Ratings based on 806 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hospitality!

Posted Dec 1, 2017
Pros: The staff! The location!
Location: We loved the Front Porch Café next door! Also, great location in the Art Deco district and straight across the road from the beach with a park.
It is truly the staff that makes ones stay at the Betsy wonderful! It is a historic hotel, the rooms do run a bit small; however, they are nicely appointed and comfortable. There is something for everyone from the beach just across the road, to the amazing rooftop pool, to the cozy library. The wonderful art on display is also great to slowly wander by and take in.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from chicago

Not on the beach No alcohol allowed on the Beach

Posted Nov 20, 2017
Very complicated hotel ... 2 building that are attached to each other ... we had to use one elevator to get to the 3ed floor then walk Around to a connected building to take a nother elevator to the 2nd floor so we can get to our room ... terrible... also from the pic and advertising on Expedia it make the hotel look like it’s on the beach but it’s not .. you have to cross the street and walk over to get to the beach ... we Called the hotel and asked them to let us check out as this is to inconvenience for us and they said no! At least any decent hotel would let you out of the deal without make you pay the entire stay ... manager called me next day and offered to remove hotel fee and some breakfast ... the worst part of this all: their beach area is a public area so they don’t serve alcohol ...like really ? Why would anyone wanna fly in to Miami to spend a weekend on the beach and not being allowed to drink ??? So we walked over to another hotel and had to pay $100 to use their beach so we can order some drinks on the beach .. just over bad...
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Older classic hotel with some pitfalls

Posted Nov 18, 2017
Pros: Atmosphere unique: old Rat Pack Jazz theme. Very nice! Great art work!
Cons: Plumbing problems and air conditioning in restaurant needs attention.
Location: Decent location directly across from the beach at the end of restaurant row.
Nicely appointed classic Miami Beach hotel with outstanding service from pleasant and helpful staff. However, it was an older hotel with a confusing configuration. There were no direct routes to the rooms. We did not have elevator service to our floor and were forced to take the stairs. Or, we could go to the third floor get off, wander to a different elevator, and take it down one floor. I noticed several elderly guests lost and wandering around to find their room. There was no air conditioning in the downstairs restaurant so meals were very uncomfortable. When I them to asked to turn on the fan, no response. Bar service was poor. We were the first at the bar and the last served. Younger ladies served first, not mature couples. The specialty drinks were not special and over priced. Bartender unfriendly. Catered to locals. Couldn't finish my Manhattan, literally tasted like dirt (perhaps old ingredients.) Rooms were updated but plumbing not. We had no hot water in the shower for two days. They said they would compensate us by taking off one resort fee. The bed was far too soft with deeply warn slumps on left and right sides. I could barely roll over to get out of the bed. Mini bar had warm drinks and was unusually expensive.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 17, 2017
Excellent location, excellent staff, the room was clean , comfortable and quiet.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

beautiful hotel, great amenities, great location

Posted Nov 17, 2017
Pros: Everything
Cons: The Betsy is a perfect GEM...no improvements necessary
Location: beach is directly across the street and The Betsy has comfortable lounge chairs. Easy to walk to restaurants and shopping.
very helpful friendly staff. Felt well cared for.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Naples, FL

I'd give it another try

Posted Nov 16, 2017
I like this Hôtel a lot. It is quaint, perfectly located and the staff was super. They were really just great. I really really liked the ambience of the garden spa on the roof. One of the best massages I ever had. On the down side, the room I had was unbelievably noisy and for someone who already has sleep problems, it was torture. South Beach is noisy on weekend nights but the party should not have to be in your hotel room unless you invite them. It is afterall a vacation. Ocean view rooms are no bargain if the windows are not soundproofed. It is a pretty and comfortable hotel but the rooms are also starting to show wear. Furniture starting to look worn, pretty drapes weren't completely hung in my room and water stained, even toilet seat wasn't fastened right. a little attention from housekeeping and maintenance can fix this.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

v nice hotel. Lovely staff . Chilled and nice vibe

Posted Nov 15, 2017
Pros: Great location ; felt luxurious ; quiet and clean Lovely staff ; lovely roof top bar and pool
Cons: Nothing I can think of apart from maybe a bottle of water in room on arrival
Location: great setting for beach and nearby restaurants in spitting distance.
A lovely welcome from staff. Its a nice chilled tranquil feeling and very peaceful which was unexpected so close to the beach. All staff very friendly and greeted you pleasantly. Room was very clean and we got upgraded which was very nice. Balcony did not have a view but didn't matter. Nice products in bathroom and it just felt v relaxing and chilled and peaceful. Rooftop bar and pool also very lovely and preferred this to sitting on the beach. No one hassling you to buy drinks but you could just sit and chill out and admire the view ; read your book etc Would very much recommend and we are going back there for a couple more nights on weekend. It is pricey but worth it for getting a very good experience
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 15, 2017
Next door construction is ongoing and start early in the morning, I was told it's going to be for another 4 months; so I asked to change a room, receptionist forgot to pass the message to afternoon manager; when I spoke to Victoria later that day, she apologized for the miscommunication, informed me hotel is full, couldn't switch me to another room, so she waived the resort fee and offered two-person complimentary breakfast. Guests are mostly families and older individuals.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 13, 2017
Very nice hotel. Polite staff. ............................................................................................,,................
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 11, 2017
Pros: Location and character and cleanliness
Cons: Honoring our room assignment and having the room ready for check in at the check in time. They should not serve expired date juice.
Overall good hotel but I was disappointed in a few things. Expedia offered VIP checkin and 20% off drinks but when I inquired about both the staff denied knowledge of this. I tried to checkin early but was told the room was not ready so I told the front desk we would have lunch and drinks in the dining room just a few feet away from the front desk and asked that they please notify us when the room was ready but they didn't so after 4 o'clock I went back to the front desk to find out they had a room for us but they had changed our room to another one at the rear of the hotel but we were assured it was a comparable location and room. When we went to the room we found that we had to take two different elevators to get to the floor where our room is located and had to walk an extraordinary distance to get to it. We immediately returned to the front desk to refuse this room and ask for the original room only to be told it had been given to someone else. So much for VIP check in. We were assigned a different acceptable room at that time.Our first morning we went to the dining room for breakfast and my wife ordered fresh pressed watermelon juice for $16 only to be served a bottled product. After drinking most of it she noticed a past due expiry date on the bottle. The manager apologized and removed the charge but the damage was done. We lost confidence in the dining here and didn't eat at this hotel for the remainder of our stay. We never did get 20% off on our drinks.