Ratings based on 1,297 Verified Reviews

3.4 out of 5
67% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boston

Great location, stayed here for a bachelorette.

Posted Feb 21, 2017
Pros: Staff very friendly.
Cons: amenities, lobby, stinky smell everywhere.
Location: Prime central South Beach location.
Location is good, but hotel is a bit tired. Has a strong musty smell (in both rooms we had). While the stay includes several "freebies", the only one that seemed to work was the free cocktail hour. The shuttle was at least 1.5 hours late to airport (I finally just took a cab), and desk seemed to consistently have "just run out" of beach chairs and towels. Location great, staff great, rooms seemed very clean, but our shower was tired and WOULD NOT drain. ew.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from MD

Very fun and upbeat hotel!

Posted Feb 16, 2017
Loved my first time time stay in Miami at The Catalina Hotel! Clean and comfortable rooms, great food, friendly staff and close to the beach! Only con I have is there's no microwave for guest but everything else was great! Will definitely return!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from miami beach Fl

Close to the beach and shopping.

Posted Feb 16, 2017
Nice hotel for a low price. Didn't take many pictures. There's free happy hour every night for hotel guests.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 15, 2017
Housekeeping was awful. Rooms were not cleaned on a daily basis; sheets were not changed upon request; dirty mattress pad
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Puerto Rico

Good Location

Posted Feb 14, 2017
Pros: location
Cons: The look of room
Location: Near and walking distance of nice places
Nice hotel in good location with nice places at walking distance.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from California

No beach access

Posted Feb 14, 2017
They list beach access but they no longer have it. I changed rooms and forgot a hat in the prior room and housekeeping didn't turn it in to the front desk. Will not stay again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from oregon

unpofessional remodeling

Posted Feb 13, 2017
Bathroom seemed unprofessionally updated, seemed tacky. There was no latch hole on door frame too. Very small bathroom. Halls were unclean. The hotel pictures make it out to be fancy, no chandelier in rooms either. Cameras in hall ways. Window had draft and wouldn't close properly. They put us in room with light from hotel sign blaring in our room. It was daylight in our room in the middle of the night. We payed valet and it took 40 min. To get our car.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This place is ok for young people

Posted Feb 12, 2017
No towels. Staff brought them quickly Old but ok. If your desire is to play on beach then place was ok. We were there to attend conference.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 13, 2017 by Laura, General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear guest, Thank you for the feedback. We continue to improve daily in all areas. I hope you give us another chance in the near future.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York City

Great experience!

Posted Feb 11, 2017
Staff very welcoming and helpful from the start. Great rooftop heated pool with oversized lounges and a bar. Loved the shower opening up to my room. Great value. Definitely will recommend!
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 13, 2017 by Laura, General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you David for the great feedback! I am happy to know you enjoyed yourself at our rooftop pool and bar. We hope to have you back soon!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Location and Price

Posted Feb 8, 2017
I recently stayed at the Catalina for a 4 night trip and was pleasantly surprised by the hotel. A lot of building on south beach are older so I was expecting the building to be a little run down and not have the best amenities. The room was great and in good condition, roof top bar was a great alternative to the beach for laying out, and free happy hour nightly was a great surprise I did t recall reading anout!
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 13, 2017 by Laura, General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you very much for the great feedback! We like to focus our providing great value for our guests and we are constantly working to improve in all areas. I see you enjoyed yourself at the rooftop and happy hour. We hope to have you back soon!