Ratings based on 1,481 Verified Reviews

3.4 out of 5
72% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 19, 2017
Nice room with welcome drink and breakfast included. Location is central and beach amenities are provided. Would visit again next time we’re in town.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from montreal

Nice hotel. Helpful staff.

Posted Nov 19, 2017
Stayed only one night awaiting cruise in Miami. Room was nice. We were upgraded to ocean view which was nice but a little noisy outside at night. Staff was great. Jorge in restaurant/bar was awesome.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boston, MA

Very friendly and helpful staff

Posted Nov 14, 2017
The hotel is in a great location, whether you want to go to the beach or be close to restaurants and bars. The breakfast was very good and the staff at the reception and the waiters really friendly. Melis at the reception was very nice and helped us with finding the best tours in Miami area. I would definitely recommend this hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 15, 2017 by Volha, Hotel Management
Dear Madalina, Thank you for choosing the Penguin Hotel and leaving such a kind review. We are happy to hear that you had a good time, and it is very important to us. We sincerely appreciate your recommendation and truly hope to get more chances serve you and your family on future visits. Kind regards
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Newfoundland, Canada

Very well kept. Clean. Bathroom was a nice upgrade

Posted Nov 12, 2017
One night stay that was far more enjoyable than expected. Hotel in great location; staff very friendly and helpful.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 12, 2017 by Volha, Hotel Management
Dear Andy, We sincerely appreciate your recommendation and truly hope to get more chances serve you and your family on future visits. Kind regards
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Houston Tx

Awesome place

Posted Nov 6, 2017
Really nice staff !!! Awesome guys with the service at bar and restaurant, the bartender was a nice guy ! The location of the hotel is perfect! Beach restaurants shopping ! Excelent !!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 8, 2017 by Volha, Hotel Management
Dear Edgar, Thank you for choosing and recommending the Penguin Hotel. We are happy to hear that you had a good time, and it is very important to us. It was a true pleasure to host you, and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Kind regards
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ky

Nice but the beds need replacing

Posted Oct 25, 2017
Pros: The breakfast, The staff, the cleanliness was great.
Cons: The bed and remove the outdated light fixtures and mirrors. That is so 70's
Location: Beach is right across the street, Just walking down the street is great. I did not like getting attacked at every place trying to get me to eat there
The location is great... The staff is wonderful. I can't say enough about how great they were.The free breakfast was VERY GOOD! The room was very clean. It appears to be recently updated somewhat. Meaning, the lighting was very dated, the mirror covering the whole wall was very old and dated.. The worst part.. The Bed.. God it was the hardest bed I have ever tried to sleep in. These must be replaced with good beds or I will not return.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 25, 2017 by Volha, Hotel Management
Dear Roger, Thank you for choosing the Penguin Hotel and leaving a review. We are glad to hear that you had an overall good experience, liked our location, the breakfast and the ambience. We are terribly sorry that you found the bed hard and some room features dates. Please accept our apologies for the inconvenience caused. Next week we will start a big project of updating rooms and installing new beds. We look forward to another opportunity of hosting you at the Penguin Hotel, and turning your expectations around. Kind regards
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from East Tennessee

Nice hotel, perfect location

Posted Oct 23, 2017
The Penguin is a clean and solid hotel. It is not a 5 star resort but for the price and the location I would definitely recommend the Penguin. They give you 2 free welcome drinks from the bar and free breakfast. There is also a restaurant and bar on location. The facilities are old but so are all on South Beach. They were painting and doing maintaince while we were there so they are trying to keep the hotel updated.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 23, 2017 by Volha, Hotel Management
Dear Steven, Thank you for choosing the Penguin Hotel and leaving a review. We are happy to hear that you had a good time with us. It was a true pleasure to host you, and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Kind regards
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

Nice beach front hotel close to everything

Posted Oct 21, 2017
Pros: Hotel location also the welcome cocktail to get vacation started :)
Cons: I have no complains about this hotel
Location: across from beach shopping everywhere restaurants everywhere music everywhere
This hotel was a pleasant surprise. Nothing fancy but it is an Art Deco hotel so it is expected not to be fancy or luxurious..but..staff was excellent room was clean and comfortable and complimentary breakfast was very good..real.food... not bread muffins and coffee
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 21, 2017 by Volha, Hotel Management
Dear Jakee, Thank you for choosing the Penguin Hotel and leaving such a positive review. We are glad to hear that you had a good experience, and it is very important to us. We look forward to hosting you again in the future. Kind regards
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Knoxville, TN

Outstanding location, average facility.

Posted Oct 1, 2017
The staff was very friendly and attentive. An older hotel remodeled to be fairly modern. Stayed in the King terrace suite. Significantly more $$ than standard room. Terrace furniture was aged and damaged, tub/shower was mechanically altered to shower only. A/C worked, but not well. Restaurant food is very good. Try the creivche. Breakfast also very good. If you're a Dexter fan, this hotel was featured in the show.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 3, 2017 by Volha, Hotel Management
Dear Tenbears, Thank you for choosing the Penguin Hotel and leaving a review. We are pleased to hear that you had an overall good experience, and enjoyed our central location, the breakfast and the ambience. It was a true pleasure to host you, and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Kind regards
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from RI

Amazing

Posted Sep 28, 2017
The location was perfect and the staff was excellent! When we come back to Miami we will stay at the Penguin again for sure! Loooved it!
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 29, 2017 by Volha, Hotel Management
Dear Jenny, Thank you for choosing the Penguin Hotel and leaving a review. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed our central location and the service culture. It was a true pleasure to host you, and we look forward to seeing you again. Kind regards