Ratings based on 1,383 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
77% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by Ahmad

Nice stay

Posted Jun 27, 2017 on Hotels
Right in the middle of downtown sobe. Perfect spot..1 block from the beach. The staff was great also! Kinda noisy on the 1st floor from out side. I suggest getting a room on the 3rd floor if that bothers you. My second time staying there and I loved it. I do wish they had breakfast, but plenty of restaurants near by.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 30, 2017 by Matthew S, Hotel Management
Dear Ahmad, Thank you for staying with us again! We appreciate your continued patronage. Our restaurant does offer a good breakfast and often at a discounted price for guests of the Kent. We hope to see you again soon! Sincerely, Matthew Sims General Manager
4 out of 5
by Dion

Posted Jun 21, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 23, 2017 by Matthew S, Hotel Management
Thank you for the 4 star review. We appreciate the time you took to share your opinion. We hope to see you again soon! Sincerely, Matthew Sims Hotel Manager
5 out of 5
by Chris

Posted Jun 16, 2017 on Hotels
Excellent Hotel, would definitely stay again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 19, 2017 by Matthew S, Hotel Management
Thank you for the perfect score in your recent review! We appreciate the time you took to share your opinion and we hope to see you again soon! Sincerely, Matthew Sims Hotel Manager
4 out of 5
by William

All Around Fine Place.

Posted Jun 14, 2017 on Hotels
Our room in The Kent Hotel wasn't' quite the ultra modern dream pictured, but was still clean and comfortable. It was presented as 77.00 per night on Hotels.com but with taxes and fees came to 103.00 which was still great bargain for what we got and location. 3 minutes to Ocean Drive and beach, maybe 15 to Lincoln Road. Our room had one queen bed, not the twins I thought I booked but we didn't ask for a change. It was first room off the lobby and there was a public rest room outside of our door which some of the hotel's nightclub patrons used after 2:00am and ran the hand drier about 30 times. But the club/ restaurant itself was not noticeably loud. Check in and out easy, folks behind desk seemed nice. Would stay again at the price. .
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 16, 2017 by Matthew S, Hotel Management
Thank you for the 4 star review. We appreciate the time you took to share your experience. I am glad you found the sfaff courteous and saw the value in our pricing. Should you decide to return, please request a room on our 3rd floor as they tend to offer a bit less foot traffic in the halls. Sincerely, Matthew Sims Hotel Manager
4 out of 5
by steve

Posted Jun 12, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 14, 2017 by Matthew S, Hotel Management
Thank you for the 4 star review! We appreciate the time you took to share your opinion. It is our hope hat you will return again soon! Sincerely, Matthew Sims Hotel Manager
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from wolverhampton uk

Great close to beach ,shops, clubs and ocean drive

Posted Jun 1, 2017
Stayed a couple of days valet parked was great guy on reception named Chris really helpful and pleasant defo stay there again .
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 4, 2017 by Matthew Sims - Hotel Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review! I am so glad to see that Chris had such an impact on your stay. he is indeed a great asset to the Hotel. We hope to see you again soon! Sincerely, Matthew Sims Hotel Manager
5 out of 5
by melissa

Nice experience

Posted May 31, 2017 on Hotels
My stay was lovely and the local was wonderful.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 1, 2017 by Matthew S, Hotel Management
Thank you for the perfect score in your recent review! We are so pleased that we fared so well in your opinion! It is our hope that you will return again soon! Sincerely, Matthew Sims Hotel Manager
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 29, 2017 on Hotels
The room smelled of mold and the AC was a window unit which didn't help cool the room at all. The bathroom only had a vanity light which didn't give enough light while you were in the shower. And it felt dirty. Thank goodness it was just for one night.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 1, 2017 by Matthew S, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. We apologize that your stay was anything less than perfect. Your comments will be shared with the team as this is certainly not the usual standard we strive to achieve here. We regret that we let you down Sincerely Matthew Sims Hotel Manager
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 26, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
May 28, 2017 by Matthew S, Hotel Management
Thank you for the 4 star review! I am so glad we fared so well in your opinion. It is our hope that you choose us again on your next visit to the area! Sincerely, Matthew Sims Hotel Manager
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Miami

The room had a weird smell

Posted May 24, 2017
They lack of things other hotels provide you with like toothpaste & toothbrushes, microwave, and room was very very tight, no space at all....
Comment from Hotel Management
May 25, 2017 by Matthew Sims - Hotel Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. We regret that we did not fare higher in your opinion. Our room size is indicated on our website and partner websites and is typical of historic Art Deco hotels in the area. As we are a value priced hotel, we do not currently offer all of the amenities of our higher priced competitors. Again we regret you did not see the value in this. Your opinion is important and we thank you for staying with us. Sincerely, Matthew Sims Hotel Manager