Ratings based on 1,573 Verified Reviews

3.4 out of 5
70% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NYC

It needs to be remodeled

Posted Sep 25, 2017
Very old and bad decoration, breakfast need to be improved
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very dirty

Posted Aug 15, 2017
It looks like from a Third World country I've been all over the world , I never seen anything that bad
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from maryland

Hotel quality has decreased a lot

Posted Jul 29, 2017
Pros: The location
Cons: Need to improve mattresses, furniture, floors, elevator, safety, decoration, and better training for people in the front desk. Not a friendly hotel.
Location: Beach, Ocean Drive with a lot of nice restaurants, and in front it is a nice drug store open 24 hrs. Of course it also brings a few safety problems.
The South Beach Plaza Hotel used to be a nice place to stay but its quality has decreased significantly. The first night we were given room 318. It has terrible mattresses, a broken lamp, run-down furniture, etc. After complaining throughout the night, we were shown several rooms and found that 4 out of 5 have bad noisy mattresses, so I believe that your chance of a good night sleep is 20%. I think that bed bugs is an issue that need to be addressed too. The safety at the hotel is not good. For example, someone stole a purse from a spanish women during breakfast, we overheard her complaints and learned that the security cameras were not working. The hotel has a nice small garden with tables that it is used for breakfast, but it is infected by mosquitos. The hotel reception used to have nice Art Deco furniture but it was replaced by cheap, ugly cafeteria dark wood chairs and tables. The hotel´s fancy bar is gone! Now, it is a place were people bring their fast food. This creates a horrible fried chicken smeal that permeates the hotel lobby. The hotel building needs a lot of work. The corridors on the second and third floors are very noisy because of the lack of floor maintenance. The place has a small elevator for two people with bags, but it does not look very reliable. I was able to speak with several workers about this and other job related problems, and almost all blamed the manager. In conclusion, despite its excellent location, avoid this place.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 9, 2017 by Reservations, Hotel Management
Mr. Mauricio, this seems to be a very different review of the other one you posted. We do accept honest critics that have the intention to offer a different view on how some things can get better or improve. We can all get better and we are happy to hear opinions that can help us. Unfortunately your review does not look like one of those. IT pursues a less transparent intention. When thousands of guest love our hotel, the people, the workers, the food, you said that almost everything is appalling and you are the only one that is right. Except for the mattress situation where you had to look into 5 different rooms to find the mattress you found good (?). I would have never stay 5 nights in a hotel where I can only get 20% of a good sleep. But that is just me. Now you come with a new story about bed bugs problem which you never mentioned before and that is simple defamation. A very serious accusation easy to corroborate by our independent pest control company if you have EVER mentioned it during your 5 nights stay. But I'd guess you decided not to mention it until now. Again, how can someone stay in a hotel for 5 nights that supposedly has bed bugs? The "ugly cheap cafeteria" you mentioned had a professional $300K cost/design. The fact that it is not upon your liking, it is a very personal opinion, and we have raving reviews about it. About the lobby smell: We don't have a kitchen and we do not cook in the hotel. You seemed be writing a review from another hotel. Guests don't even sit in the lobby to eat. The story about some lady been robbed of the purse, again, malicious and not real. Cameras not working? Not real. Somebody blaming the manager for all? Again, not real.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not so great

Posted Jul 19, 2017
There were roaches on my bathroom sink and my chest is broke out. Im sure from bed bugs.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 9, 2017 by Reservations, Hotel Management
Dear Anonymous, we understand you must be a professional worker in a Pest Control Company. But in any case we would have liked for you to mention anything to anyone during your stay to do a room inspection while you were staying to have a Real Pest Control Company assessment. What you are saying is a very serious defamatory unproof accusation.
4 out of 5
by Myra

Posted Jul 14, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 9, 2017 by Ingrid, Hotel Management
Thank you for your honest review. It is difficult for guest who are happy to take the time and post them. Thank you.
2 out of 5
by Dhruvaraj

Posted Jul 5, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 7, 2017 by Ingrid, Hotel Management
Mr. Jaiswal, you never complained during your two stays in the hotel. We don't understand why would you stay a second time if you really think that we are 2 stars hotel. Regardless, thank you. We would have liked to hear the details.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Perfect

Posted Jun 30, 2017
I enjoyed my stay. It was close to the beach. They let me check in early which i loved because me and my sister had just hopped off a boat from a cruise. Walgreens is right across the street. I would definitely recommend this hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 7, 2017 by Reservations Dept., Hotel Management
Thank you very much for your review! We hope you visit us soon.
4 out of 5
by Marie-Laure

good quality/price ratio

Posted Jun 13, 2017 on Hotels
very good quality/price ratio. well located.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 15, 2017 by Ingrid, Hotel Management
Thank you very much for your kind review!
3 out of 5
by Corliss

Not worth it

Posted Jun 4, 2017 on Hotels
Interior orlfnrooms needs a major upgrade. Worn out chairs and furniture looked like they were found in the alley. No carpet. Chipped paint. No towel rack or bar in bathroom. No mini fridge. Really disappointing for the money. Motel 6 has better amenities
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 15, 2017 by Ingrid, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback. We are priced for what we offer. We are working on renovations as you should be able to appreciate for the workers in the lobby/bar area. Unfortunately as soon as renovations are done prices will go up to match the other hotels in the area and we will not be as affordable as this time.
5 out of 5
by Eric

Location, location, location

Posted Jun 2, 2017 on Hotels
Great location! Room was spacious. Bed a little stiff but fine. Lots of natural light in room. King bed could use better pillows and towels small and thin.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 15, 2017 by Ingrid, Hotel Management
Thank you very much for your honest appreciation. We will look into your suggestions.