Ratings based on 3,941 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.4 out of 5
69% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good price, decent hotel, a bit noisy!

Posted Oct 14, 2016
Pros: Location
Cons: Loud, looked like they had not swept the floors... women all overall
Overall good services it's purpose we stay one night good enough within distance of everything
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 19, 2016 by Katrine, Hotel Management
Great! Thank you for sharing your lovely feedback on Catalina! We are so pleased you loved everything here with us. We can't wait to share your kind words with our team. Warmest regards,
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Phoenix

Odd boutique hotel-- Great location in South Beach

Posted Oct 11, 2016
Pros: Great. location. Walking distance to restaurants. Free chairs and towels on the beach just a block away. Nice, relaxing pool. Free airport shuttle.
Cons: The restaurant had a very sickening odor. The hallway to our room smelled overwhelmingly of mildew and cleaning products. AC unit kept breaking.
Location: Great location. Check out Sarsaparilla Club for dinner across the street. Head to Rosetta Bakery for bfast and lunch. Skip all the Hotel restaurants!
This hotel is very odd. Its actually three separate buildings of hotel rooms that require you exit and enter via the street front to get to the other parts. Because we were on a red eye flight arriving on Friday morning, I called the day before to see if early check in would be available and the staff member told me she wasn't for sure, but it was very likely since they were not fully booked. I asked if I could book a room for Thursday-Friday, so I could be sure that I'd have a room when I arrived, and she said I could not do that because I would be a "no show" if I didn't check in by midnight--seems like an awfully weird policy when I was trying to book an extra night and rooms were readily available. We arrived early in the morning and I was told I couldn't check in early. I asked to speak to a manager and suddenly, a room became available. They did charge me 50% of the room rate to check in early, which no one mentioned previously...but whatever, I was exhausted and wanted to shower. Our room was in the building above Maxine's restaurant next door to reception. The restaurant and hallway had the nastiest smell to them. Our AC window unit in our room kept blowing the fuses in the outlet and stopped working completely by the time we checked out the next day. Housekeeping kept walking in on us even though we had the do not disturb sign up. Slamming doors all night. Rooftop pool was under construction and completely closed without notice. Everything was just kind of shabby.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 14, 2016 by Katrine, Hotel Management
Oh no! We're so sorry to hear you didn't have the perfect 5 star time with us, as we so often hear about. It's a bummer to hear you didn't love all of our offerings. We do appreciate your feedback and we hope you will give us another chance sometime in the future. Kind regards,
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from miami fl

Great resort staff awesome , well designed,.

Posted Oct 4, 2016
Finest place I ever stayed and upgraded twice for 1\4 of the price . Got a room even though none were available. Quite private Excellency . Thanks
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 16, 2016 by Katrine, Hotel Management
Good day and thank you for your feedback! We appreciate your glowing 5 stars and all of your kind words on our offerings. It's wonderful you enjoyed your self and we hope to be your first choice for future visits. All of my best,
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from ny

Nice close to the beach

Posted Sep 19, 2016
Really good I love it if love the pool everything
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 20, 2016 by Katrine, Hotel Management
Hello! It's so great to hear from you with your fantastic feedback on Catalina. We are stoked you loved all of our offerings. We're sorry you had some noise disturbance while visiting. We will hope to see you again soon. All of my best,
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice, not great.

Posted Sep 18, 2016
Perfect location. The room was clean and comfortable. Unfortunately there is a restaurant right next to it that started banging laud music at 8am. Overall very nice.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 15, 2016
Eddie is a wonderful concierge! Grateful for the complimentary alcohol. Unsure if the bed sheet was clean, felt like there were crumbs by the feet.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 20, 2016 by Katrine, Hotel Management
Good day! Thank you for sharing your feedback on Catalina. It's great you mentioned all of the aspects that contributed to your overall opinion. Eddie will be thrilled you appreciate him- he is a great asset to our team. We hope to have you back again for future experiences. Warm regards,
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 14, 2016
Staff at check not help full over charged my credit card card for room
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 20, 2016 by Katrine, Hotel Management
Hello there and thank you for writing to us with your honest thoughts and observations on Catalina. We are so bummed to hear some aspects of your experience were not the perfect 5 star details we aim to provide our guests with. It's disappointing you feel your card was wrongly charged; I will look into the details of your reservation immediately. We do thank you for sharing. Kind regards,
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Texas

Nice location, but small room.

Posted Sep 7, 2016
Pros: "+" -good location, quick access to beach, you will have a bed, towels etc for free, walgreens and CVS right on the corner, so use it for buy a drinks
Cons: Rooms, definitely rooms. and Bathroom, it's too small even for two ppl- 1 adult and 1 kid. I will not come back to this hotel. And food not so great
Location: Walgreens, CVS, beach, walking street.
Catalina in real have a 3 buildings, I don't know how they are decided in which one you gonna have the room, but I got room in Catalina-which is a building in the middle. On the left is Fung Ku, and on the right Maxine. Catalina it self doesn't have a pool, but it's not a issue-Maxine have a very beautiful swimming pool right next door-this is bamboo pool and it very nice, deepest is 8ft, may be not so much clean. Around pool is beds, and cabins-what make your stay/lay comfy. Pool on roof on Fung Ku not so great- it small-and too warm water-you can't chill..so for me it's kind of hot tub, pool have a beds and it for Catalina guests only (of course) but Girl from bar came to me and told me if I will use the bed I should buy something in the bar at least on $15- Huh??? why? '-' - Room s is really small. I got two beds instead one and only this fact make me think I got lucky. Beds itself is comfy. No one room have a VIEW, all rooms faces to next buildings. A lot of ppl in Fb said: Bar tender was rude, and I can say, he is just try to make a money:). In Happy hour he make drinks for free, but Asking (Pushing) ppl to give him tips, and tell that every single time when he give you a drink. But I found him not so bad. Hotel have a beauty lodge, but they do some party -and it NOT for guests, ppl don't understand what going on around, and they unable to use a lobby in this time. They include %18 fees automatically to your Any bill -huh???If I even don't liked food I should pay?
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 13, 2016 by Katrine, Hotel Management
Hey there! We are so appreciative of you taking the time to write to us with your wonderful and kind words on Catalina. It's great of you to mention all of the many aspects that contributed to your overall opinion. It's nice you found so many things to be to your standard, and ours as well. We wish you could have had the 5 star time we always aim to provide. Kind regards,
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York

Great hotel with pool and bar

Posted Sep 2, 2016
I stayed with my friend for 5 days! The staff is friendly, rooms clean. It's close to the beach and also has 2 pools! Don't miss the happy hour 7-8pm complimentary well drinks! Nice experience. I'll come back soon
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 7, 2016 by Katrine, Hotel Management
Greetings! We are so stoked you loved your recent experience here at Catalina with us. We pride ourselves on providing our guests with the epitome of personalized service and are stoked we were able to exceed your expectations. I do hope that we have the opportunity to serve as your home away from home again and have the chance to provide another 5 star time! Until then,
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from South Beach

Fun place to stay near the beach.

Posted Aug 30, 2016
Pros: Decor, staff, 24 hour restaurant
Cons: The room was clean but reached of bleach, cleaning product
Location: Right on Collins Ave! Near dining and Lincoln Road, where you can check people out, shop, eat, drink...
Had a great time. We live 30 minutes away but staying at The Catalina felt like we were millions of miles away. Close to beach, shopping and nightlife. The room was small but clean(loved the shower). The staff was like a mini UN!
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 2, 2016 by Katrine, Hotel Management
Awesome! How lovely to read your kind words on Catalina. We're thrilled you enjoyed all of the details. Thanks for choosing us for your getaway and home away from home! We'll see you again soon. Best,