Ratings based on 1,904 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
76% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Cockroaches!

Posted Jan 22, 2018
This is a very beautiful old building so it stands to reason it isn’t air tight for critters. We killed two cockroaches while staying here. The staff were lovely and accommodating and the original structure as mentioned is beautiful, however management has not done the necessary things to maintain this spot. Location was fantastic, just wanted much more from this booking.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Perfect location. Full of character....

Posted Jan 5, 2018
Close to ocean drive, as well as the local shops, etc.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 18, 2017
Found it dark, and smelly (in corridors/hallways). There were noise issues. No elevators or breakfast. There was also an unexpected extra charge for a card that included wifi beach chair and restaurant discounts but the daily charge probably cancelled any potential savings and some people might not want to use any of these things anyway. On plus side it is close to South Beach snd staff were nice.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ont Canada

Very noisy but worth it

Posted Dec 3, 2017
This hotel is right on the Esplanade. Great music, food etc right outside your door. Rooms on 500 section not as advertised, perhaps still renovating. Overall okay for 1 night
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from tejas

Skip this dump!

Posted Dec 1, 2017
Nasty, heavy gag inducind mold in hallways. Unhabitable. Expensive for nothing. No elevator, carried luggage up several flights ourselves. Valet parking $45 with no other choice
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Francisco, CA

Never book this hotel

Posted Nov 24, 2017
So, basically this hotel is a scam. They take reservations via Expedia and other providers, collect the money, and then don't honor the reservations. When we arrived, there was a long line of people who had paid for rooms at the Clay Hotel (often months in advance) and who were turned away by the front desk, who blamed the travel booking sites. Presumably they overbook and then expect that some percentage of people will forget to get a refund after the fact? Either way, this is a 100% sleazy business you should not work with unless you plan to be scrambling at 10pm after a long flight to find a new hotel.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Toronto, Canada

They cancel your reservation at will

Posted Nov 20, 2017
We arrived at the hotel after a long drive, only to be notified by the reception that our fully prepaid reservation was cancelled by them, with self-contradictory explanations. We were forced to find another room 40 miles away at a much higher price due to same day booking. My friend was mad at me and I felt so upset ...
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 7, 2017
Great location! Found two bugs in my hotel room, couldn't sleep comfortably thinking about bugs crawling on mr on my sleep.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Albuquerque NM

Awesome

Posted Nov 3, 2017
This is an incredible place to stay, staff is great, room was beautiful, not far from beach. Surrounded by great restaurants. I’d definitely recommend it.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from washington, DC

Horrible experience

Posted Oct 30, 2017
The hotel is two separate buildings. The main Clay hotel and then another building a block aware. We were placed in the second location. The building appears to be recently renovated but mold and mildew is everywhere. The building is dank and smelled horrible. All of our clothes in our suitcases absorbed the smell. Rain poured through the ceiling of the adjacent room. Carpet in the hallway soaking wet. I called and reported this to the front desk but no action was taken. No other rooms were available with no refund options so we just dealt with it instead of the hassle. Ruined our trip.