Ratings based on 1,031 Verified Reviews

3.1 out of 5
64% of guests recommend
3.2 Room cleanliness
3.1 Service & staff
3.0 Room comfort
2.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from indiana

Right on the Beach !

Posted May 7, 2017
Quick check in, first room was HOT ! Sent us to a different room, was HOT ! Sent us to a third room, air worked great. Right on the beach. Hot tub only open till 5 pm :( restaurant food was good and reasonable priced. Rooms not in great shape but if you want to be right on the beach, this is perfect. Overall stay was great. Worth the extra money to VALET park !!! And don't forget to tip ! It's so worth it, but we were in and out of the car a lot.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 5, 2017
Pros: Website
Cons: Service upgrade hotel
Reception desk made us wait 3 hours for check in time although rooms were ready. When given our room went up and cleaning lady advised room already occupied. Went back to receptionist waited in line again for 30 mins given another room on lower level. Hall carpets very old dirty.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Newfoundland, Canada

Close to the Beach and nothing else was positive!

Posted May 4, 2017
Pros: Checking Out.
Cons: Time to tear this old building down and start fresh.
Location: The Area is beautiful and we really liked Sunny Isles Beach.
I am not a person that normally complains much. But this place was terrible. For starters, room key wouldn't work, took three tries going to front desk before maintenance came along to help-somewhat. Room was very dated, old and smelled. pipes leaked from the sink, shower/tub was very un-clean. When I finally got my family settled in the room, went back down to the front entrance to move car to self-parking as Valet was full, the Lot attendant promptly proceeded to loudly start to tell me off after being gone to my room for 45 minutes. Terrible customer service on his part, wouldn't even listen to why I was so long. During the night it was was very warm and there was no dials to change air conditioning to On. Had to sleep with balcony door open, in middle of the night had to open the room door and balcony door to flush the air out of room as it was way too warm. We wouldn't sleep in the bed, slept on our own towels on top of the bed. Not enough room towels. Went to the pool, had one look and said no way. Our friends spent the same night with their kids and had to kill 2 cockroaches. Terrible, sleepiness night. Do yourself a favor and book anywhere else. Thankfully only booked one night.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Miami Shores, FL

Very nice low priced hotel right on the beach.

Posted May 4, 2017
Pros: Great location in Sunny Isles right on the beach with a lovely pool and a bar pool side.
Cons: The restaurant has a great selection but is a bit pricey.
Location: It's in the middle of Sunny Isles with plenty to do. The beach is wonderful and you can walk nearly anywhere.
Our experience was wonderful. We live 8 miles from Sunny Isles in Miami Shores. We had to leave our condo for termite tenting Mon-Wed and stayed at the Days Hotel. Everything was better than we expected. The room was comfortable and clean and we even had a view of the ocean. The staff was great, they were helpful when we needed something and they all smiled. The hotel has a very nice pool with a hot tub and the beach is beautiful. Yes they do charge for towels, lounge chairs and umbrella at the beach and yes they do charge for parking but a room at the rate on the beach can't be beat.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bradenton, FL

Affordable and charming

Posted May 4, 2017
Pros: relaxing and had almost everything expected of a beachfront resort.
Cons: the bars staying open later, and some of the rooms required maintenance.
Location: great location in North Miami Beach. Many shops and restaurants even within walking distance. Busy traffic. Quite international.
My first assigned room had no air conditioning or working phone. I went down to the check-in desk, and requested another room. This one was fine, large, clean and comfortable. I only wish there was a microwave oven provided. If you are looking for luxury accommodations, this is not the hotel for you. If you are happy with a clean, comfortable, laid-back and charming beachfront resort, you can't beat this place for the price. There was construction going on during the days right next door, so noisy but not the fault of Thunderbird. I suggest using valet parking since self-parking is across a busy street. The restaurant on premises is very good; great coffee! I would have liked the pool bar to stay open later than 8:30 pm. Also smoking rooms are available; a rare thing these days. It was not bad smelling at all, but fresh and clean. Funny thing is no ashtrays are provided except water in a paper cup. Thunderbird is an older hotel of 4 stories with balconies for every room... great feature!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from St. Augustine, FL

Older great located hotel but with construction

Posted Apr 30, 2017
The hotel is a little bit older but the facilities are o.k. Some at the reception need to work on how to be friendly with guests. The worst part is the major construction right next to this hotel that started at 7am very loud!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great for a certain level

Posted Mar 29, 2017 on Orbitz
The staff is great. They have gotten much nicer. I stay here once a year. The location is good. Anything you need is nearby (food, coffee shops, shopping, pharmacy, ect). The grounds, pool, and beach are amazing. The rooms are older and not like hotels twice the cost, but they are fine. Having a balcony is great too.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canada

Posted Mar 29, 2017
Nice location. The yard and pool are nice and balcony is a good bonus.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Right on the beach.

Posted Mar 25, 2017
The bed was awful, but it was right on the beach so that's a huge plus.
1 out of 5
by Jamica

Sucks

Posted Mar 25, 2017 on Hotels
Dont do it roaches dirty and no shower!!!