Ratings based on 555 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Z Ocean Hotel

Posted Dec 19, 2017
Close to the beach and overall great location. Hotel staff are nice, friendly and want to do a good job. Like the lobby and hanging out on the outdoor space near the bar. Liked the fresh lemon lime water in the lobby as well. The hotel needs some repair- elevator and various wear and tear in the room. The shower is great with multiple heads and good water pressure. The mattress is ok. Not bad but not heavenly. Hotel pics on Expedia showcase the property nicely but the rooftop is not available to customers with a standard room. Liked being able to get two chairs and an umbrella for free on the beach. There is a odd smell especially on the third floor that does not smell pleasant but luckily we could not smell it inside our room. Overall the hotel was reasonably good but if I had not booked it via Expedia, I would have changed hotels. This hotel for the price and experience is a 3.5 in my book and not a 4 or higher. I've stayed in 6 point hotels and there is a big difference.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Brooklyn NY

No longer my favorite

Posted Dec 19, 2017
Once my go to when staying in Miami but customer service and the facility itself has been on the down slide lately. There’s so many better and cheaper choices out there.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from san diego

very overpriced for an old place that desperately

Posted Dec 11, 2017
Cons: ever
the plumbing lighting tv, everything was just outdated, dark or crummy, breakfast at their restaurant was a drama every day...skip the FRONT PORCH even the elevator was broken for 4 days
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New york

Not what it was.

Posted Nov 29, 2017
Pros: convenient location
Been to the hotel a number of times over the years, the hotel is showing it's age. No noticeable renovations!. Staff are pleasant. Senor Frog across the street and other clubs nearby. Noise on street can be annoying. Hotel needs work.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Swansea, Wales

Close to the beach and shopping

Posted Nov 28, 2017
Pros: Location. Size of rooms
Cons: Better pool bar.
Location: 50 yards from beach Bike rentals immediately outside 20 yards to ocean drive bars/restaurants Lincoln Road shopping 500 yards
Would highly recommend. Location excellant for both beach and shopping. Lots of happy hours around with drinks half price and in some restaurants the food. Rooms are spacious with all the facilities you need including coffee, water, fridge, hair dryer, bath robe etc. Balcony's are huge with plenty of seating. The rooms on the second floor have access directly to the pool. However this may comprimise your privacy. All in all very good and would definatly return.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 3, 2017
We had our honeymoon there and overall the hotel was nice. My only complaint is the pictures on Expedia and the expectatations are different. We booked a room with a jacuzzi and the pictures and what we got were not right. I did complain to the hotel because our tub was dirty and the view we had was a wall with rust stains and a metal cage. We ended up moving rooms to one with an actual partial ocean view because what we got didn’t have that. They were really nice and gave us free drink tickets and we switched our room. We were looking forward to having breakfast at the restaurant however when we got there we waited at our table for over 15 mins with no service so we left. The room was nice and the bed was super comfy. I loved the rain shower. I would stay here again just not in room ph412
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tampa Florida

Good location beautiful rooms.

Posted Oct 25, 2017
Very clean and well-kept facility. Will definitely return.
1 out of 5
by Daniel

Think twice-- too many options nearby

Posted Oct 13, 2017 on Hotels
We booked the most expensive room at the hotel--the Suite Terrace. Upon check in, we were told that those rooms were not available, and alternatively we were placed in a Standard Double Room. This is absolutely bogus! Worst we were told that the new room was more money because it had two beds--is this person crazy?!? A huge suite with a wrap around terrace is almost double in price from their standard room with two beds. They think we're stupid. Nonetheless, We only lasted a few hours here. We called hotels.com and they moved us to a nearby hotel with a similar room type that we originally booked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Amazing Hotel and Location

Posted Oct 10, 2017
Pros: Location and easy access to Ocean, Collins and Front Porch.
I have been to South Beach 14 times and this is now my GO TO hotel. Great location, great connecting restaurant called Front Porch and awesome happy hour deals at the bar. The rooms are beautiful! We did the King Suite and the inside is beautiful and clean. LOVE this place!!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 30, 2017
nice hotel , clean room, pleasant staff, i would stay there again