Ratings based on 438 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
75% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Richmond Hill, Canada

Family retreat off the beaten path

Posted Jan 11, 2017
Pros: The hotel is directly on the Inter Coastal Waterway and minutes from the beach. It is hidden under the bridge away from the business of Miami Beach.
Cons: Some of the bathroom fixtures are dated and the light for the stove - part of the exhaust fan - was burnt out. Weekday coffee is not ready until 8:00
Location: Walking distance to Bal Harbour Mall & restaurants, Grocery store, liquor store and Starbucks
The kitchen of the hotel came in handy for our family of 6. We travelled with 4 teenagers. We had a 2 bedroom suite. We made lunch and breakfast and went out for dinners. The 2 televisions came in handy along with the full size kitchen table that also served as a game table. The staff was great but we didn't need them much as we are pretty self reliant. We walked to the Publix 2 times during our stay. It takes about 20 minutes. The pool was a little small but it did the job. The lounge chairs and teepees were well used. The outdoor bathroom also came in handy.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Modern style hotel. Clean and comfortable.

Posted Nov 14, 2016 on Hotels
This is a nice hotel about 8 miles north of South Beach, just off Collins. It was a devil to find as the sat nav took us to exactly the right place on the correct road, but there's a weird quirk whereby it has to be accessed by a different route. Difficult to describe, but if you're driving north on Collins, don't go over the bridge at the end of Bal Harbour, take the last slip road on your right before the island runs out then turn left under the bridge/flyover and the hotel is in front of you. If you accidentally end up going over the bridge you have to U-turn and try again. The hotel cannot be accessed when travelling south over the bridge. We ended up in the most enormous echoey suite with a square footage bigger than our entire three floored house! Kitchen, two dining areas and a huge lounge, plus bedroom and teeny bathroom (for the size of the suite). Very smart but there are places where things are overlooked like lamp switches that can't be are reached from the bed; scuff damage to fixtures and furniture; no towel to dry dishes; no USB sockets. Stuff like that. There's a $15 per night parking fee and a $20 per night resort fee on top of the room charge. No beach access.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 16, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thanks so much to hear that you love our hotel and write such a detailed comment. We really appreciate your advise and our management team will work on it and make it better when you next time visit. The door behind the hotel garden has the gate directly access to the beach, and during the time we have the beach service with towels, chairs, tables, water and umbrellas. We wish you can explore and enjoy next time! Best Regards, Quarzo Managment Team
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 11, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Charlotte,NC

Posted Nov 5, 2016
Very large 2 beds room w full size refrigerator and kitchen area. Large open space . Modern simple decor. Very clean. Friendly staff . ......................................................................... ....................................................................,,...
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 31, 2016 on Hotels
Fees fees fees and fees. Room was great but you will be hit with a large security deposit and fees left and right.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This resort is a rip-off... avoid at all costs!!!

Posted Oct 18, 2016 on Hotels
The property is very luxurious and should be for the room fee but... there is no restaurant within walking distance and no entertainment. The beach is a long walk away and the pool is tiny. When we came into the property, it was hard to find the front desk. The desk clerk was less than friendly and had a hard time operating the computer system. Additionally, she informed us that there is a $200 damage deposit, a first in all of my traveling in the US and abroad. There is a $15 per night parking fee and a $20 per day fee for the beach chairs and umbrella whether you use them or not. Neither of these fees were mentioned on their website and for +$200 per night room charge, these amenities should have been provided free of charge. I was charged for candy that I did not eat and as of today, we have not recovered the damage deposit as we left the room in pristine condition and prior to check out time. I feel I have been ripped off and would not recommend this property to anyone!!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 19, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, We really appreciate your business with us and thanks for your genuine feedback. For the Parking and Resort fee, is disclosed on Hotel's.com booking pages as full disclosure statement. We are sorry that not inform you we have the beach access gate and it only takes 3 minutes to walk to the beach, and the closest restaurant is also in few minutes walk besides we also have the room service. We will address the attention for training our front office agent, and we do wish you can come back in the future, we will try our best to meet the request and highest service standard to every precious guest. Again we thanks for your feedback and helping us increase the service quality. Warmest Regards, The Quarzo Hotel management team
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Close to everything and great view of harbour

Posted Oct 18, 2016
Lovely boutique hotel close to everything just make sure you have a car. Would appreciate if they would offer some decent coffee in the front lobby with real cream vs powdered, yuk! The rooms are very clean and everyone in Miami is extremely friendly even the police. I advise if you take the elevator to your room to only go up two people with luggage at a time as the elevator will not take the load of four people with luggage despite what is posted on the elevator. They have a lovely pool, everything is kept extremely clean and a great view of the harbor where local fishermen can be seen on the pier and there are boats that all come together at the local sandbanks. We shared the room with friends as they are very spacious and all have kitchenette with full sized fridges.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Beautiful property lacks service.

Posted Sep 24, 2016 on Hotels
Amazingly beautiful boutique hotel in Bal Harbour. The actual hotel was amazing. The front desk personal were not the friendliest and it took about 45 minutes to check in due to only one person being on the desk helping one other person. We get to our room to find ants all over the bed from the chocolates they left on the bed. We did get moved to another room but did not get compensated. Upon check out we find they literally charge you for every little thing plus all the tax. Do not bring your car, you can uber for cheap or walk to close by surfside area. Also hide your in room snacks as they will charge you for things you bought from a supermarket, or at least keep an eye on your bill so you can fight the charges sooner than the last day. All in all a beautiful part of Miami and a beautiful two bed apartment to hang out in on the beach but for the price I think the service could at least come with a smile.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 5, 2016 on Hotels
The hotel was somewhat nice but did not have anything to cook with most of the staff was very unhelpful except for the Colombian lady at the front the kitchen was pretty much useless unless your planning on bringing your own pots and pans. For a couple hundred a night it was not worth it.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Oakhill, VA

Sorbet instead of a gelato !

Posted Aug 28, 2016
Pros: Nice, quite location, spacious rooms
Cons: Amenities are lacking, pool is dismally small - should add hot tub and add bar/towel service for pool and outside.
Location: Bal Harbor shopping, walk down to the beach.
This place has all the core elements - great location (its not close to SOBE), walk down to beach, the suite was clean, spacious and comfortable. Staff is generally pleasant. However conveniences like room service, SPA, even towel service for the pool, a bar, attentiveness of the hotel staff --- are missing. Staff is pleasant but sadly it does not make up for the shortcomings of the hotel. Examples: you have to get towels for the pool from the front desk, AND, return the used wet towels back to the front desk. The AC stopped working on our first night - they could not offer us another room (did not even think of it), and could not send anyone to fix it because there is no maintenance staff in the evening. It was +100 degrees F and 70% humidity in August in Miami and they had no fans, no alternate plans for something like this. However, we made the most of it and had a great stay.