold your luggage til room is ready and allow you to either wait in the lobby or beach/pool area. Staff is very friendly and professional. Def recommend and def plan on coming back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 6, 2017
Very nice hotel, right on the beach, in an excellent location
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Orlando

Nice and close to the beach!

Posted Aug 2, 2017
Great Location! You can travel to South Beach or Fort Lauderdale within 11 miles each way.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Austin Texas

Nice hotel right next to the beach and city view!

Posted Aug 2, 2017
Everything about the hotel was great the only problem I had was with the wifi, it sucked really bad!! It would connect and disconnect. It would also go really slow! Perhaps because I was in the 17th floor but they should fix that! Over all everything else was great!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 27, 2017
Ok but not super great. Resort and Parking fee ($28.25 each per night). No kitchenware. Room was not cleaned every day - needed to ask. No spa on the property.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Atlanta

Staff was great

Posted Jul 27, 2017
Staff was great however the room needed a lot of attention. At check In we noticed the closet doors, smoke detectors were broken. The shower drain did not drain properly creating a pool of water each time we took a shower. I challenge the hotel to revamp cleaning and maintenance crew. We paid approx $200.00 per night in addition to 25.00 per night Resort fee along with 25.00 per night valet self parking was not available. I felt ripped off in the end I would compare the room condition to a motel defitenly not a 4 star Resort.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from P

I would stay again!

Posted Jul 25, 2017
Loved loved loved my stay at sole on the ocean I will definitely stay again! The staff makes you feel welcome. The reviews had me scared but everyone is entitled to their own opinion it clearly states the fees people just need to read it's worth the money I had the king suite with partial ocean view I wouldnt recommend staying with more than 2 people. The room is made just for 2. The view was amazing citing view and ocean view I loved it a lot and I will stay again !
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Maryland

Hotel was ok not, what we expected for the money

Posted Jul 23, 2017
Pros: The Beach is right there, The hotel staff is very nice and helpful.
Cons: I think they should change there cleaning schedule,, they don't clean the rooms until 3 day after you check in.
Location: Everything you need is right there on the strip. A1A highway / Collins Avenue runs thru from Sunny Isle beach to South Beach.
The Hotel was not as presented proper as we expected from Expedia. The rooms were not as clean as described, you have to wait 3 day after you check in to get your room cleaned. Your toiletries run out before then, and you have to practically beg to get them replaced. not trying to be harsh, cause the staff at the hotel was extremely nice and helpful. The beach Chairs and Umbrellas are worn out and dated to had the pool needs to be updated as well. For the money spent not just in our room rate, but the additional resort fees you pay for like the dated beach chairs and umbrellas, not worth it. You are forced to pay the hotel for parking plus tip, no choice to park anywhere ells. I can go on but choose to let the next family be as surprised as we were.