Ratings based on 739 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Brooklyn, NY

Best Vacation Stay Ever!!!

Posted Feb 11, 2017
Pros: TEVERYTHING about the room itself; the bed felt SO GOOD. The breakfast was amazing!
Cons: The women at the front desk
Location: It is a few blocks walking distance from all the attractions but that is what made it better. It seems to be more peaceful on that end of the strip
A picture usually gives you an idea as to what to expect a room to look like. Oh man was this hotel 10x better in person!!!! The layout was beautiful! I was not expecting a washing machine (with complimentary detergent) and dryer. The kitchen was COMPLETE with so many hidden spaces. There was even a dish washer and wine cooler. I did not get to enjoy the rooftop pool because of the windy weather but it sure is beautiful up there. The hotel has a restaurant, Orange Blossoms where complimentary breakfast is served. The breakfast was SO GOOD my husband and I refused to try elsewhere. The Belgian waffle with the whipped cream and berries was the greatest joy my mouth had in the am and I m not usually one to indulge in sweet foods. Now the staff. I was not at all pleased with the women. The men appeared to be very happy to help in any way possible. The women on TWO occasions stood there until I asked for help. One woman initially denied a late check out of thirty minutes until I asked for a manager and a guy butted in to say "no worries." I requested the late check out so I could book another night via third party and was able to keep my room for the rest of my stay. I planned to stay elsewhere for the remainder of my vacation, not expecting much from this hotel but I was very surprised and had to stay. Although I did not enjoy Miami, this hotel is so beautiful I would visit Miami again just so I could stay here. That's how great Boulan is!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Louisville KY

Check your mattress and hot water

Posted Feb 11, 2017
There were a lot of problems with poor workmanship all over the finishes of the hotel, and while that is always an indicator of poor construction in general, it's not the reason I'm deducting stars here. I'm deducting them because of real, functional problems with my room. I stayed in room 214. It seemed nice at first blush, and we hurriedly dropped our stuff off and went out for dinner. But once we were unpacked we tried the bed, and it was the worst one I've ever slept on. The mattress was V shaped, the springs were so sprung in the middle. I told my wife we should complain but she was too lazy to pack her stuff and switch rooms, so of course she won that argument and I didn't get to tell management. Then we took a shower the next day. There was no soap / shampoo shelf so we had to put all that stuff on the floor, and the hot water didn't get within 20' of hot enough, it was barely luke warm. The last big complaint is this: there was something very wrong with the wiring in my room. We had a light switch on breaker 5, that when we switched it OFF, would sometimes trip breaker 7. Luckily the breaker box was in our room, I didn't need maintenance to reset for me, but it indicates some seriously stupid circuits. I can't say for sure it's dangerous to a guest, but it probably is to any electrician who tries to work on it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very large beautiful rooms.

Posted Feb 10, 2017
Great boutique hotel right across the road from the beach. Large rooms compared to area hotels, at more affordable rates.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from new york city

Had a great stay at Boulan Miami

Posted Feb 9, 2017
Pros: I knew them but never had a chance to stay with them as I always stay in another hotel in Miami.
Cons: The doorman did not even open the door, don't know why he's standing there for. He didn't even smile or say welcome. AC/Heat was not working and
Location: CAFÉ Orange Blossom, CVS, tons of restaurants, Deli, Hair Salon,
My boyfriend and I had to fly to Miami at the last minute for business. We have another hotel near Boulan that we normally stay in Miami but they were sold out, so we tried Boulan as we are familiar with the neighborhood. We had a great time staying at Boulan. The location is great, close to beach (1 block), stores, cafes, restaurants, etc. The room we had was amazing; 1 bedroom with full kitchen, dining room, living room, walk in closets, him/her bathroom vanities, with 2 TVs and free wifi & breakfast. Gym was decently equipped, the pool was great place to chill out. We've got complimentary upgrade from Expedia VIP+ which was a pleasant surprise. Highly recommend Boulan and will go back again!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from b

definitely not a full service hotel

Posted Feb 5, 2017
The hotel staff is not trained on providing the same level of service as the price of the hotel room. There's definitely a need for hotel management to step up their game. It's a very tiny front desk and they seemed overwhelmed every time you speak to them. Our room wasn't ready when we arrived at 2:30 and we knew the chicken would be at 4 PM but surprise there was no availability and we had to check back with the desk A couple times and it felt as if I was annoying them. We finally got our room and when we arrived at our bags were supposed to be in the room already but there were another family's bags in the room and everyone seemed confused as to how that happened. Definitely not the experience I wanted to start off my hotel stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 26, 2017
Nice hotel, great location, room is very comfortable. I enjoyed the free breakfast at orange blossoms, the hosts are very nice. However $34.00 service fee is not fair price for private beach
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Best hotel room on Collins avenue!!

Posted Jan 23, 2017
Large bedroom, washer/dryer, 1 1/2 baths living room, kitchen, dinning room, & incredibly clean!!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Comfortable room with a great location

Posted Jan 21, 2017
Pros: The decor was modern and tasteful.
Cons: Even though we were on the 6th floor the street noise was loud and I was happy that I brought ear plugs.
We loved the comfortable size of the condo and the close location to the beach, we actually had a view of the ocean from the balcony and a bottle of wine waiting for us. The beach was 1 block away and there were beach chairs that the hotel set up each morning for us to use. We wanted to see the area by using the hop on hop off bus which conveniently had a pick up location less than a block away. The continental breakfast was very good and included pancakes, waffles, eggs or yogurt. The coffee was exceptional. The only drawback to breakfast was that the restaurant entrance was only accessed by going outside and around the corner but the atmosphere was pleasant and the walk was only a minute or two.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

This was nice

Posted Jan 19, 2017
Pros: The rooms. Very romantic and open. The kitchen is modern and clean. One and a half bath and laundry is in the suite.
Cons: Supposedly you can sun topless at this location but there were no signs telling you you could or could not, not even one saying you may encounter it.
Location: Plenty of shopping for souvenirs and dining.
This place took very good care of us. No complaints at all. They staff was helpful and courteous at all times. The suites are beautiful, clean, and modern. Only thing we had issue with but is minor was that supposedly this is one of three hotels at South Beach you can sun topless at the pool but there were no signs telling you you could or could not, not even one saying you may encounter it. This was a disappointment as the wife was not about to take the chance without knowledge it was permitted.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Philadelphia

Unbelievably spacious hotel one block from beach

Posted Jan 14, 2017
Pros: Everything. Staff, spacious rooms. Rooftop deck and pool. It is nice and quiet for us and the kids. And we walked everywhere.
Location: Within walking distance of everything south beach.
This hotel is in a perfect location one block from the beach and within walking distance of everything South Beach. What sold us is the 1000 square foot rooms. That is unheard of in South Beach. The private access to the rooftop pool plus our own private rooftop deck and terrace was amazing. The staff was lovely as well. Would definitely come back again and stay here.