Ratings based on 1,882 Verified Reviews

3.1 out of 5
58% of guests recommend
3.3 Room cleanliness
3.2 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ann Ann, Ml

Excellent. The hotel is very clean and nice.

Posted Feb 26, 2017
I enjoyed every moment l stayed in the hotel. Nice staff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

Beautiful!

Posted Feb 25, 2017
Nice hotel in the heart of everything! Beach and big tree line Board Walk in the back. Very nice.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good location

Posted Feb 22, 2017
Some front desk staffs need customer service training.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 19, 2017
They didn't change linen daily. Very few towels . I hope I got clean linen on first day.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 21, 2017 by Barbara, Hotel Management
Dear guest: I am very sorry to hear you were not completely satisfied with your stay. We participate in a water conservation program which is detailed in a tent card in your room. Linens are changed every two days of your stay but we will change them daily if it is requested. We also provide 4 towels per room which is the standard. We will also provide more towels as requested. I do hope you will allow another opportunity to provide you with exceptional service and hope you will return. Best regards, Barbara Romano/GM
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice stay for a long weekend

Posted Feb 7, 2017
My husband and I had a wonderful stay. The room we stayed in was recently updated and super clean. The hotel is right on the beach and the board walk and just a short drive to north beach and south beach. He hotel staff was always friendly and helpful. We will go back next year!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from miami

Close to beach but not clean and run down.

Posted Jan 31, 2017
The first room had parts of the ceiling peiling off and stains in carpet and water stains on walls, we tried to watch a movie that they charge $18 for to find out the tv color wasnt bright enough to see, after that they transfered us to a different beach front room which was nice but also had cleanlyness issues and had ants crawling everywhere. Wont go here again!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Close to the beach...

Posted Jan 26, 2017
Pros: The room is good...
Cons: no comentaries
Location: no comentaries
The hotel is disappointing for me because the parking is very expensive ($34.40 plus tax) per night is too much money, about this point they told me in front desk that I can go 3 or 4 blocks away and parking my rental car per $8.00 per night (???) ...they do not have consideration with the guess. Also, they do not have containers to put the garbage inside the bathroom. I request several times and do not solve the issue. I see ants in the room... The elevator is far away... they have a old elevator close the room but is for use of employees only.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 30, 2017 by Barbara Romano, Hotel Management
Dear Guest: I'm sorry to hear you were disappointed with the parking rates. Unfortunately, the rates for parking are very much in line and lower than most hotels in this area. We do have a small garage with limited spaces at that rate and offer unlimited in/out privileges which most garages don't do. It sounds like you had a OF or OV room which would be at the other end of the elevators. The elevator you are referring to by your room woul be the service elevator. Again, I'm sorry if you were inconvenienced by this. We always take in requests for rooms closer to the elevator if it is easier for you. However, those rooms will not have an ocean view. I hope this helps. if there is anything else we can do for you in the near future, please let us know. We want to ensure that all of our guests have a great experience. Best Regards, Barbara Romano/GM
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from las vegas

good cheap alternative

Posted Jan 25, 2017
Pros: location
Cons: common area could use a remodel
nice hotel but stinky hallway, mildew; convenient to Fountain Blue and Nobu Hotel and Beach
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 30, 2017 by Barbara Romano, Hotel Management
Dear Guest: Thank you for your review. We are in the process of renovating the hotel and it will also include the common areas. We do offer a wonderful product and the location is ideal. I hope you will return and benefit from all of the upgrades with the renovation. Best regards, Barbara Romano/GM
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel attached boardwalk within steps beach

Posted Jan 25, 2017
Staff gave me an upgrade bc it was my birthday- very appreciated. Staff provided heater to my room BC it was a little cool. Staff offered me an extended stay until 5:00pm (for a certain fee of course). This allowed me to enjoy more time at the beach before an evening flight. I was disappointed the breakfast was not included.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Unfortunate series of bad services

Posted Jan 25, 2017
Pros: The hotel is beautiful, and the staff (at least the ones that I talked to) were great.
Cons: Pay attention to detail and service.
Twice during my stay the staff left a clock alarm to start at 12pm with music blasting at that hour. It was annoying to say the least. The other big problem was that there were no towels, literally for a couple of days.