Ratings based on 530 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 25, 2017
I had head the food was fantastic but was surprised it was just "ok". It might just have been what I ordered
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

nice place

Posted May 15, 2017
Beautiful hotel - room was clean, would definitely go back.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Houston

Old, Getting older

Posted Apr 12, 2017
Pros: Pool! Bar! Food Prices!
Cons: Rooms, no carpet, 10th Floor Room Was divided by worthless intrusive Shelves and Armwar..sic sp. TV was also old.
Location: Great location to Coral Gables and the U. I just wouldnt stay there at that rate again.
Unique pool atmosphere, complete opposite of Miami's Fountain Bleu sic sp. Bar & food tab very reasonable. But the room rate and old attire left me feeling old and tired. I'd stay again only if I planned to play golf.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NJ

old world beauty , staff is friendly

Posted Feb 22, 2017
I love returning to this hotel. The food is wonderful , the staff is very accommodating and friendly. And Its charming. Truly a gem in Coral Gables.
5 out of 5
by michelle

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 31, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Abraham

Grand beauty

Posted Dec 26, 2016 on Hotels
Beautiful grand historic hotel. If you're into historic hotels, this is a must-stay. Everything about our stay was superb. Service, breakfasts, grounds, views, everything was excellent
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Miami

Beautiful setting, but nothing more.

Posted Dec 12, 2016
We checked in for 1 night so that we could have a "stay-cation" weekend. I had booked a couples massage and facials. I was supposed to have a deep tissue massage, but the woman who did it clearly didn't have the dexterity to do it, so it ended up being 70 minutes of her digging her elbow into my body and running her forearm down my leg. Horrible. If this was a $70 massage at Massage Envy I would understand, but this massage cost $300+! We then had dinner at the Italian restaurant. The meal was decent, but nothing spectacular. We finally decided to simply go to bed. It was around 10:00 pm. However, this proved impossible because they're were not 1, but 2 weddings going on and the reception halls sounded like a bad night club. Our walls were vibrating. I called the front desk, they told us they could move us into a much smaller room upstairs (we had a junior suite), but wouldn't be able to change our rate because we used Expedia. We decided that if we had to pack anyway we would simply go home. They offered no refund or prorated rate. I pushed the front desk staff to comp our dinner at the vary least, and after some discussion they finally conceded to that. Thank God we had a home we could simply go back to, because I can only imagine how terrible it would have been if we were stuck there. Very disappointed in what was once Miami's premier hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from leeds england

Elegant , relaxing hotel

Posted Dec 4, 2016
Pros: Pool and location
Location: Central to everything.
The Hotel reflects its 1930s origins but is in now way past its sell by date. It has an elegance and splendour and the staff were as helpful and accommodating as could be. The hotel is located close to the airport but not on the flight path and is in the middle of the beautiful area of Coral Gables. The journey to the centre of Miami is 15 mins by car and the Beach is not much further. The hotel is in a zyka free area. The facilities are excellent in particular the pool which is the largest I have ever seen at a hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London UK

Beautiful location, iconic hotel

Posted Dec 3, 2016
Beautiful hotel in a lovely part of Miami. Historical building and golf course, with one of the largest swimming pools in the US. A great place to relax within easy distance to the beaches and shopping.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Well Appointed, Grand Hotel

Posted Nov 28, 2016 on Hotels
The stay was fabulous! My husband and I celebrated our 20th Wedding Anniversary. It was quiet, relaxing, beautiful gardens, grand lobby and loved the finches in the lobby. The customer service was outstanding. Raul was fabulous. He helped us with our baggage to our room but gave us much more in the area of history of the hotel. He is very knowledgeable and very personable. He always greeted us warmly and by name. He even took us on a private tour of the penthouse suite since we were not going to be at the hotel for the Sunday tour. The food was fantastic and the ambiance even better at the Fontana Restaurant in the courtyard. Very romantic for dinner. Again the waiter went above and beyond to serve us and made a special presentation for our anniversary with Tiramisu for dessert. Raul recommended the 19th hole for lunch due to the view of the expansive golf course and it was amazing. The food was great here too. We enjoyed shopping in the boutique on the lower level with the same outstanding customer service. The pool was massive and we had a beautiful view from our room.