Ratings based on 465 Verified Reviews

3.2 out of 5
56% of guests recommend
3.3 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
2.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

noisy and construction

Posted May 6, 2017
Not good workers was making a lot of noise couldn't sleep in the room all day nobody told us about the construction
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 27, 2017 by Jay Mejia - Front Office Manager, Hotel Management
I apologize for the inconveniences the renovations might have caused. I hope you choose to visit us again once they are completed.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Washington

Nice hotel I love how close to the beach it is

Posted Apr 1, 2017
I had a good stay other thenight the construction going on outside its a really nice hotel
1 out of 5
by Cassandra

Not what I expected in a bad way

Posted Mar 27, 2017 on Hotels
Horrible I will never stay again. I did not pay to stay with roaches and without washcloths.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Wisconsin

Not as advertised, poor front desk service.

Posted Mar 19, 2017 on Orbitz
Pros: Pool area is very nice Our room exceeded expectation. Beach front location is great Hotel staff (with EXCEPTION of front desk) were friendly
Cons: Customer service at front desk! Explain housekeeping schedule at check-in. Not keeping people on hold for extended periods.
We were disappointed in that this hotel is not as advertised. When researching a hotel for our family one of the reasons I chose the Alexander was that it was a "leisurely stroll to shopping and dining". Since we did not have a car I wanted something within walking distance. It turns out to be about 3 miles, which isn't a stroll with children. We had to use outside transportation (we used Uber) to get around. This was an unexpected cost to our trip. Since the Alexander was "away from the hustle and bustle" of South Beach I didn't think it would attract the Spring Break crowd. I was wrong about that and our family awoke each night we were there to loud music/noise. Security did respond, but it didn't keep those people from starting up again later. I realize this was a problem with disrespectful guests more that a hotel issue, but it made for a vacation that was not restful. Also advertised on their website is that "each time you stay, you will receive 2 complimentary drinks, 2 waters and a beach bag". While I am not being petty about free things, I did bring this to the attention of the front desk and was told "we no longer do that". My point that I explained to him was that when comparing hotels and seeing they had that extra perk, it made it seem like they were a classy hotel, offering that little "extra" for their guests. It took 3 requests in a 24 hour time frame to get the extra blankets I requested, which was very frustrating.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Most Terrible Stay Ever

Posted Mar 15, 2017
Pros: The pool area was ok
Cons: everything else
Location: nothing within walking distance no restaurant or shops on site.
My daughter 18th birthday we booked an ocean view for 3 nights, we did not know the hotel was under complete renovation. It Wasn't recognizable upon arrival. Im like what the hell. Booked a king ocean FRONT with 2 twin beds, but we received an ocean VIEW with 4 twin beds, 2 in each room. The balcony was totally unaccessible due to the renovation. So we couldnt even open the door to hear the waves or enjoy the air. we might as well have stayed down town or somewhere else. men were working on our balcony early each morning banging and we had to keep the shades down to keep them from seeing in the room. what a total nightmare. Do not go there right now until they are finish renovating.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from virginia

WARNING - consider carefully before booking

Posted Feb 21, 2017
I have NEVER written a negative review until now. We booked a deluxe signature suite - 2 bedroom with stunning ocean views. The room did have stunning views but also had a floor to ceiling column jack holding up the ceiling blocking the entire view and taking up 1/2 of the living area. The room was dirty and had no blankets. We immediately went to the front desk and was told no other rooms were available. Once pressed, the manager came out and told us he had another room and wanted us to look at it. The new room, a junior suite was comparable but had no view. We accepted the room with the condition we would get a price adjustment - we really didn't have a choice as hotels were sold out due to the Miami boat show. The next several days were spent chasing the manager down to try and confirm the credit amount. After 3 days i had to get Expedia involved to try and get the credit. This hotel is going through a MAJOR renovation. It is extremely dirty and in some cases unsafe - see pictures of exposed wiring and moldy vents. It has no restaurant, no spa, weight room or other normal amenities you would expect. No place to get coffee at 815 in the morning!!! Rooms are cleaned every 4th day! We had to go to housekeeping ourselves to replace our 2 towels and 1 washcloth we were allotted. This is the absolute worst hotel I have ever been in. It is obvious the staff is just worn-down and numb from all of the complaints.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from bolivar

Beautiful oceanfront when construction complete

Posted Feb 20, 2017
The check in and check out was horrible the first room was bad but moved to a new room that was clean very nice the staff were nice except the mess with check in and out no one seemed to know what they were doing had to wait till a manager came on duty plus they seemed to not want to reemburse because we booked thru a 3rd party
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel is old dirty noisy under construction.

Posted Jan 15, 2017
Pros: Nothing.
Cons: New hotel and let people know it was under construction
Location: Location was good easy to move around.
Hotel under construction staff was not helpful very noisy and dirty I would not recommend to anyone I was embarrassed to stay there.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 9, 2017 on Hotels
The hotel was being renovated during our stay and we were not notified since we booked 8 months in advance. The balcony in our suite and 1 of the pools was not accessible. The bed in extra room was sunken in the middle, no extra tp, no coffeemaker. Not happy with the accommodations under the circumstances but the staff was good and the manager gave us free parking and waived the resort fees for our inconvenience. Still, would like to have been notified in advance so we could decide if we wanted to change hotels or not. Will be a nice hotel when renovations are complete.
4 out of 5
by Torbjorn

Large rooms w. old standard and noisy environment

Posted Jan 6, 2017 on Hotels
Very large rooms. Old standard (interior, doors, etc) from the late 70's. Under restoration. Very noisy with no access to balconies and limited access to pools and bars/restaurant but still prices as normal :-( :-( Great stay if you only want large rooms and only access to the beach and not use the facilities.