Ratings based on 1,564 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
77% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from boston

Hotel with bugs

Posted Nov 13, 2017
Pros: Direct access to pool
Cons: Cleanliness of room
This hotel has a nice pool and direct access to beach which is an advantage. Staff is helpful. But the room has lot of bugs/cockroaches.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 13, 2017 by General Manager , Hotel Management
Dear Kalyan, thank you for your review. Although you were overall pleased with your stay, we are sorry for the cleanliness issues you experienced and regret the inconvenience it caused. Your feedback is of utmost value, and we will use it as a training tool to improve our service further. We hope to have another chance so we can serve you better. Warmest Regards, General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Deerfield Beach FL

Birthday away from home

Posted Oct 12, 2017
We love coming to this hotel it's our favorite place to stay in Miami just far enough away from South Beach but also very close you have shopping and lots of restaurants to choose from I like how the hotel has a pool but also has chairs and umbrellas on the beach we walk everywhere the rooms are a little bright in the morning but all in all a great place with a good value
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 13, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for choosing the art deco South Seas Hotel for your birthday celebration and for showing your loyalty towards our brand. We are so delighted to learn our location in the heart of all the action on Miami's fabulous South Beach and all our facilities made your stay a fabulous one. It was a pleasure having you as our guest, and we look forward to hosting you again soon. Warmest Regards, General Manager
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from 12 Saint Regis Pl

Roach Motel

Posted Oct 10, 2017
The room was small and disgusting with roaches and ants.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 12, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback and for choosing to stay at our hotel. Please accept our apologies for any insects in your room. Our pest control provider has serviced the hotel, and we are working to prevent future issues. We are sorry and hope you will consider staying with us again. Warmest regards, General Manager
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dallas, TX

Posted Aug 28, 2017
The room was smaller than expected. Breakfast was good. The pool and way to the beach was nice.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 29, 2017 by GM, Hotel Management
Thank you for being our guest and for taking time to leave feedback. We were delighted to hear that you were happy with the selections at breakfast. We know how important it is to start the day off right! However, we are sorry you were unhappy with the size of your room. Please know that we do have different room types and sizes available, and our front desk associates will be glad to assist you in finding one that best fits your needs. Thank you again for being our guest, and we hope you will choose us again the next time you are in our area. Warmest Regards, General Manager
5 out of 5
by Terezinha

Posted Aug 19, 2017 on Hotels
Everything so good
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 20, 2017 by James, Hotel Management
Terezinha, thanks for the perfect rating. We are glad you had a wonderful time at the wonderful art deco South Seas Hotel. Thanks for the amazing review, and we look forward to welcoming you back for another outstanding experience. Warmest Regards, General Manager
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Las Vegas

Posted Aug 2, 2017
It was nice that the hotel is right on the beach that was convenient and the breakfast was very good in the morning. When I stepped into our hotel room it had a weird smell kind of like bug spray the bathroom was very small I did not like that and had some mold on ceiling in the bathroom. Staff was ok and our T.V was not working but they came in s fixed it. At night very noisy hotel is right on Collins street in the mix of everything. Overall I would give a 3.5
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 4, 2017 by General Manager , Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to share feedback. We are pleased to know you liked our beach location. With that said, we are sorry for the issues you experienced during your visit. We hope you will give us another opportunity to provide you with the outstanding service and accommodations that our guests should always expect from us. Warmest Regards, General Manager
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very old and overpriced

Posted Jul 29, 2017
The hotel is very old and the rooms are too small. Definitely overpriced. It also does not have a private beach.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 30, 2017 by GM, Hotel Management
Thank you for being our guest and for taking time to leave feedback. We are sorry that you were unimpressed with your room. We do have different room sizes and types available, and our front desk associates will be happy to assist you in finding one that best fits your needs. We appreciate your feedback, and we hope you will give us another chance to make a better impression in the future. Warmest Regards, General Manager
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 27, 2017
Nice hotel on the beach and near restaurants. Close to bars and Lincoln Mall.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 28, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for being our guest. We are happy to know you liked the convenience of our location and had a pleasant time here. However, we’re sorry we missed meeting some of your expectations. We would love the opportunity to serve you much better on your next visit to our hotel. Warmest Regards, General Manager
5 out of 5
by William

Great

Posted Jul 17, 2017 on Hotels
The customer service was great. The rooms were clean. The breakfast was amazing. The pool was good but the hammocks in the back was truly did it for me. I go to Miami all time and this is definitely my new hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 19, 2017 by James, Hotel Management
William, we appreciate you staying at South Seas Hotel! It’s our pleasure knowing you loved everything we offer, especially our excellent service and your spotless room. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Warmest Regards, General Manager
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 15, 2017
Not what I expected, very disappointed, it looks better in the pictures.Breakfast was horrible, the same thing every day, very little to choose from. Rooms very small, elevator sound and looks like is about to break. Beach chair an umbrella not included, unless you book directly with the hotel. I will not comeback to this hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 17, 2017 by GM, Hotel Management
Thank you for being our guest and for taking time to leave feedback. We are sorry that you were unhappy with the variety of our breakfast, and your feedback will be used when determining where we can make changes to improve for the future. Additionally we are sorry that you were unhappy with the size of your room. We do have different room types and sizes available, and we will be happy to find you a room that best fits your needs. Thank you again for being our guest, and we hope you will give us a second chance to make a better impression in the future. Warmest Regards, General Manager