Ratings based on 798 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 17, 2017
Excellent location, excellent staff, the room was clean , comfortable and quiet.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

beautiful hotel, great amenities, great location

Posted Nov 17, 2017
Pros: Everything
Cons: The Betsy is a perfect GEM...no improvements necessary
Location: beach is directly across the street and The Betsy has comfortable lounge chairs. Easy to walk to restaurants and shopping.
very helpful friendly staff. Felt well cared for.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Naples, FL

I'd give it another try

Posted Nov 16, 2017
I like this Hôtel a lot. It is quaint, perfectly located and the staff was super. They were really just great. I really really liked the ambience of the garden spa on the roof. One of the best massages I ever had. On the down side, the room I had was unbelievably noisy and for someone who already has sleep problems, it was torture. South Beach is noisy on weekend nights but the party should not have to be in your hotel room unless you invite them. It is afterall a vacation. Ocean view rooms are no bargain if the windows are not soundproofed. It is a pretty and comfortable hotel but the rooms are also starting to show wear. Furniture starting to look worn, pretty drapes weren't completely hung in my room and water stained, even toilet seat wasn't fastened right. a little attention from housekeeping and maintenance can fix this.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

v nice hotel. Lovely staff . Chilled and nice vibe

Posted Nov 15, 2017
Pros: Great location ; felt luxurious ; quiet and clean Lovely staff ; lovely roof top bar and pool
Cons: Nothing I can think of apart from maybe a bottle of water in room on arrival
Location: great setting for beach and nearby restaurants in spitting distance.
A lovely welcome from staff. Its a nice chilled tranquil feeling and very peaceful which was unexpected so close to the beach. All staff very friendly and greeted you pleasantly. Room was very clean and we got upgraded which was very nice. Balcony did not have a view but didn't matter. Nice products in bathroom and it just felt v relaxing and chilled and peaceful. Rooftop bar and pool also very lovely and preferred this to sitting on the beach. No one hassling you to buy drinks but you could just sit and chill out and admire the view ; read your book etc Would very much recommend and we are going back there for a couple more nights on weekend. It is pricey but worth it for getting a very good experience
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 15, 2017
Next door construction is ongoing and start early in the morning, I was told it's going to be for another 4 months; so I asked to change a room, receptionist forgot to pass the message to afternoon manager; when I spoke to Victoria later that day, she apologized for the miscommunication, informed me hotel is full, couldn't switch me to another room, so she waived the resort fee and offered two-person complimentary breakfast. Guests are mostly families and older individuals.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 13, 2017
Very nice hotel. Polite staff. ............................................................................................,,................
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 11, 2017
Pros: Location and character and cleanliness
Cons: Honoring our room assignment and having the room ready for check in at the check in time. They should not serve expired date juice.
Overall good hotel but I was disappointed in a few things. Expedia offered VIP checkin and 20% off drinks but when I inquired about both the staff denied knowledge of this. I tried to checkin early but was told the room was not ready so I told the front desk we would have lunch and drinks in the dining room just a few feet away from the front desk and asked that they please notify us when the room was ready but they didn't so after 4 o'clock I went back to the front desk to find out they had a room for us but they had changed our room to another one at the rear of the hotel but we were assured it was a comparable location and room. When we went to the room we found that we had to take two different elevators to get to the floor where our room is located and had to walk an extraordinary distance to get to it. We immediately returned to the front desk to refuse this room and ask for the original room only to be told it had been given to someone else. So much for VIP check in. We were assigned a different acceptable room at that time.Our first morning we went to the dining room for breakfast and my wife ordered fresh pressed watermelon juice for $16 only to be served a bottled product. After drinking most of it she noticed a past due expiry date on the bottle. The manager apologized and removed the charge but the damage was done. We lost confidence in the dining here and didn't eat at this hotel for the remainder of our stay. We never did get 20% off on our drinks.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Cotswolds UK

Good location

Posted Oct 16, 2017
Pros: A fine place to stay with some historic ,and bohemian touches.
Cons: The bedrooms are not large but would feel bigger without the large rustic carpentery footboard on the bed ,style over substance ,and not that stylish
Location: Beach , walk , cycle ,shops , resturant etc . Buses
We were well received and allowed. Into our room early. Our room overlooked the court yard which was a bit unadorned going on sparse , it does however look onto the building site next door with all the attendant noises and does not enhance the visual experience . The food is very good however the portions very large ,no bad thing as long as you have not ordered several courses.the staff were all helpful bright enthusiastic , a delight.The dinning room good , comfortable, and the street side porch is a good place to enjoy watching the world go by ,sights your eyes may not have previously experienced.The bar/ sitting hall is lovely the best room in the house , the piano on our last night was a real treat. If you can embrace it for what it is you will have a lovely stay
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hard to navigate through hotel

Posted Oct 10, 2017
It was ok expensive, hard to navigate rooms were extremely small.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

South Beach Elegance

Posted Oct 10, 2017
The Betsy Hotel is an oasis of elegance and sophistication in South Beach. Everything and everyone in this beautiful boutique hotel is of the highest level. From now on this is where we will stay when we visit South Beach.