Ratings based on 2,361 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
77% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

Didn't quite match the photos

Posted Aug 18, 2017
Location: Amazing restaurants and the beach is 5 minutes away.
So i stayed over at the clay for 4 nights. The room didn't quite match the photos in the description but it was an amazing experience regardless. It was right next to a couple of restaurants and 5 minutes away from the beach.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from West Wales

Good hotel Close go beach

Posted Aug 17, 2017
Very good hotel though they are currently upgrading but the work didn't disturb us. Close to the beach where free loungers and umbrellas are supplied. Just 5 min walk to South Beach and about 10 min walk to excellent shopping. Lots of nice restaurants on doorstep. Ocean Drive is a short walk.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Calgary, AB

Clay has the best location in Miami Beach!

Posted Aug 13, 2017
This is our second time at the Clay Hotel and we will back! Location is key! You are a straight two block walk from Miami Beach and surrounded by restaurants and shopping! It's a 4 block walk from Lincoln Road. The rooms are renovated and clean. Although on a busy street, you don't hear the activity below you. My only complaint was the coffee offered in the room. It is like a tea bag, so for a coffee addict, I couldn't survive on that so I had to walk 3 blocks to McDonalds.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Best little hotel in South Beach but...

Posted Aug 8, 2017
Pros: History, location and the comfortable renovated rooms.
Cons: DO NOT CHANGE THE CHARACTER OF THIS HOTEL!
Location: restaurants, shopping, beach, movies.
I've stayed at this hotel several times. Some rooms on Espanola way, can be noisy, as well as the rooms next to entrance doors. Still, this place has all renovated rooms, staff is great, and it's at walking distance from everything in South Beach. I was really sad to learn that the hotel has been sold, and the new owners are planning to renovate the entire lobby. From what I heard, they will remove all the old tiles and wood, and make it more contemporary. They will also remove the old courtyard with the beautiful tiles farther down the street. This is just wrong and stupid. Many returning guests, myself included, come not just because of the great location, but for the fact that this hotel doesn't look like all the modern behemoths that litter South Beach. The Clay hotel is that (not so) little old hotel, which has a visible history, open to the restaurants and the street, where guests can have a feeling of being in the old South Beach, not the SoBe with all the phony glamour, pumped up dudes with oversized boobs driving in rented Masaratis. If the Clay hotel is going to be changed into a more contemporary hotel, I will not return there.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from St. Louis

Bad experience

Posted Aug 5, 2017
Very small room. The room had no refrigerator, microwave, safe, and even trash can!! Small closet as well. Unfortunately, they gave me a room that had a veiw on Wash ave, literally I was in the middle of the noises!! Very very noisy at night especially, there was a nightclub across the street and I wasn't able to sleep untill 4 am!! Also the hot water for shower was very poor, I had to wait a while before getting hot water. Has no parking only valet that crazy costs you 32$/night!!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York

Room Leakage

Posted Aug 1, 2017
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Yes, rooms should not have leaks. An elevator should also be added because I walked several steps to my crappy room.
Room 171 was the room I stayed in which was comfortable however, there was a leak near the door of the bathroom and every time I went in water dripped on me. I slipped in the middle of the night because of the puddle the leak made. I explained to the hotel receptionist my situation and I was waived $30 hotel fees however, I did not pay the money I did to fall and slip because of a leakage. I was very unhappy in the room and I should not have to feel like this. Ruined my vacation and I have a bruise. Worst hotel!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Washington, DC

Older Hotel with no elevator

Posted Aug 1, 2017
Pros: The location.
Cons: Clear posting of rules surrounding the resort fee.
Location: Lots of expensive restaurants adjacent to the hotel. Prices were more reasonable along Washington Ave.
The hotel is centrally located but is very old and does not have an elevator. The resort fee of $16/day was supposed to be for beach towels, chairs and water in the room. However, water was supplied for the first day only. When we asked for beach towels and chairs around 5 pm, we were told we were too late. there was no notification as to the hours one could obtain beach equipment. I asked for a refund of the resort fee given the circumstances but the manager was never available to approve or process the refund. Stay away from the Clay
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from DC

Nice hotel!

Posted Jul 25, 2017
Pros: I loved everything about The Clay Hotel. One of the amenities were 2 free beach chairs and umbrella. We also had a microwave and refrigerator.
Cons: The only thing I would suggested is an Ice-Maker some were in the hallway; instead of just the front desk.
Location: This hotel is located at 14th and Washington Ave.; which is near the major clubs such as Dream Nightclub and Cameo.
The room was better than I expected it; everything was in walking distance.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

cost and location are good

Posted Jul 17, 2017
Pros: The cost is good for the location and amenities. Staff is friendly and accommodating.
Location: 3 blocks from the beach and right on Espanola Way. Many restaurants on this street, although a bit pricey. Within walking distance to main streets.
This is my second time staying at the Clay Hotel. I was there for the last week of June and stayed for 3 days. The room was small as expected, but clean and for a family using the room just to sleep it suited our needs. Hotel staff were friendly and accommodating as we needed a lower level room since the hotel has no elevators and my husband had a knee injury. They placed is the lowest level which still required some stairs, but was manageable. They held our luggage for a few hours after check out since we had several hours before our flight. I had two minor issues while there, one was running out of toilet paper in the middle of the night as no extras were left in the room and the second was only having two towels when there were 3 guests staying in the room. However, I let the front desk know about both these issues and they were immediately resolved. I stayed in the main building last time I stayed there and definitely prefer that space as opposed to the 2nd building in which we stayed this time around. Walking down Espanola Way with our luggage was not ideal. Other than these minor issues our stay was good and we will more than likely return.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tristate Area

Nice hotel. Has its drawbacks, but good overall.

Posted Jul 17, 2017
The overall feel of the hotel is quite nice. Older (but updated, if that makes sense) spanish style decor to go along with the theme of Espanola Way. It's definitely a nice place to take a walk around even if you dont end up staying here. First room we were given was not up to par. Although it was cleanly, it had a 'funny' smell, so maintenance and the concierge people tried to deoderize the room for us. Went back an hour later and the smell had returned, so they upgraded our room to one with a balcony and a beautiful view of Espanola Way! Our second night there was spent entirely out on that balcony, people watching and enjoying the music. We really enjoyed this room. The only things one might consider negative were the noise and the comfortness of the beds. If you're there for a nice, quiet, relaxing vacation where you only head to the beach during the day and are in bed by 9 each night, this is NOT the hotel for you. The music can be heard from outside into the early hours of the morning, especially Saturday night. I'm not kidding when I say you could feel it in the floors. This did not bother the two of us staying there because we were out most nights anyway, but something to keep in mind if youre not there for the nightlife. And back to the beds. Felt like you were sleeping on cardboard. But again, if you'e out partying most nights, and for the price, coming back and sleeping on that isn't so bad. Overall I'd give this place a 3.8/5, and I'd certainly come back.