Ratings based on 1,961 Verified Reviews

3.3 out of 5
72% of guests recommend
3.4 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from chicago

Perfect

Posted Jan 21, 2018
Everything about this hotel is perfect. The price per night, the location, the staff, and even the cafe!! I will definitely be staying here again during my visits to Miami Beach. The only thing that was sort of a bummer for me was the face the elevator moved slow and I took the stairs but other than that, my stay was wonderful!!!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 17, 2018
Great location, comfy bed, tv, microwave, fridge, lots of clean towels, hot shower, spacious, good WiFi. Walls a bit thin.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London, UK

Nice hotel close to all the action in Miami beach

Posted Jan 14, 2018
Check in was very straightforward, the lady on reception was very welcoming and helpful and explained to me about the different tour options available. I booked the Miami boat and city tour for the following day which was great. My room was large and bright, clean and very comfortable. The only downside was the view from the window was another building and there was no view of the street/beach. Also you could often here noise from the street or from the hallway. On my last night I could hear a couple of drunk girls banging on the door to their room for their friend who was inside to open the door. The hotel staff dealt with them quite quickly by getting them another key but they were so loud they woke me up. Check out was also very straightforward and the lady that checked me in also checked me out. She arranged for a cab to come and pick me up to take me to the airport. The street was closed due to the Martin Luther King celebrations so she gave me directions of where to go to meet the cab. Overall it was a nice hotel and I would stay there again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from fairfield CT

Disappointed!

Posted Jan 14, 2018
1. Elevators are old and run slow 2. Room did not have a safe! Or a bible (just saying) 3. Room was outdated and terrible room location (arms width from a rooftop bar (blinds were ruined) 4. Room service skipped cleaning my room. When I asked them why they didn't clean it they said they were too busy (it took them 4 hours to clean 3 rooms!). Instead, the cleaning staff negotiated a way for them to not clean my room, which was - I could take as many towels and shampoo bottles as needed so long as I agreed they wouldn't have to clean my room! 5. I asked for a non smoking room (and reserved it), but the room smelled of smoke. I called the front desk to let them know I received a smoke-smelling room and reserved non smoking; the answer I got was "yea we can't really reserve that, if we have it open when you get here then yes". Well lady, why would it be an option on your website then knowing the dates I would be there!? 5. Entrance of hotel looks like a mix of a hostel and a broken down bar.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Just because it’s on ocean drive

Posted Jan 9, 2018
If you just wanna sleep and wash your body, yeah this place is it, Nothing fancy so don’t be surprised it’s just convenient
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Florida

Awesome stay, love Starlite Hotel

Posted Jan 4, 2018
Pros: The location, style, awesome room, and great view.
Cons: The front desk area is quite congested when you have a group coming in and you’re trying to get checked out.
Location: You’re right on the main drag there’s everything within a few blocks. The park and beach right across the street, can’t ask for anything more.
Had no idea what to expect when I booked this room since it had mixed reviews. We loved it! Loved the retro style, so South Beach. This was our first time to stay on ocean drive. Great being in the middle of everything and the view was fabulous! Look forward to coming back some day. Cant say anything bad about our stay.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Location great.

Posted Jan 3, 2018
Experience wasn't bad at all. I was a little concerned with some of the previous reviews!!! But overall for the price and location we'd probably do it again. Hotel staff was straight to the point not extra smiles and giggles, but we're receptive of our needs. Rooms were semi-updated, yet worn from the humidity which we see a lot with ocean front properties. However rooms were decent, small but decent for your average Joe...my disclaimer this is not the Ritz Carlton, it's Starlite if your looking for a good local with reasonable price and accommodation this could be it, when it's on sale of course. I wouldn't pay more than $200 on special occasions New Year's Eve and not more than $125 any other day.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from rochester ny

Posted Jan 3, 2018
Very comfortable, clean and friendly. Has a pleasant time , great location to enjoy south beach Miami.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from connecticut

Close to the beach

Posted Jan 3, 2018
Hotel was very uncomfortable beds felt like they were not clean!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from sf

Close to beach and reasonable price for the area.

Posted Dec 29, 2017
I would tell friends the location is worth the stay, but if you want something quite, nice, and something to remember, this hotel isn’t it. Very loud, people party below all night long, past 3am on one night..hot rod cars and motorcycle idiots reving their engines like a mad max movie all night..(and I’m a motorcycle hotrod idiot myself, but these guys were awful..)